J.M. Dalgliesh Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

J. M. Dalgliesh is a successful self-published English author. His fans know him for his many crime noir novels. He creates appealing characters with intelligent personalities and a lot of flaws.

Get notified when J.M. Dalgliesh releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Dark Yorkshire Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Divided House 2018 Description / Buy
2 Blacklight 2018 Description / Buy
3 The Dogs in the Street 2018 Description / Buy
4 Blood Money 2018 Description / Buy
5 Fear the Past 2019 Description / Buy
6 The Sixth Precept 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Hidden Norfolk Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Life & Death (Short Story) 2019 Description / Buy
2 One Lost Soul 2019 Description / Buy
3 Bury Your Past 2019 Description / Buy
4 Kill Our Sins 2020 Description / Buy
5 Tell No Tales 2020 Description / Buy
6 Hear No Evil 2020 Description / Buy
7 The Dead Call 2020 Description / Buy
8 Kill Them Cold 2021 Description / Buy
9 A Dark Sin 2021 Description / Buy
10 To Die For 2021 Description / Buy
11 Fool Me Twice 2022 Description / Buy
12 The Raven Song 2022 Description / Buy
13 Angel of Death 2022 Description / Buy
14 Dead to Me 2023 Description / Buy
15 Blood Runs Cold 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Misty Isle Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Long Time Dead 2023 Description / Buy
2 The Dead Man of Storr 2023 Description / Buy
3 The Talisker Dead 2024 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Before getting his big break, Dalgliesh did various odd jobs. Besides the work he did in the power transmission industry, he also spent several nights lending his talents to a bakery. His resume includes stints at call centers and the work he did in retail.

Dalgliesh started writing in his teenage years. But he did not expect to become a published author. The industry seemed so challenging, especially for newcomers. When he first sat down to write his novel, Dalgliesh was too embarrassed to tell people that he was a writer.

It did not sound like a feasible career choice. Finding the time to write his first novel was easier said than done. He had to squeeze his writing sessions into the few hours of freedom he had at night whenever his oldest son fell asleep. He also wrote on the weekend.

But he was making very slow progress. And after three years, he did not have much to show for his effort. His wife eventually swooped in and changed everything. She fell pregnant and finally went on maternity leave.

Because they had both concluded that he couldn’t possibly write whilst also looking after a child, Dalgliesh’s wife sent him to the library to write while she held down the fort. But she told him that he had six months to finish the book, which is exactly what he did.

Though, even after completing the manuscript, the author had no reason to believe that he would succeed in the publishing arena. He imputes his achievements to self-publishing platforms like Amazon.

Dalgliesh believes that traditional publishing is too restrictive. Publishing houses can only buy a small fraction of the thousands of books they receive each year. And when a new author lands a publishing deal, it could take years for them to start earning from their literary efforts.

In the meantime, the author in question has to survive on the small advance they received when they first signed their deal. Dalgliesh also noticed that traditionally published authors could not rely on their publishers to support them indefinitely. He knows writers who were dropped even though their debut novels sold very well.

They lost their place in the publisher’s schedule because the firm wanted to go in a new direction. This is why Dalgliesh has no interest in working with traditional publishers, especially when he has already done so well on his own.

He started his own company, which he uses to publish his novels. It gives him greater control over the stories he writes. He can add new novels to his bibliography every few months rather than waiting the years that it can sometimes take for a publisher to release a new novel.

Best J. M. Dalgliesh Books

The author describes himself as a storyteller that writes books that allow readers to escape the rigors of normal life. Dalgliesh’s best books include:

One Lost Soul: Holly Bettany was going places. Everyone knew it. Her privileged life was supposed to pave the way for a potentially successful career in medicine. But things went wrong. Someone murdered the teenager before she could achieve her full potential.

And now, it is up to DI Tim Janssen to find her killer. From what he can tell, the idyllic coastal setting that was Holly’s home before her death isn’t quite as innocent as its close-knit community wants people to think. Holly had a secret and someone had killed her for it. Janssen must get to the root of that secret before someone else dies.

Hear No Evil: A man died during a festival. DI Janssen is having a hard time figuring out the motive. The victim was hard working and people liked him. Why would anyone kill him? Some of the victim’s friends have no interest in helping him, which is another mystery that Janssen has to solve.

If the detective wants answers, he must delve into the victim’s past. The man was a decorated army veteran. From what Janssen can tell, something bad happened, and now a killer is out for revenge.

When Does The Next J.M. Dalgliesh book come out?

J.M. Dalgliesh doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Talisker Dead and was released on January, 14th 2024. It is the newest book in the Misty Isle Series.


1 thought on “J.M. Dalgliesh”

  1. Having just finished book three in the Norfolk series I’m hooked, I have been looking for a writer who writes about good old murder mysteries.
    Now I have found J M Dalgliesh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *