Julia Spencer-Fleming Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Born in 1961, Julia Spencer-Fleming is an American author who writes mystery fiction novels. She was born in Plattsburgh in the state of New York. Fleming is an alumnus of the Maine, George Washington University, and Ithaca College. She is a resident of Buxton in Maine and lives with her husband and three children.

Get notified when Julia Spencer-Fleming releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Rev. Clare Fergusson & Russ Van Alstyne Mysteries Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 In the Bleak Midwinter 2002 Description / Buy
2 A Fountain Filled with Blood 2003 Description / Buy
3 Out of the Deep I Cry 2004 Description / Buy
4 To Darkness and to Death 2005 Description / Buy
5 All Mortal Flesh 2006 Description / Buy
6 I Shall Not Want 2008 Description / Buy
7 Letters to a Soldier (Short Story) 2009 Description / Buy
8 One Was a Soldier 2011 Description / Buy
9 Through the Evil Days 2013 Description / Buy
10 Hid from Our Eyes 2020 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Julia Spencer-Fleming novels feature two protagonists, Clare Fergusson and Russ Van Alstyne. In the series, Clare serves as a priest with some piloting experiences from his former job; on the other hand, Russ is a police chief. The events depicted in the novels are set in a fictional town known as Millers Kill, located on the upstate of New York.

Julia made her triumphal entry into the publishing world in 2002 after the publication of her first novel In the Bleak Midwinter. The following year her second writing work A Fountain Filled with Blood was published. Up to date, the author has written over five novels, and her latest work is One Was A Soldier (2011), and Through the Evil Days (2013).


Julia Spencer-Fleming books have been listed for various awards. Currently, she has received seven awards for her outstanding writing work. Her debut novel In the Bleak Midwinter (2002) boasts five different awards; they include; Antony Award, Macavity Award, Barry Award, Dilys Award all granted in 2003, and an Agatha Award awarded in 2002.


These are three best books by Julia Spencer-Fleming. All Mortal Flesh (2006) & I Shall Not Want (2008).

All Mortal Flesh: This is the fifth book in The Rev. Clare & Russ Van Mystery series by Julia Spencer-Fleming. In this novel, the two lead characters, Chief Russ and Rev. Clare encounter each other in a hospital emergency room on a chilling December night. A newborn baby had been abandoned at St. Albans Church where Clare delivers her summons. That evening when the two met began an attraction as fierce as bush fire, so forbidden such one thing that would keep them apart from each other was distance- unfortunately in a town such as Millers Kill that no distance would keep them apart.

On the other hand, back at his home, a neighbor pays a visit to Russ wife, Linda Van Alstyne only to find a brutally murdered woman lying on the kitchen floor. To the local townspeople, this is proof that the gossip about the police boss and the church priest was real, to the church superiors, it is the chance to find their way to control the cleric finally, and to the police department it is an open- shut case.

I shall not want: In the small town of Millers Kill, marriages fail; people die however the life continues and does not stop even for a single minute. Despite the death of the woman he loved, the busy life of the police department with new cases being reported and other being handled keeps Chief Russ Van Alstyne preoccupied and thus ignoring the pain of losing his dear one.

On the other side of the town, at St. Albans Church, Clare Fergusson, a reverend is trying hard enough to ensure that her superior are happy and while at the same time ignoring her mourning soul.

When a young Mexican supervisor discovers the body of a dead Latino on his farm, the cause of death being a single bullet on the back of his head, Rev. Clare is forced to make some investigation into the matter due to her close relationship with the migrant people. Two more dead bodies are discovered, all murdered in the same manner as the first one, this sparks the fear of a loose serial killer walking free in the small peaceful town of Millers Kill. The mourning spring turns season becomes into a dreadful summer Russ is faced with a series of assaults, media hysteria, and crisis within his department.

As more violence ignites this small town, with more strikes happening closer to home, the new chief experiences are put into test, two wannabe lovers who had thought that all was lost, and a worried migrant worker must find some way to instill trust on each other before it finally becomes too late.

In this suspenseful and passionate novel, the author, Julia Spencer-Fleming through her characters shows that you can escape from danger, but you cannot avoid desire.

When Does The Next Julia Spencer-Fleming book come out?

Julia Spencer-Fleming doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Hid from Our Eyes and was released on April, 7th 2020. It is the newest book in the Rev. Clare Fergusson & Russ Van Alstyne Mysteries Series.


1 thought on “Julia Spencer-Fleming”

  1. Please dont let us “keep hanging on” with HID FROM OUR EYES. I mean WHERE IS KEVIN FLYNN? WHAT HAPPENS TO MKPD? P.L.E.A.S.E!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *