James Becker Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

James Becker is a thriller and historical mystery author that writes the Chris Bronson and Steven Hunter books. Becker is a native of Cambridge. As a young man, he tried his hand at various jobs, working in a supermarket, a petrol station, a local factory’s production line, and more.

Get notified when James Becker releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Chris Bronson Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The First Apostle 2008 Description / Buy
2 The Moses Stone 2009 Description / Buy
3 The Messiah Secret 2010 Description / Buy
4 The Nosferatu Scroll 2011 Description / Buy
5 Echo of the Reich 2012 Description / Buy
6 The Lost Testament 2013 Description / Buy
7 The Templar Heresy 2017 Description / Buy

Order of The Lost Treasure of the Templars Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Lost Treasure of the Templars 2015 Description / Buy
2 The Templar Archive 2016 Description / Buy
3 The Templar Brotherhood 2017 Description / Buy

Order of Steven Hunter Thrillers Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Trade-Off 2012 Description / Buy
2 Cold Kill 2014 Description / Buy

Order of James Becker Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Titanic Secret 2019 Description / Buy
2 The Ripper Secret 2019 Description / Buy
3 The Last Secret of the Ark 2020 Description / Buy

Order of James Becker Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Life is a Moment (Short Story) 2017 Description / Buy

Order of James Becker Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Thoth's Riddle: Masters of the Dark Arts and Humanities (Short Story) 2015 Description / Buy
2 Thoth's Riddle: Invasion of the Toxic Mutant Army (Short Story) 2016 Description / Buy
3 Thoth's Riddle: Hieroglyphs (Short Story) 2016 Description / Buy
4 Thoth's Riddle: Flights of Fantasy (Short Story) 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

He even plied his trade in a mortuary. But none of these jobs stuck. Becker eventually gained some stability after finding a position in the Royal Navy’s Fleet Air Arm. The author was a decent helicopter pilot.

However, like every other endeavor he had ever undertaken, his life in the Navy came to an unexpected end. Becker blames basic fixed-wing aerobics for detaching the retina in one eye. He couldn’t fly anymore.

Fortunately, he found a place in Air Traffic Control, which was much safer than flying because he spent most of his time on the ground. The author stuck around for the next two decades. After leaving, he tried to start anew in the Pyrenean mountains in Andorra.

But surviving on his meager Royal Navy pension was easier said than done. It was barely enough for the author to meet his basic needs. Determined to carve out a better life for his wife and two dogs, Becker pivoted.

He started writing books and submitting them to UK literary agents. The author’s expectations were so low that he was quite surprised when he found an agent willing to represent him. Before long, he had secured a deal with Macmillan.

In the following years, he wrote and published novels with some of the biggest names in the business, including Simon & Schuster and Penguin. He writes fiction in many genres.

Best James Becker Books

The author doesn’t have as strong of a presence online as some of his peers because ‘James Becker’ is a pen name for James Barrington. Interestingly, Barrington is also a pseudonym. The author’s real name is Peter Stuart Smith. He changed it because he thought it was too dull for a fiction writer. Becker’s best books include:

The First Apostle: The worst had come to pass. Chris Bronson knew better than to tell his best friend the truth. He couldn’t reveal that he had fallen for his wife. But it no longer mattered. He had no choice but to take the secret to his grave.

After all, the wife in question had died. The news devastated Bronson. He flew to Italy with the intention of consoling his friend. But then he began to question the claims surrounding the tragic accident.

The evidence pointed to a break-in. The most puzzling clue was the Latin inscription above the fireplace. Bronson had succeeded in his career because he knew his limits. And clearly, he needed help cracking this case.

When he finally pulled his ex-wife into the mystery, Bronson was unaware of the web of lies and conspiracies waiting to engulf them. Now, Bronson and his ex-wife are on a new mission. They will follow an incredibly baffling collection of clues across Europe in search of a secret that, if true, will destroy the underpinnings of the Christian faith.

The Moses Stone: When an English couple discovered a clay tablet with ancient writing, they couldn’t fully comprehend the enormity of what they had done. Within a day, they were dead, the victims of a car crash.

But was it an accident or a deliberate attempt to claim the relic? Chris Bronson would soon find out. The British detective was on a mission to uncover a millennia-old secret. The clues would soon lead him on a rollercoaster ride to every exotic location one can imagine, including the underbelly of Jerusalem and the caves of Qumran.

But Bronson is just one party in a race to find a stone that hails from biblical times. The dangerous extremists on the detective’s heels are not opposed to using violence to get what they want.

Readers have compared the second novel in the Chris Bronson series to Dan Brown’s thrillers. Like the other Bronson books, this one peels back the layers surrounding biblical history. The tablets God gave to Moses take center stage.

Bronson and his ex-wife are trying to fend off Israeli Intelligence, who want the treasure for religious reasons, and the British Museum, which is driven by greed.

When Does The Next James Becker book come out?

James Becker doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Thoth's Riddle: Flights of Fantasy and was released on September, 5th 2023. It is the newest book in the James Becker Collections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *