Jacklyn Brady Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Jacklyn Brady is a pen name used by an author named Sherry Lewis, a prominent author from America. Lewis was born in Salt Lake City, Utah, however, she and her family quickly moved up north to Montana when she was only three weeks old. The path to becoming an author was no easy one for Lewis, even though she wanted to be one from the days of her childhood.

Get notified when Jacklyn Brady releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of A Piece of Cake Mystery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Sheetcake Named Desire 2011 Description / Buy
2 Cake on a Hot Tin Roof 2012 Description / Buy
3 Arsenic and Old Cake 2012 Description / Buy
4 The Cakes of Wrath 2013 Description / Buy
5 Rebel Without a Cake 2013 Description / Buy
6 The Cakes of Monte Cristo 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

She started using any free time she had to work on her books while working for a federal judge as secretary. That ended in the year 1996, when she started writing full time. Other jobs she worked include: decorating Christmas trees, vocalist, keyboardist, managing a convenience store, poinsettia dresser, and secretary in both an insurance office and a bank.

Under this name, the “A Piece of Cake Mystery”, which began being published in the year 2011 when “A Sheetcake Named Desire” was released. All of the books from the series are named after classic plays or movies. Under both the Lewis name and the Brady name, she publishes novels that combine elements of thriller, mystery, and romance.


For those readers looking to get into works by Jacklyn Brady, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “Arsenic and Old Cake”, “The Cakes of Wrath”, and “Rebel Without a Cake”.

Arsenic and Old Cake: This is the third novel in the “A Piece of Cake Mystery” series and was released in the year 2012. Business has been dropping off at Rita Lucero’s Zydeco Cakes, and it is plenty for her to worry about. She is unable to say no to Old Dog Leg Magee (who is a blind trumpet player) asks a favor from her. Monroe, his brother, went missing four decades ago, and someone turned up and claims he is Monroe. Magee needs Rita to make sure that this really is his brother.

Twisted Palms (which is a Bed and Breakfast) is cram packed full of sketchy people. Monroe is one of them. Rita and Gabriel (a friend of hers) check in while pretending to be newlyweds. They find out that Monroe’s real identity is just one of the mysteries they will have to solve. Another of the guests at Twisted Palms ends up dead, and it looks as though this mysterious guy could be a killer.

The Cakes of Wrath: This is the fourth novel in the “A Piece of Cake Mystery” series and was released in the year 2013. Rita seems to be unable to quit saying yes at the moment. Things on the bakery front have been busy, that does not stop Rita from taking one of the town’s small business alliance seats. It is a group made up of some eclectic characters, some include: Moose Hazen (who owns Chopper Shop) and Destiny (who is Moose’s wife). Destiny has a pretty messy personal life, too.

Moose saves Rita from being hit by a speeding van, after an alliance meeting that gets heated. Rita is bruised and pretty shaken up after, and finds that her pain killers have gone missing the next day. She finds Destiny’s body in the shop the couple had, and Rita’s pain killers are in her hand. It only makes things that much more mysterious in how she died. Getting the cold fish of a detective to quit focusing on Rita as a suspect and try finding out who actually killed Destiny is going to be tough.

Rebel Without a Cake: This is the fifth novel in the “A Piece of Cake Mystery” series and was released in the year 2013. Halloween is coming. Rita and Miss Frankie (her ex mother-in-law and co-owner of Zydeco Cakes) could have scored a great catering chance that might lead to a top notch future for the bakery. The good news goes bad when Bernice (Frankie’s neighbor) comes into her home with a gun and a bible. She tells her a tale about a ghost being at her window.

She believes it is the ghost of her moon shining uncle that vanished fifteen years back in the swamp. Her cousin goes missing in the exact same swamp, and it Bernice is convinced that someone is trying to trick her. She gets Rita and Frankie to investigate things with her. They will have to watch how they step, as they could be the next victim of this killer.

When Does The Next Jacklyn Brady book come out?

Jacklyn Brady doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Cakes of Monte Cristo and was released on January, 5th 2016. It is the newest book in the A Piece of Cake Mystery Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *