Jennifer Chiaverini Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Jennifer Chiaverini is an American author that writes General Fiction and Historical Fiction. Born in 1961 in Cincinnati, Ohio, the bestseller attended the University of Notre Dame and the University of Chicago. She also spent some time at Edgewood College and Penn State, where she taught writing.

Order of Elm Creek Quilts Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Quilter's Apprentice 1999 Description / Buy
2 Round Robin 2000 Description / Buy
3 The Cross-Country Quilters 2001 Description / Buy
4 The Runaway Quilt 2002 Description / Buy
5 The Quilter's Legacy 2003 Description / Buy
6 The Master Quilter 2004 Description / Buy
7 The Sugar Camp Quilt 2005 Description / Buy
8 The Christmas Quilt 2005 Description / Buy
9 Circle of Quilters 2006 Description / Buy
10 The Quilter's Homecoming 2007 Description / Buy
11 The New Year's Quilt 2007 Description / Buy
12 The Winding Ways Quilt 2008 Description / Buy
13 The Quilter's Kitchen 2008 Description / Buy
14 The Lost Quilter 2009 Description / Buy
15 A Quilter's Holiday 2009 Description / Buy
16 The Aloha Quilt 2010 Description / Buy
17 The Union Quilters 2011 Description / Buy
18 The Wedding Quilt 2011 Description / Buy
19 Sonoma Rose 2011 Description / Buy
20 The Giving Quilt 2012 Description / Buy
21 The Christmas Boutique 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Elm Creek Quilts Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Quilter's Ghost (Short Story) 2015 Description / Buy
2 The Fabric Diary and The Runner's Quilt (Short Story) 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Jennifer Chiaverini Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Spymistress 2013 Description / Buy
2 Mrs. Lincoln's Dressmaker 2013 Description / Buy
3 Mrs. Lincoln's Rival 2014 Description / Buy
4 Mrs. Grant and Madame Jule 2015 Description / Buy
5 Christmas Bells 2015 Description / Buy
6 Fates and Traitors 2016 Description / Buy
7 Enchantress of Numbers 2017 Description / Buy
8 Resistance Women 2019 Description / Buy
9 Mrs. Lincoln's Sisters 2020 Description / Buy
10 The Women's March 2021 Description / Buy
11 Switchboard Soldiers 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Jennifer Chiaverini Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 ELM Creek Quilts (Short Story) 2002 Description / Buy
2 Return to Elm Creek (Short Story) 2004 Description / Buy
3 More Elm Creek Quilts (Short Story) 2008 Description / Buy
4 Traditions from Elm Creek Quilts (Short Story) 2011 Description / Buy
5 An Elm Creek Quilts Companion 2013 Description / Buy
6 Harriet's Journey from ELM Creek Quilts (Short Story) 2020 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Chiaverini harbored a desire to write fiction for as long as she can remember. She hoped that a day would come when she would write stories for a living.

The author took the first step toward her publishing dreams in 1997 when she finished her manuscript. Two years later, the book was published. Chiaverini wants aspiring writers to follow in her footsteps.

The 21st Century has introduced technologies that have made writing, publishing, and marketing so much easier. Newcomers must summon the courage to use those tools to pursue their publishing goals the way she did in the 1990s.

Chiaverini writes historical fiction because the genre allows her to explore the lives of obscure individuals. Her objective is to shine a light on all the women and people of color that history either hid or eliminated from the narrative.

She does extensive research into the events and figures surrounding the historical eras that interest her. Sometimes, the research she does for one novel will inspire another.

For instance, the author was reading about Mary Todd Lincoln, a character in ‘Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker,’ when she took an interest in Julia Dent Grant. The detour gave birth to ‘Mrs. Grant and Madame Jule.’

Chiaverini’s stories adhere closely to the historical record. She doesn’t want to mislead her readers with erroneous information about significant historical events and characters.

However, she doesn’t apply that attitude to lesser-known individuals and events.

While she has written several standalone books, Chiaverini is known primarily for the Elm Creek Quilts series. She was a novice when she wrote ‘The Quilter’s Apprentice.’

Like most authors, she was encouraged to write what she knew. Because she had an in-depth understanding of quilting, she made the field the subject of her novel.

She wanted to honor the lives of quilters by exploring their highs and lows. She knew that her quilter friends would love the novels, especially when they realized that Chiaverini had gone to great lengths to destroy the stereotypes surrounding their kind.

But she also hoped to reach non-quilters, introducing them to quilting and providing some insight into the mindset that drives quilters. Her passion for quilting is evident in her books.

She loves the hobby because it is a creative outlet that brings people together, giving them the support they need to overcome incredible odds.

The author wrote several Elm Creek Quilts books before finally turning her attention to standalone historical novels.

Later on, she went back to the Elm Creek Quilts series when her fans started demanding stories featuring characters like Sylvia and Sarah, whom they had grown to love.

Best Jennifer Chiaverini Books

The author has been praised for writing authentic novels that provide grounded portrayals of historical figures. Chiaverini’s best books include:

Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker: Initially, Elizabeth was just a slave. But then, she gained her freedom and garnered an impeccable reputation as a seamstress for the elite. When Mrs. Lincoln hired her, no one expected their relationship to last for so long.

She made the First Lady’s gowns. Along the way, she endeared herself to the Lincolns, standing with Mrs. Lincoln during her darkest days. Over the years, she saved the scraps from her work and used them to make the Mary Todd Lincoln Quilt.

But people remember her primarily for her book, a memoir about her life in the White House that ultimately destroyed her relationship with Mrs. Lincoln.

Resistance Women: Mildred Fish couldn’t wait to start a new life in Germany with Arvid Harnack. They moved to his homeland after their wedding, and Germany was everything Mildred wanted in a home, an intellectual hub that gave the woman good friends and a satisfying career.

Adolf Hitler changed everything. The Nazis rose to power and turned Mildred’s life upside down. But she had no intention of sitting back and watching as the Nazis unleashed hell on the world.

Mildred joined forces with her friends to resist the German war machine. She started gathering intelligence for the Americans, unaware of the consequences that would befall them all once their resistance cell was exposed.

When Does The Next Jennifer Chiaverini book come out?

Jennifer Chiaverini doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Switchboard Soldiers and was released on July, 19th 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.