Julie Kagawa Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Julie Kagawa is an American author that writes YA novels. Kagawa was born in 1982 in Sacramento, California. The author, who is of Japanese descent, was nine when her family moved to Hawaii. When she wasn’t exploring or swimming, Kagawa would read.

Get notified when Julie Kagawa releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Iron Fey Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Iron King 2010 Description / Buy
2 Winter's Passage (Short Story) 2010 Description / Buy
3 The Iron Daughter 2010 Description / Buy
4 The Iron Queen 2011 Description / Buy
5 Summer's Crossing (Short Story) 2011 Description / Buy
6 The Iron Knight 2011 Description / Buy
7 Iron's Prophecy (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy

Order of Iron Fey: Call Of The Forgotten Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Iron / Lost Prince 2012 Description / Buy
2 The Iron Traitor 2013 Description / Buy
3 The Iron Warrior 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Iron Fey: Evenfall Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Shadow's Legacy 2021 Description / Buy
2 The Iron Raven 2021 Description / Buy
3 The Iron Sword 2022 Description / Buy
4 The Iron Vow 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Iron Fey Graphic Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Iron King (Short Story) 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Blood of Eden Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Immortal Rules 2012 Description / Buy
2 The Eternity Cure 2013 Description / Buy
3 Dawn of Eden ( With: Thérèse Plummer) 2013 Description / Buy
4 The Forever Song 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Shadow of the Fox Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Shadow of the Fox 2018 Description / Buy
2 Soul of the Sword 2019 Description / Buy
3 Night of the Dragon 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Storm Dragons Saga Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Lightningborn 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Talon Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Talon 2014 Description / Buy
2 Rogue 2015 Description / Buy
3 Soldier 2016 Description / Buy
4 Legion 2017 Description / Buy
5 Inferno 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Society of Explorers and Adventurers Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Shinji Takahashi and the Mark of the Coatl 2022 Description / Buy
2 Shinji Takahashi: Into the Heart of the Storm 2023 Description / Buy

Order of The Iron Fey Manga Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Iron King #1 (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy

Julie Kagawa Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 When the Hero Comes Home 2011 Description / Buy
2 'Til The World Ends 2013 Description / Buy
3 Grim 2014 Description / Buy
4 The Complete Guide to Writing for Young Adults, Volume 1 2014 Description / Buy
5 A Thousand Beginnings and Endings 2018 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Her teachers did not appreciate her passion for books because the hobby was a distraction. She would often hide novels in her textbooks so that she could stealthily read them during class.

Eventually, her love for reading sparked an interest in writing. Back then, her stories were so much darker. She would also pair them with colorful illustrations of gruesome scenes. But she did this to shock her teachers. As she matured, Kagawa started toning down the gory nature of her stories.

Once she graduated, the author landed positions at various bookstores. She wasn’t particularly passionate about the jobs. She was doing whatever she could to pay rent.

However, like her teachers, Kagawa’s employers took offense to the fact that she was spending more time reading the books in the stores than she was shelving them.

She was forced to find work elsewhere. Because she was fascinated with animals, Kagawa started training dogs. She did this for several years. But once she sold her first book, she moved on.
The author is best known for The Iron Fey and Blood of Eden series. The Iron Fey books follow a girl that is drawn into the world of the fey when her brother is taken.

For the author, the decision to write YA novels came naturally. Even as an adult, most of the books she reads are YA. Even though the genre targets teenagers, many of the people that attend Kagawa’s events are adults. She once received a message from a 65-year-old woman that couldn’t get enough of her books.

As far as the author is concerned, the YA genre appeals to a wide variety of readers because it is very sophisticated. When she wrote her first book, the YA category was not as prominent as it eventually became.

In fact, Kagawa had no idea that she was writing YA until her literary agent told her. The genre did not really matter to the author. Though, she was fortunate that she wrote her first Iron Fey novel at a time when Harlequin was looking for YA novels.

While she was quite excited to explore faeries with The Iron Fey books, Kagawa was initially hesitant to write the ‘Blood of Eden’ stories. She had no interest in experimenting with vampires because the success of Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight had led to a glut of vampire stories in the publishing arena.

The author did not want to contribute to that particular sub-genre of YA. However, when she told her agent about an idea she had for a story set in a post-apocalyptic world, the agent in question encouraged her to experiment with vampires.

Kagawa was opposed to the concept. But then she gave it some thought and realized that vampires would make an interesting addition to her post-apocalyptic setting.

Julie Kagawa Awards

Kagawa has been nominated for a Rita Award.

Best Julie Kagawa Books

The author treats her career like any other job. She writes from 9 in the morning to 5 in the evening. She has encouraged her readers to reach out to her on Twitter. Kagawa’s best books include:

The Iron King: Meghan Chase’s father disappeared when she was six. Things haven’t felt right since then. Now, Meghan knows that someone is watching her. She has also noticed the change in her best friend’s behavior.

She understands that something is going on, something she can’t quite grasp. She has no idea that her life is about to change. Once she learns of her heritage as the daughter of a faery king, things will never be the same.

The Iron Daughter: Half summer faery and half-human, Meghan’s life is unraveling. Abandoned by the winter prince, she has been imprisoned by the Winter faery queen. With her powers cut off, she is helpless.

She can’t do anything to stop the looming war that could destroy both Summer and Winter. No matter what she says, no one will listen to her. They refuse to believe in the threat of the Iron Fey.

When Does The Next Julie Kagawa book come out?

Julie Kagawa doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Lightningborn and was released on April, 2nd 2024. It is the newest book in the Storm Dragons Saga Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *