Joseph Heywood Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Joseph Heywood is an American author that writes mysteries, thrillers, and general fiction. Born in 1943 in Rhinebeck, New York, Heywood’s father was a US Air Force Officer named Edwin Thomas Heywood, that fought in the Second World War.

Get notified when Joseph Heywood releases a new book at

Order of Beau Valentine Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Berkut 1987 Description / Buy
2 The Domino Conspiracy 1992 Description / Buy

Order of Woods Cop Mysteries Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Ice Hunter 2001 Description / Buy
2 Blue Wolf In Green Fire 2002 Description / Buy
3 Chasing a Blond Moon 2003 Description / Buy
4 Running Dark 2005 Description / Buy
5 Strike Dog 2007 Description / Buy
6 Death Roe 2008 Description / Buy
7 Shadow of the Wolf Tree 2010 Description / Buy
8 Force of Blood 2011 Description / Buy
9 Killing a Cold One 2013 Description / Buy
10 Buckular Dystrophy 2016 Description / Buy
11 Bad Optics 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Woods Cop Mysteries Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Hard Ground 2013 Description / Buy
2 Harder Ground 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Lute Bapcat Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Red Jacket 2012 Description / Buy
2 Mountains of the Misbegotten 2014 Description / Buy
3 Beyond Beyond 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Joseph Heywood Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Taxi Dancer 1985 Description / Buy
2 The Snowfly 2000 Description / Buy
3 Upper Peculiar 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Joseph Heywood Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Covered Waters: Tempests of a Nomadic Trouter 2003 Description / Buy
2 Limpy's Adult Lexicon 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Surprisingly, his mother’s maiden name was ‘Hegwood.’ She only changed one letter to adopt her husband’s name.

The author lived a relatively ordinary life, attending Rudyard High School (The Upper Peninsula in Michigan), where he pursued various sporting activities (Track, Football, Basketball, Baseball). He graduated in 1961.

At Michigan State University, Heywood studied journalism, graduating with a BA in 1965. Additionally, he gave three years of his life to the Michigan State Lacrosse Club. His time in the final mandatory ROTC class (for land grant universities) led him to the Air Force.

A glance at the author’s resume will reveal his activities at Western Michigan University, where he studied English Literature and completed the coursework but failed to get the degree.

It will also mention his days as a USAF Instructor Navigator and the work he did for The Upjohn Company (Pfizer), climbing to the position of worldwide public relations vice president before retiring in 2000.

He married his wife (Sandra V. Heywood) in 1965. By the time she died in 2002, their coupling had produced five children.

No one is surprised to learn that Heywood walks every day regardless of the weather. His books reveal an impressive understanding and appreciation of the great outdoors. The author is best known for the Woods Cop Mysteries, which chronicle the lives of Conservation Officers in the Upper Peninsula.

Heywood spends four weeks (out of every year) on patrol with conservation officers. This has allowed the author to glean invaluable knowledge from sixty solo partners and the dozens he meets in group undertakings.

Some of those partners inspired him when they began to wonder about the lives of their counterparts from a century ago. This question lingered in Heywood’s mind, but he couldn’t find any reliable sources with answers until he discovered a cache of letters and reports from game wardens in a U.P. cabin.

The documents eventually found a place in the Library of Michigan, Lansing. The data they provided informed the author’s work when he wrote ‘Red Jacket.’

The Upper Peninsula is a vital character in Heywood’s books. He tries to describe the setting in a way that educates people that have never visited the U.P. The author takes great pride in his work, which explains his penchant for going on solo hikes at night.

Heywood is competent enough to sleep in the mountains and jungles alone, relying on ambient light to navigate. He has encountered black bears on numerous occasions, not to mention a wolf and a cow elk, without sustaining injuries.

Best Joseph Heywood Books

Besides writing, the author is passionate about poetry, photography, and painting. Heywood’s best books include:

Ice Hunter: Grady is a former Marine. The conservation officer is happiest in the wilderness of Michigan’s Upper Peninsula. Modern creature comforts and consumerism have no hold on him. Grady will give life and limb to defend the land his CO father once protected.

Grady’s determination is tested when an incestuous poacher clan’s despicable leader leaves prison. But that is the least of Grady’s worries. Powerful men have taken an interest in the Mosquito Wilderness. A dangerous discovery has piqued the interest of nefarious forces.

Grady is the only man standing in their way. He will fight everything from politicians to giant conglomerates to keep his home safe.

Blue Wolf In Green Fire: Grady doesn’t know what to think. Animal rights activists have seemingly escalated their activities, transitioning from organizing protests to planting bombs. Now, law enforcement is investigating two murders at a wolf lab.

In the ensuing chaos, a rare blue wolf escaped into the wild. As a result, the Mosquito Wilderness is buzzing with activity. The Ojibwe think a blue wolf is good luck, but only if it survives. Otherwise, a dead wolf is a bad omen.

One poaching ring is determined to add the blue wolf to its collection. But stopping them is easier said than done. Despite his considerable abilities, Grady is stretched thin. The FBI has entered the picture, and they continue to exceed their jurisdiction. Grady can’t help but question whether there’s more to the murders than the FBI has revealed.

When Does The Next Joseph Heywood book come out?

Joseph Heywood doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Limpy\'s Adult Lexicon and was released on August, 1st 2023. It is the newest book in the Joseph Heywood Non-Fiction Books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *