Jean Grainger Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Jean Grainger is an Irish author that writes general and historical fiction. While she has given history lectures at university and taught English, History, and Drama in secondary school, the playwright’s days as a tour guide did more to impact her publishing career.

Get notified when Jean Grainger releases a new book at

Order of Carmel Sheehan Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Letters of Freedom (Short Story) 2016 Description / Buy
2 The Future's Not Ours To See 2017 Description / Buy
3 What Will Be 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Conor O'Shea / The Tour Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Tour 2013 Description / Buy
2 Safe at the Edge of the World 2017 Description / Buy
3 The Story of Grenville King 2017 Description / Buy
4 The Homecoming of Bubbles O'Leary 2018 Description / Buy
5 Finding Billie Romano 2019 Description / Buy
6 Kayla's Trick 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Cullen's Celtic Cabaret Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 For All The World 2023 Description / Buy
2 A Beautiful Ferocity 2023 Description / Buy
3 Rivers of Wrath 2023 Description / Buy
4 The Gem of Ireland's Crown 2024 Description / Buy

Order of The Kilteegan Bridge Story Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Trouble With Secrets 2022 Description / Buy
2 What Divides Us 2022 Description / Buy
3 More Harm Than Good 2022 Description / Buy
4 When Irish Eyes Are Lying 2023 Description / Buy
5 A Silent Understanding 2023 Description / Buy

Order of The Knocknashee Story Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Lilac Ink 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Mags Munroe Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Existential Worries of Mags Munroe 2022 Description / Buy
2 Growing Wild In The Shade 2022 Description / Buy
3 Each To Their Own 2023 Description / Buy
4 Closer than you think 2024 Description / Buy
5 Chancing Your Arm 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Queenstown Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Last Port of Call 2021 Description / Buy
2 The West's Awake 2021 Description / Buy
3 The Harp and the Rose 2021 Description / Buy
4 Roaring Liberty 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Robinswood Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 What Once Was True 2018 Description / Buy
2 Return to Robinswood 2019 Description / Buy
3 Trials and Tribulations 2019 Description / Buy

Order of The Star and the Shamrock Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Star and the Shamrock 2019 Description / Buy
2 The Emerald Horizon 2019 Description / Buy
3 The Hard Way Home 2020 Description / Buy
4 The World Starts Anew 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Jean Grainger Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 So Much Owed 2013 Description / Buy
2 Shadow of a Century 2015 Description / Buy
3 Under Heaven's Shining Stars 2016 Description / Buy
4 Sisters of the Southern Cross 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Jean Grainger Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Catriona's War (Short Story) 2019 Description / Buy

Jean Grainger Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Darkest Hour 2018 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Her clients took note of the wealth of stories she had accumulated and encouraged her to collect them in a book. She followed their advice, eventually becoming a self-published bestseller.

The author is proud of her writer friends that have secured deals with traditional publishers. But from what she has seen, they don’t make money. On the other hand, Grainger makes far more money from indie publishing than she ever did from teaching.

The author worked as a tour guide for a decade. American companies would hire her to regale visitors with interesting stories about Ireland’s myths, legends, and history. She loved the job. However, it was unsustainable because it took the author away from her family.

This compelled her to embrace teaching. She went back to school, secured a degree, and landed a teaching position. Grainger was convinced that teaching would consume the rest of her life. Everything changed in 2012.

She wrote a book and tried to publish it. But every agent she approached turned her down. Fortunately, her husband encouraged Grainger to persevere. Her big break came when she attended a self-publishing workshop in Dublin after seeing an ad.

By the time Catherine Ryan-Howard and Vanessa O’Loughlin were done, the author knew enough to kickstart her self-publishing career. Grainger is quick to correct people who think indie publishing is free.

She spends hefty sums on advertising. That doesn’t include the fees her editor, Helen Falconer, charges. The author writes 5,000 words a day because quantity is vital in self-publishing. Her readers are voracious.

She must maintain a relatively quick production pace to satisfy them. Grainger doesn’t bother Helen until she has completed two drafts. Helen is the structural editor. The pair will spend hours unraveling the new manuscript before reconstructing it.

Once she does another rewrite, her copy editor in New York enters the picture and spends the next four weeks refining the manuscript. The final stop is Grainger’s crew of advance readers.

She expects them to point out all the errors, plot holes, and typos. She is eternally grateful to the team because she doesn’t pay them. They read her manuscripts because they love her work.

Life as a self-published author is not easy. Grainger understands the benefits of a traditional publisher. She knows it would be more convenient for them to do the heavy lifting where editing and advertising are concerned, while she makes writing her priority.

But she usually rejects the traditional publishers that come calling because she doesn’t see the benefit. Her self-publishing empire is doing quite well. She won’t rule out a future in indie publishing. But for the moment, she’s happy.

Best Jean Grainger Books

The author encourages readers to leave reviews for her books. She loves reading them and is often humbled by people that compare her work to Maeve Binchy. Grainger’s best books include:

The Star and the Shamrock: Ariella made a difficult decision. Berlin in 1939 was no longer safe. When her husband failed to return home, Ariella assumed the worst. The only way to protect her children was to send them away.

For Elizabeth Klein, life had lost its flavor. First, she lost her husband to the Great War. And then, her child followed soon after. Her heart was bruised. It couldn’t bear to love again, not when it meant exposing herself to more pain.

But Liesl and Erich Bannon needed her. She couldn’t afford to abandon them for her own sake.

The Tour: Conor O’Shea knows what to expect when she meets visitors at Shannon Airport every week. She has seen it all, or so she assumes. This new group is about to blow her expectations out of the water.

The visitors are unlike anyone she has ever seen. Corlene is a gold digger with multiple divorces under her belt. Patrick is a Boston cop in desperate need of love. Then you have the poisonous college professor, the wall street shark, and the goth.

Conor will lead them on a journey of self-discovery, all the while struggling to juggle their unique personalities.

When Does The Next Jean Grainger book come out?

The next book by Jean Grainger is Lilac Ink and will be released on July, 23rd 2024. It is the newest book in the The Knocknashee Story Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *