Julie Klassen Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Julie Klassen is an American author that writes Regency Romance. Klassen attended the University of Illinois. She worked in publishing as an editor for 16 years.

Get notified when Julie Klassen releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Tales from Ivy Hill Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Innkeeper of Ivy Hill 2016 Description / Buy
2 The Ladies of Ivy Cottage 2017 Description / Buy
3 The Bride of Ivy Green 2018 Description / Buy
4 An Ivy Hill Christmas 2020 Description / Buy

Order of On Devonshire Shores Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Sisters of Sea View 2022 Description / Buy
2 A Winter by the Sea 2023 Description / Buy
3 The Seaside Homecoming 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Julie Klassen Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Lady of Milkweed Manor 2007 Description / Buy
2 The Apothecary's Daughter 2009 Description / Buy
3 The Silent Governess 2010 Description / Buy
4 The Girl in the Gatehouse 2010 Description / Buy
5 The Maid of Fairbourne Hall 2012 Description / Buy
6 The Tutor's Daughter 2013 Description / Buy
7 The Dancing Master 2013 Description / Buy
8 The Secret of Pembrooke Park 2014 Description / Buy
9 Lady Maybe 2015 Description / Buy
10 The Painter's Daughter 2015 Description / Buy
11 The Bridge to Belle Island 2019 Description / Buy
12 A Castaway in Cornwall 2020 Description / Buy
13 Shadows of Swanford Abbey 2021 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The field was immensely helpful to Klassen’s career as a writer. She learned a lot from her fellow editors and other authors. She saw the mistakes that amateurs made, the steps they took to fix them, and the mindsets that drove them to succeed.

Klassen submitted her first manuscript under a pen name. She did not want her colleagues to realize that the book came from her. Klassen was afraid that they wouldn’t assess the manuscript fairly. She had no interest in landing a publishing deal simply because her fellow editors had chosen to overlook her mistakes.

Additionally, she was too embarrassed to face her workmates if they decided that they hated her first novel. Fortunately, most of the feedback was positive. The publishing house accepted the author’s submission, giving Klassen the boost she needed to succeed as a writer.

The author visited England while she waited for her book to come out. She wanted to investigate some of the information she had included in the manuscript. Her objective was to resolve any errors in her story before the novel was published.

But instead, she had several encounters that inspired additional books. Traveling is not something Klassen does whenever she needs to research a new story. She relies on maps, newspapers, journals, and even period dramas on BBC.

As a member of the Jane Austen Society, she has also taken classes on historical subjects. The author is obsessed with everything related to Jane Eyre and Jane Austen.

Seeing Colin Firth in ‘Pride and Prejudice’ sparked her interest in Austen’s work. Eventually, she developed a love for the Regency era that hasn’t been surpassed. She loves the culture, traditions, tailcoats, tall boots, gloved hands, mandatory church services, and more.

She thanks God for giving her the opportunity to tell stories within the same era. Klassen does most of her work in the morning. She answers emails and checks social media before turning her attention to whatever writing, editing, and interview-related goals she has to accomplish that day.

She works until her children return home from school. Because of all the hours she spends on her computer, Klassen looks for opportunities to walk outside every single day. Where necessary, she will also walk on the treadmill.
Walking inspires the author. It allows her to overcome writer’s block. It also enables Klassen to unplug from the internet.

Julie Klassen Awards

Klassen has won Christy, Christian Retailing’s BEST, Minnesota, and Midwest Book Awards.

Best Julie Klassen Books

The author has a husband and two sons. Klassen’s best books include:

The Apothecary’s Daughter: Lilly was tired. She was competent, an asset to her father’s apothecary shop, more than capable of preparing the various herbs and remedies. But Lilly was not content.

She wanted to travel, to explore the world, to immerse herself in the joys of adventure and romance. More importantly, she wanted to investigate her mother’s disappearance.

The villagers would often whisper about the matter, but Lilly’s father had no interest in discussing the issue. Fortunately, a relative was more than happy to host Lily during her stay in London.

But life in London was not quite as pleasant as she hoped. Society’s demands and expectations were more than Lily could juggle. Even worse, with few clues at her disposal, what chance did she have of finding her mother?

The Silent Governess: Lord Bradley was in dire straits. He had a terrible secret, one that had just come to his attention. Initially, Bradley thought that the figure on the grounds was a spy. But then he realized that the woman was injured. Unaware of what she had seen or heard, he offered her a place among his staff in the hopes of keeping her confined to his estate.

Bradley did not realize that Olivia had more pressing matters than his secret. Olivia left home under difficult circumstances. She thought she had committed a crime. When she stumbled into the grand estate during an elaborate celebration, she did not expect Bradley to change her life.

Now, Olivia and Bradley are waiting for the day their secrets will find them.

When Does The Next Julie Klassen book come out?

The next book by Julie Klassen is The Seaside Homecoming and will be released on December, 3rd 2024. It is the newest book in the On Devonshire Shores Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *