Jude Deveraux Books

Jude Deveraux is a bestselling American author that writes historical romance novels. Her books have sold tens of millions of copies over the course of her long career. She gained quite a bit of fame when her adopted son died in 2005 and a psychic used her grief to steal 20 million dollars from her.

Print: Print PDF

Despite being an internationally renowned author, Jude was left with almost no money. She was on the verge of committing suicide when Rose Marks’ scam was discovered. Jude eventually recovered from the ordeal and she has spoken about this dark chapter of her life to numerous news outlets.

Born Jude Gilliam in 1947 in Fairdale, Kentucky, she attended Murray State University from where she acquired her art degree. The oldest sister of four brothers, she got married in 1967; though that particular relationship ended in divorce just four years later. She eventually met Mohammed Montassir with whom she raised Sam Alexander Montassir before his untimely death in 2005.

As a child, the author was not particularly driven to pursue publishing. Books were nothing new to her household. Her parents were members of various book clubs and they would receive bestsellers every single month.

As such, the author never lacked reading material. Her home had a large bookcase that kept her sated for a long time. However, she eventually studied fiber arts and ceramics at Murray State University.

And when she went to Santa Fe after her graduation, it was with the hopes of finding a job that could utilize the skills she had mastered in college. She wasn’t necessarily yearning for a chance to put her stories on paper.

Jude Deveraux was teaching fifth grade when her writing career finally took off. When she wasn’t teaching, the author would take classes at the University of New Mexico. When she wasn’t studying, Jude could be found at the local bookstore stocking up on reading material.

She always left with two large paperback novels every Friday and she would spend hours reading them. On one particular occasion, the two books she had returned with turned out to be rape sagas in which the heroines were repeatedly raped by the heroes until true love blossomed between them.

This got Jude thinking about the sorts of books she wanted to read and, better yet, the kinds of stories she would have written if she had the skill. This train of thought kept her up all night. She couldn’t stop plotting and crafting dialog and building the characters in her head.

This continued for three days during which she found that she simply could not rest until she had finished constructing her story. Realizing that she was on the verge of insanity, Jude Deveraux decided to write her story in the hopes that it would finally bring some peace and quiet to her mind.

But things did not work out quite as she expected. Her story continued to grow and she continued to write it even as she pursued the various responsibilities of her life. It took Jude two years to finish the manuscript that became her first novel.

And once she was done writing it, she gave it to the neighbor’s teenage daughter. The girl typed it for a fee and then Jude sent it to Avon Books, unaware that she was expected to work through an agent. Within a month, Avon Books had written back to Jude, asking for the opportunity to pay her if she wrote more stories for them.

Jude quit her job the very next day, having decided to become a full-time writer.

Jude Deveraux Awards

The author has won the RT Reviewers Choice Award and the ‘All About Romance Reader Award’ on numerous occasions.

Best Jude Deveraux Books

Jude has been commended for her ability to evoke a strong atmosphere in every single one of her books, with some of the best titles in her bibliography including:

Black Lyon: Lyon and Lyonene were meant to be together. Only the green-eyed beauty could tame the fierceness of the Dark and handsome English conqueror. But then vicious lies ruined them, driving Lyonene across the Irish sea. Now, the only man that can save her from grave danger is Lyon.

Velvet Promise: Judith and Gavin are married. Judith wants Gavin to love her. However, while he is happy to take her body, he only has eyes for the scheming woman that has enslaved him. Humiliated and alone, Judith has few other choices left to her.

When Does The Next Jude Deveraux book come out?

Jude Deveraux doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is and was released on January, 1st 1970. It is the newest book in the .