Julia Buckley Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Julia Buckley is an American author of young adult, mystery and thrillers novels famously known as the author of Undercover Dish Mystery, Madeline Mann, Teddy Thurber Mysteries, Writers Apprentice Mystery and Ginevra Bond Adventures. Julia’s first mystery novel, The Dark Backward was first published in 2006, and since then the author has published over a dozen novels in different series. Julia is a member of Mystery Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, and the Chicago Writers Association and she often blogs about mysteries and has interviewed over 200 mystery writers about their work.

Get notified when Julia Buckley releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Madeline Mann Mysteries Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Madeline Mann 2007 Description / Buy
2 Lovely, Dark, and Deep 2008 Description / Buy
3 One Fool At Least 2012 Description / Buy

Order of Teddy Thurber Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Ghosts of Lovely Women 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Ginevra Bond Adventures Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Ginevra Bond 2012 Description / Buy

Order of Hungarian Tea House Mystery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Death in a Budapest Butterfly 2019 Description / Buy
2 Death of a Wandering Wolf 2020 Description / Buy
3 Death on the Night of Lost Lizards 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Undercover Dish Mystery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Big Chili 2015 Description / Buy
2 Cheddar Off Dead 2016 Description / Buy
3 Pudding Up With Murder 2017 Description / Buy
4 A Fatal Fettuccine 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Shakespeare's Bookshop Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Death and the Shakespeare Shop (Short Story) 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Writer's Apprentice Mystery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Dark and Stormy Murder 2016 Description / Buy
2 Death in Dark Blue 2017 Description / Buy
3 A Dark and Twisting Path 2018 Description / Buy
4 Death Waits in the Dark 2019 Description / Buy
5 Death with a Dark Red Rose 2020 Description / Buy
6 A Dark and Silent Night (Short Story) 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Julia Buckley Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Dark Backward 2006 Description / Buy
2 Counterplay 2012 Description / Buy

Julia Buckley Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Deadly Treats 2011 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Additionally, Julia Buckley is an English teacher and enjoys reading, spending time with her family, playing Words With Friends on Facebook and spending time with her menagerie of animals.


These are two best books written by Julia Buckley, A Dark and Stormy Murder and The Big Chili.

A Dark and Stormy Murder: The debut novel in A Writer’s Apprentice Mystery series by Julia Buckley. The story introduces readers to an aspiring suspense novelist, Lena London whose publishing dreams are finally coming true, but as long as she avoids any real-life enemies. Camilla Graham, a prominent suspense writer inspired Lena to become a writer, and so when she gets a job as Camilla’s assistant, she is happy and at the same time cannot believe her luck. Not only will she help her influencer craft enchanting new mystery, but she will get to live bills-free in Camilla’s Victorian home in the scenic town of Blue Lake, Indiana.

Unfortunately, Lena’s luck soon changes for the worst. First becomes entangled in a gossip fracas for befriending the local recluse and then she stumbles across a dead body on her new boss’s property. Now Lena must use the guide from Camilla’s books to track down clues in real time that appear to be linked to the novelist mysterious estate.

A Dark and Stormy Murder is a brilliant series debut that fires on all cylinders and harkens to the amazing mysteries of another time. The protagonist is Lena London who has landed her dream job and is excited by the fact that she is finally working for her mentor and also get a chance to live in the same town where her best friend Allison lives. Allison helped her secure this “dream job” and as Lena settle in; she takes her time to get to get to know her new home.

While on her way to town with her adorable German Shepherds, Rochester and Heathcliff, she meets her bad-tempered neighbor Sam West. Lena is such a warm character, she is so kind and yet so forthright, and takes no grudge from the grumpy neighbor. She is quick to make friends in her new town and loves the kind of work she is doing for her role model. However all is not as golden as she thinks- she soon stumbles on the body of a man she overheard arguing with another man while in town. Finding the body leads Camilla and Lena on the hunt for answers- as strange noises at night and mysterious people on Camilla’s property bother them. What could be in Camilla’s property that raises eyebrows so much? Is there a connection between Camilla and her property to the dead man?

The Big Chili: The debut novel in Undercover Dish Mystery series by Julia Buckley. It introduces readers to a Lila Drake, who is in her late twenty’s but unlucky in love. Good thing for her she has a passion for cooking, and currently works as a receptionist for her parent’s real estate firm. However, Lila has her dreams of opening her own catering company. So to acquire cooking skills, food, and some exposure, she starts her underground secretive covered dish business.

The idea of her new business is to help the citizens of Pine Haven, Illinois cannot cook pass off food made by her as their own. Everything appears to be going according to plan until the food she secretly prepares is used to poison a member of St. Bartholomew Church. While Lilah was never a fan of the poison victim, she is shocked to discover the victim’s past action and how difficult she indeed was.

Once again, Julia Buckley gives the readers a brilliant story in her debut book in Undercover Dish series. Narrated in first person point of view, The Big Chili opens up in what promises to be a great cozy mystery series.

When Does The Next Julia Buckley book come out?

Julia Buckley doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Death and the Shakespeare Shop and was released on June, 1st 2024. It is the newest book in the Shakespeare's Bookshop Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *