Jason Goodwin Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Jason Goodwin is a historian and English writer born in 1964 to John Michell and Jocasta Innes. Unfortunately, his parents separated before birth, and his mother raised him with her first husband Richard B. Goodwin did not meet his biological father until at the age of 28 years. The author specializes in writing thriller novels and is popularly known for The Janissary Tree series. Goodwin went to Cambridge University where he majored in Byzantine history.

Get notified when Jason Goodwin releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Yashim The Ottoman Detective Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Janissary Tree 2006 Description / Buy
2 The Snake Stone 2007 Description / Buy
3 The Bellini Card 2010 Description / Buy
4 An Evil Eye 2011 Description / Buy
5 The Baklava Club 2014 Description / Buy
6 Yashim Cooks Istanbul 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Jason Goodwin Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Time for Tea 1990 Description / Buy
2 The Gunpowder Gardens 1990 Description / Buy
3 On Foot to the Golden Horn 1993 Description / Buy
4 Lords of the Horizons 1998 Description / Buy
5 Otis 2001 Description / Buy
6 Greenback 2003 Description / Buy
7 Learning Akka 2015 Description / Buy
8 The Global Debt Crisis and How We Can Get Out of It 2016 Description / Buy
9 A Pilgrim's Guide to Sacred London 2017 Description / Buy

Jason Goodwin Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Sunshine Noir 2016 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Following the success of A Time For Tea: Travels in China and India in Search of Tea, Goodwin walked all the way from Poland to Istanbul, Turkey. The account of his journey, On Foot to the Golden Horn, was the winner of John Llewellyn Rhys/Mail in 1993.

Subsequently, Lords of the Horizon was featured on The New York Times Book review cover. In later years he became popularly known as the author of The Janissary Tree which is themed around an Ottoman detective Yashim, living in Istanbul, Turkey during the 1830’s and 1840’s.

The Snake Stone novel revolves around Byron’s doctor and a French archeologist. The Bellini Card events take place in Venice and revolve around an Italian painter Gentile Bellini. The fourth book in Yashim series, An Evil Eye is themed around the Ottoman sultan harem while The Baklava Club centers on Polish and Italian revolutionaries in Istanbul.


Goodwin has been nominated and won various awards. Some of the distinguished awards the author has been nominated or won awards include 1987 Sunday Telegraph Young Writer of the Year. The novel titled, The Gunpowder Gardens was nominated for the 1991 Thomas Cook Travel Award.

The Janissary Tree was the winner of 2007 Edgar Award for the best novel category, and in the same year, the same was shortlisted for Macavity Award for the best mystery novel category.


These are two best books by Jason Goodwin: The Janissary Tree &The Snake Stone.

The Janissary Tree: Jason Goodwin has unchained his great skills on a series of mysteries set in the 19th century, featuring the most brilliant of detectives of the time, Yashim, the eunuch.

The Janissary Tree is the first book in Yashim the Eunuch series and the year is 1836. While Europe is modernizing, the sultan of Ottoman Empire has no choice but follow the same suit. As soon as he is ready to announce some political change, a series of murders occurs ones which threaten the balance of power in his empire. Who could be the person behind the killing?

Dark the forbidden district of Topkapi Palace, the Abode of Felicity, the sultan the black sea ruler sends for Yashim, the detective that the King believes will solve the murder puzzles.

The detective is not alone either; he depends on the wisdom from a transsexual dancer, a dyspeptic Polish ambassador, and a Creole. Yashim is not your everyday eunuch, and through the pieces of clues, he gathers he introduces the readers to the Janissaries.

For four decades, the Janissaries were empires most trained soldiers. However, they grew powerful, and thus the sultan had all of them crushed. Could the janissaries be staging a comeback war? Moreover, if this is true how the indestructible soldiers can be stopped without sending the whole of Istanbul into political chaos?

The Snake Stone: The Snake Stone is the second book in Yashim the Eunuch series by Jason Goodwin. After the French archaeologist arrives in Istanbul in 1830’s, he is determined in finding a lost Byzantine treasure. However, the local communities are unsure of how to react since the man appears to be well informed.

Yashim, the investigator who did a splendid investigation in the Janissary Tree, is once again called to investigate. However, when the archeologist mutilated body is found dumped outside the French embassy, it turns out there is only one suspect in this murder case; the investigator himself.

In The Snake Stone, the author Goodwin took the readers back to the streets of Istanbul in the 19th century. The protagonist Yashim is once again racing against time to uncover the truth behind a mysterious society focused on the resurgence of the Byzantine Empire. Along the way, he encounters some vibrant character such as Byron’s doctor and the Valide.

Armed with the 16th-century book as his only weapon, the eunuch takes us into the world of high stakes, where betrayal means death and the pleasure to the reader are immeasurable.

When Does The Next Jason Goodwin book come out?

Jason Goodwin doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is A Pilgrim's Guide to Sacred London and was released on June, 1st 2017. It is the newest book in the Jason Goodwin Non-Fiction Books.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *