Jean M Auel Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

A noteworthy writer from the US, Jean M. Aurel has penned down several novels within the Literature and Fiction genre. Aurel was born in 1939 in Chicago to Martha Wirtanen and Neil Solomon Untinen. Neil Solomon Untinen, Auel’s father served as a house painter while her mother, Martha Wirtanen served as a homemaker. Born Jean Marie Untinen, Jean M. Auel is the second child in a family of five children. Jean M. Auel is widely known for the critically acclaimed novel, Earth’s Children book series, which is a set of numerous historical fiction novels. The Earth’s Children book series deals with the interactions of the Neanderthal people and the Cro-Magnon people during prehistoric Europe. Immediately after realizing the first book in the Earth Children’s book series, it became an instant hit and currently, the series has sold more than 30 million copies throughout the world.

Get notified when Jean M. Auel releases a new book at

Order of Earth's Children Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Clan of the Cave Bear 1980 Description / Buy
2 The Valley of Horses 1982 Description / Buy
3 The Mammoth Hunters 1985 Description / Buy
4 The Plains of Passage 1990 Description / Buy
5 The Shelters of Stone 2002 Description / Buy
6 The Land of Painted Caves 2011 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Before she became a professional writer, Jean M. Auel used to work a clerk, while undertaking her studies at the same time. Apart from serving as a clerk, Jean M. Auel has also tried her hands at other professions such as a technical writer and a credit manager as well. Before she became a full-time writer, Jean M. did several other odd jobs to make a living up to the year 1979. After completing her studies at Portland University, Jean M. Auel pursuing her Masters between the year 1975 and 1976. Apart from her Masters, Auel holds several honorary degrees from several other institutions. During the initial stages of her writing career in 1977, Jean used to go to the library so that she could conduct research on the Ice Age. Auel even began to take classes on the construction of an ice cave as well as several other activities such as making fire by the use of primeval methods, tanning leather with the guidance of Jimmy Riggs, who used to be an expert in the aboriginal skills and knapping stone.

Auel was so impressed by the skills of Jean. M. Auel such that she believed that if Riggs was left alone in the wilderness without any of the things required for survival, he was going to make it out alive. Riggs would not only be able to find shelter, but food as well and clothing to aid his survival. With the assistance of complete knowledge and training, Jean. M Auel was able to writer her first book, Clan of Cave Bear in the year 1980. The novel was well received throughout the world that it even went on to receive several nominations such as the Best First Novel by American Booksellers Association. After seeing, the success of some of the books that she had previously released, Jean M. Auel continued to travel to several prehistoric sites and met with several experts so that she could be able to gain in-depth knowledge. Jean M. Auel has continued to travel to various parts of Europe from France all the way to Ukraine with regards to her work.

From time to time, Jean M. Auel used to visit Old Europe, and there was a time that she even met with one, Dr. Jean Clottes, a native of France. Jean and Dr. Clottes became friends such that she even used Dr. Clottes as a guide when doing her research work. Despite the fact that some of the novels written by Auel have been filled with several anthropological authenticities and ethnobotanical accuracies, a majority of the recent archaeological research have suggested that some of the details which have been mentioned in the novel which are related to the pre-historic sites are fictional while others contain some inaccuracies.

Jean M. Auel Awards

Jean M. Auel’s book, the clan bear, received several nominations for literary awards such as the American Bookseller’s Association.

Jean M. Auel Books into Movies

The Clan of the Cave Bear has been adapted into a screenplay, and the film goes by the same name.

Best Jean M. Auel Books

The books, which have been penned down by Jean M. Auel in Earth’s Children book series consist of 6 books which were written between the year 1980 to the year 2011.

The Earth’s Children: This book series deals with love boundaries and relationships as well. The book depicts the life of the protagonist, Ayla. Ayla is a girl who belonged to the Cro-Magnon community and a majority of her clan members considered her to be an outsider. From the age of five, Ayla has been an orphan. Ayla is an exceedingly brilliant girl with a high intelligent quotient. She not only has deep knowledge about medicine but she also has the ability to connect very easily with animals.

When Does The Next Jean M. Auel book come out?

Jean M. Auel doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Land of Painted Caves and was released on March, 29th 2011. It is the newest book in the Earth's Children Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *