J.D. Kirk Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

J.D. Kirk is a pen name. Barry Hutchison, the Scottish author behind the pen name, publishes crime fiction novels as ‘JD Kirk’. Besides novels, Hutchison has also written screenplays. Kirk’s interest in fiction was sparked early on. He frequented the local library, borrowing three or four books every single week.

Order of DCI Logan Crime Thrillers Series

1A Litter of Bones 2019Description / Buy
2Thicker than Water 2019Description / Buy
3The Killing Code 2019Description / Buy
4Blood and Treachery 2019Description / Buy
5The Last Bloody Straw 2020Description / Buy
6A Whisper of Sorrows 2020Description / Buy
7The Big Man Upstairs 2020Description / Buy
8A Death Most Monumental 2020Description / Buy
9A Snowball's Chance in Hell 2020Description / Buy
10Ahead of the Game 2021Description / Buy
11An Isolated Incident 2021Description / Buy
12Colder than the Grave 2021Description / Buy

Order of Robert Hoon Thrillers Series

1Northwind 2021Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Back then, his interests were still unformed, so he did not gravitate towards any particular genre. In fact, Kirk’s choices were often influenced by the covers. He would always select the books that had the most interesting cover art. He paid very little attention to the authors.

Though, even as a child, he liked humorous stories. Kirk was not necessarily drawn to comedy. Some of his favorite authors (such as Chris Brookmyre) experimented with dark plots. But they always found a way to insert humor into their work. The approach appealed to Kirk because he had a similar personality.

Even when life became difficult, Kirk would find a way to joke and laugh. The author was nine when he decided that he wanted to write fiction for a living. He had spent his young life writing short stories. He also experimented with comics.

The people that read his earliest works will tell you that Kirk had a penchant for penning violent tales. All his stories featured characters whose bowels were eventually forcibly removed. But at the time, even though he took immense pleasure in writing, Kirk had no idea that the activity was a viable career choice.

Everything changed when his school tasked the author with a project related to Roald Dahl. The assignment taught Kirk that people could earn a living from writing. That was all Kirk needed to hear. He decided that he would spend the rest of his life writing fiction.

Kirk is one of those rare authors that never faced rejection. Before trying his hand at publishing, the author attempted to make movies. He started writing screenplays, hoping that they would become epic movies that would play in cinemas all over the country.

But he realized that turning a screenplay into a blockbuster movie was nearly impossible. So he changed focus. Rather than abandoning the movie-making business, Kirk started writing screenplays for smaller movies.

But even though he successfully sold some of those screenplays, he found that making a small movie was only slightly less difficult than making a big-budget movie. The projects required millions of dollars to execute, which is why Kirk’s screenplays never saw the light of day as movies.

Once it became clear that it was cheaper to publish a novel, Kirk abandoned the movie business. The transition from screenplays to novels wasn’t particularly difficult. Kirk had spent two decades writing stories. But he wrote those stories simply because he enjoyed writing, not because he wanted to submit them to a publisher.

This allowed Kirk to refine his skills. As a result, once he decided to become a published author, he secured an agent and a publisher almost immediately. He did not receive any rejections. Today, the author is primarily known for the DCI Logan books. His first novel was ‘A Litter of Bones’.

Best J.D. Kirk Books

Kirk has his own publishing company. He uses it to publish his novels. The author is no longer at the mercy of traditional publishing houses. Kirk’s best novels include:

A Litter of Bones: DCI Jack Logan did a good thing. He stopped Mister Whisper. The child-killer had claimed quite a few victims. But Logan had successfully ended his reign of terror. But the detective had paid a steep price.

He was now a drunk with a broken marriage. Logan couldn’t get the horrors he had witnessed during the Mister Whisper investigation out of his mind. It did not help matters that another child had gone missing.

As a member of the Major Incident Team, Jack had to investigate. He had to figure out why this most recent case was so similar to the Mister Whisper murders. If Logan captured the wrong man all those years ago, the real Mister Whisper was still out.

The Killing Code: Logan has spent two decades hunting killers. But this latest psychopath is something new. He has a unique psychosis that protects him from the guilt that would normally come as a result of his violent actions.

He already killed a nurse. She was on her way back from a night shift when she met her end. Logan has to find the killer because he takes another life.

When Does The Next J.D. Kirk book come out?

The next book by J.D. Kirk is Northwind and will be released on October, 12th 2021. It is the newest book in the Robert Hoon Thrillers Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *