Jussi Adler-Olsen Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Hailing from Copenhagen, Denmark Jussi Adler-Olsen (Carl Valdemar Jussi Henry Adler-Olsen) is a prolific writer and publisher. Born in 1950 Jussi Adler-Olsen began his journey as a non-fiction writer in 1984 and as a fiction writer in 1997. Before his novel work, Jussi worked for reputable organizations such as Disney.

Some of his most popular works include “The purity of Vengeance” and “The keeper of lost causes”. His works are primarily based on the criminal investigation as well as mystery and thrillers. His work has gained him positive and critical acclaim throughout the years. He’s been the proud receiver of a multitude of awards and nominations.

Jussi Adler-Olsen’s first fiction work came out in 1997 known as The Alphabet House; 6 years later in 2003 he released “Og Hun Takeda Gudrun”. He then went to write one his bestselling books which he completed in 2007 known as the “The Keeper of Lost Causes” – shortly after that in 2008 he completed Disgrace. The year after that in 2009 he finished writing “A Conspiracy of Faith” and a year later in 2010 he released “The Purity of Vengeance”. After another two years, he completed two books “The Marco Effect” and “Varachtung: Thriller”. After another two years, he released his most recent book titled “The Hanging Girl” in 2014. An amazing thing to note about Jussi Adler-Olsen is how quickly he releases his titles and how they don’t lose any quality at all.

Get notified when Jussi Adler-Olsen releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Department Q Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Keeper of Lost Causes / Mercy 2011 Description / Buy
2 The Absent One / Disgrace 2012 Description / Buy
3 A Conspiracy of Faith / Redemption / Flaskepost fra P 2013 Description / Buy
4 The Purity of Vengeance / Guilt / Journal 64 2013 Description / Buy
5 The Marco Effect / Buried / Marco Effekten 2013 Description / Buy
6 The Hanging Girl 2014 Description / Buy
7 The Scarred Woman 2016 Description / Buy
8 Victim 2117 2020 Description / Buy
9 The Shadow Murders 2021 Description / Buy
10 Locked In 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Jussi Adler-Olsen Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Alphabet House 1997 Description / Buy
2 Takeover 2002 Description / Buy
3 The Washington Decree 2018 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF


The chronological order of all of Jussi Adler-Olsen’s books is the same as the publication order.

Jussi Adler-Olsen’s AWARDS:

Thanks to his prolific and extensive career Jussi Adler-Olsen is the pride owner of a substantial amount of awards. His first award came in 2010 which was known as the Harald Mogensensen prize which was awarded to him by the Danish Academy for Best Danish Crime fiction. He received a multitude of awards in 2010 – the Glass Key Award; awarded by the Scandinavian Crime Society, De best thriller van Het Jaar 2010 for Vrouw in de Kooi, Læsernes Bogpris, which was awarded by a prestigious Danish newspaper which encompasses all forms of writing, not any specific genre.

In 2011 he won another one award: De Gyldne Laurbær placed third in another book awarding and was nominated for Buchliebling 2011 in Austria.

In 2012 he won another six awards such as The Barry Award for best novel of 2012 for “the keeper of lost causes”, The Sealed Room Award in Japan for “the keeper of lost causes”.
From 2013 to 2016 he went on to attain another 15 nominations and awards – he’s one the Barry Award for Best novel consistently only missing out on it in 2013.

Jussi Adler-Olsen’ BOOKS INTO MOVIES:

The Keeper of Lost Causes was transformed into a movie. The film was named Zentropa and came out in 2012, it was a top box office hit in Denmark for 2013. A sequel was also made based off “The Absent One” in 2014.

BEST Jussi Adler-Olsen BOOKS:

Jussi Adler-Olsen’s works were widely acclaimed as brilliant and engaging. Three of his best works include The Keeper of Lost Causes, The Hanging Girl, and The Purity of Vengeance!

The Keeper of Lost Causes: The Keeper of Lost Causes throws you into a world criminal mystery, emotion, self-blame and drama. The book is focused around a character named Carl who blames himself for the death of two fellow officers because he was unable to protect them. He was accepted Copenhagen’s best homicide detective and now he was the only person left in his unit. He meticulously calls the cases in his unit his companions and focuses on one specific one that is shrouded in mystery. The lack of any concrete information is what drew him to the case and he’d embark on his journey to solve it!

The Hanging Girl: Another book is written by Carl as the detective everyone aspired to be – Jussi Adler-Olsen brought out great emotion into this story. A girl only seventeen years of age was found hanging from a tree shortly after she was reported missing from her school. The investigation of this murder will take Carl to places where one wouldn’t imagine to search.

The Purity of Vengeance: The fourth installment of the Department Q series – The Purity of Vengeance has Carl tackling yet another crime. This novel proved to be a hurricane ride for Carl as he was busy tackling a missing woman case from the 80’s, thwarting accusations of the death of his comrade, and being accused of his own uncles drowning. The amazing aspect of this novel is how it intertwines elements of novels from the 50’s and 80’s in a way that is shockingly unique!

When Does The Next Jussi Adler-Olsen book come out?

The next book by Jussi Adler-Olsen is Locked In and will be released on December, 3rd 2024. It is the newest book in the Department Q Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *