Janet Chapman Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Janet Chapman was an American author who wrote romance novels. Born in 1956 in Maine, the bestseller had no publishing aspirations. Unlike many of her publishing peers, the author had no interest in writing as a teenager or an adult in her twenties and thirties.

Order of Pine Creek Highlanders Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Charming the Highlander 2003 Description / Buy
2 Loving the Highlander 2003 Description / Buy
3 Wedding the Highlander 2003 Description / Buy
4 Tempting the Highlander 2004 Description / Buy
5 Only With a Highlander 2005 Description / Buy
6 Secrets of the Highlander 2008 Description / Buy
7 A Highlander Christmas 2009 Description / Buy
8 Highlander for the Holidays 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Puffin Harbor Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Seductive Impostor 2004 Description / Buy
2 The Dangerous Protector 2005 Description / Buy

Order of Logger Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Seduction of His Wife 2006 Description / Buy
2 The Stranger in Her Bed 2006 Description / Buy

Order of Sinclair Brothers Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Man Must Marry 2008 Description / Buy
2 Tempt Me If You Can 2010 Description / Buy
3 It's a Wonderful Wife 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Midnight Bay Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Moonlight Warrior 2009 Description / Buy
2 Dragon Warrior 2010 Description / Buy
3 Mystical Warrior 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Spellbound Falls Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Spellbound Falls 2012 Description / Buy
2 Charmed by His Love 2012 Description / Buy
3 Courting Carolina 2012 Description / Buy
4 The Heart of a Hero 2013 Description / Buy
5 For the Love of Magic 2013 Description / Buy
6 The Highlander Next Door 2014 Description / Buy
7 Call It Magic 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Janet Chapman Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 From Kiss to Queen 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

If anyone told her she would grow up to write fiction for a living, she would have laughed at them. After all, she hated writing papers in school. Growing up in the pre-email era, she was just as disinterested in writing letters.

Chapman’s primary passion was reading. She couldn’t get enough of the written word. As a precocious child, she would pester her librarians (in the children’s section) until they found her some proper novels to read. She had no patience for books with pictures.

Chapman was approaching forty when she realized she had plenty of stories rattling around in her head. She decided to put one of them on paper with the intention of reading it and nothing else. Even though she knew next to nothing about writing books, she spent the next six weeks penning a romance novel.

Once the manuscript was complete, she sighed with satisfaction, read it, stored it in the closet, and moved on to the next one. Over time, she grew to enjoy the writing process.

Eventually, it dawned on her that she could get her manuscripts published. After leaving her husband and children to fend for themselves while she indulged in her hobby for hours on end, Chapman was determined to justify the time and effort she’d invested.

Chapman was smart enough to know that publishers wouldn’t come knocking on her door. So, instead, she abandoned her comfort zone and left Maine for New York to attend a Romance Writers of America conference.

It was merely the first of many. After navigating numerous conferences and retreats, Chapman finally landed an agent who sold her manuscript within two weeks. She spent the subsequent few decades writing romance novels in various sub-genres, including paranormal, suspense, and historical.

Her objective with each project was to tug at people’s heartstrings, to make them laugh, cry, and fume. Chapman’s followers will tell you she succeeded. The author was more of a pantser than a plotter.

She approached each new manuscript as a reader; that is to say, she was discovering the story as she wrote it. More often than not, she had no idea what would happen in the next scene. The one time she plotted a novel beforehand, her desire to write it fizzled out because she knew what would happen.

She often discouraged aspiring writers from showing snippets of their story to other people until they finished it. Doing so would tempt their friends and family to make suggestions that were just as likely to influence the aspiring writer to change their story.

Chapman wanted them to realize that they couldn’t write with the intention of pleasing everybody. Doing so would only lead to abject failure. Chapman wouldn’t show her work to anyone until the story was complete.

Best Janet Chapman Books

The author lost her battle with breast cancer in 2017. She enjoyed fishing, hunting, camping, and sailing. Chapman’s best books include:

Charming the Highlander: Grace Sutter was in a world of trouble. The feisty beauty almost met her end when her plane crashed. Even though she survived, the scientist’s future seemed bleak. After all, she was stuck on an icy mountain with a crazy person, a medieval warrior supposedly thrown forward in time to find the love of his life.

Grace couldn’t deny her attraction to the sexy warrior. However, she had no intention of giving him her heart. For his part, Greylen wouldn’t settle for anything less than Grace’s heart.

Wedding the Highlander: Libby Hart’s world had taken a strange turn. Surprisingly, losing control of her car and crashing into a pond was the least of her worries. Her savior, Micheal MacBain, was no ordinary man. He was a medieval highlander.

A wizard’s spell had stranded him in modern times. Michael wanted nothing to do with Libby. The last modern woman he fell for broke his heart. But he could barely control his desire for Libby, and the talented surgeon was equally drawn to him.

When Does The Next Janet Chapman book come out?

Janet Chapman doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Call It Magic and was released on May, 5th 2020. It is the newest book in the Spellbound Falls Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *