Karen MacInerney Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Karen MacInerney is bestselling American author of mystery and thriller novels. She writes three book series one paranormal series with a high streak of humor featuring an accountant attempting to live life ignoring the werewolf traits she inherited from her father.

Get notified when Karen MacInerney releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Gray Whale Inn Mystery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Murder on the Rocks 2006 Description / Buy
2 Dead and Berried 2007 Description / Buy
3 Murder Most Maine 2008 Description / Buy
4 Berried to the Hilt 2010 Description / Buy
5 Brush with Death 2013 Description / Buy
6 Death Runs Adrift 2014 Description / Buy
7 Whale of a Crime 2017 Description / Buy
8 Claws for Alarm 2018 Description / Buy
9 Scone Cold Dead 2019 Description / Buy
10 Anchored Inn 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Gray Whale Inn Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Blueberry Blues (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
2 Pumpkin Pied (Short Story) 2015 Description / Buy
3 Iced Inn (Short Story) 2018 Description / Buy
4 Lupine Lies 2020 Description / Buy
5 Basket Case (Short Story) 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Gray Whale Inn Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 Four Seasons at the Gray Whale Inn 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Kitzi Camden Mystery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Bead on Trouble ( By: Barbara Burnett Smith) 2005 Description / Buy
2 Bead on Trouble ( By: Barbara Burnett Smith) 2005 Description / Buy
3 Beads of Doubt 2007 Description / Buy

Order of Snug Harbor Mysteries Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Killer Ending 2020 Description / Buy
2 Inked Out 2021 Description / Buy
3 The Lies that Bind 2022 Description / Buy
4 Fatal Fiction 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Tales of an Urban Werewolf Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Howling at the Moon 2008 Description / Buy
2 On the Prowl 2008 Description / Buy
3 Leader of the Pack 2009 Description / Buy

Order of The Margie Peterson Mysteries Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Mother's Day Out 2012 Description / Buy
2 Mother Knows Best 2016 Description / Buy
3 Mother's Little Helper 2017 Description / Buy

Order of Dewberry Farm Mystery Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Killer Jam 2015 Description / Buy
2 Fatal Frost 2016 Description / Buy
3 Deadly Brew 2017 Description / Buy
4 Mistletoe Murder 2017 Description / Buy
5 Dyeing Season 2019 Description / Buy
6 Wicked Harvest 2019 Description / Buy
7 Sweet Revenge 2020 Description / Buy
8 Slay Bells Ring (Short Story) 2020 Description / Buy
9 Peach Clobber 2022 Description / Buy
10 Fowl Play 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Karen MacInerney Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Gray Whale Inn Kitchen (Short Story) 2016 Description / Buy
2 Lucy's Farmhouse Kitchen 2019 Description / Buy

Karen MacInerney Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Mammoth Book of Vampire Romance 2: Love Bites 2009 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Another mystery book series about bed and breakfast located off the Maine’s coast and the last one about a suburban mom who decides to become a private amateur sleuth. MacInerney is a graduate of Rice University and Plano Senior High School currently living in Austin Texas with her family- husband and two children.

Karen became a published author in 2006 when Murder on the Rocks, the first book in Gray Whale Inn series was published. Since then, she has published other two novel series, Margie Peterson series and Tales of Urban Werewolf series. In 2007, Karen published a standalone novel titled, Beads of Doubt, in collaboration with Barbara Burnett Smith.


These are two best books by Karen MacInerney, Killer Jam and Mother’s Day Out.

Killer Jam: The first book in Dewberry Farm series by Karen MacInerney. The novel introduces the readers to Lucy, has just cashed in her retirement benefits and bought her grandmother’s old farm in Buttercup, Texas. She wants to make a go of it, and she is busy making jams and trying to contain her wandering cow. However, she runs into problems when a truck shows up in her new property to look for oil. She discovers that when she acquired the farm, the previous owner, Nettie retained the mineral rights and there is not much that she can do in order to stop her from looking for oil.

Two days later, Nettie is found dead at the Founder’s Day Festival with a bratwurst skewer through her hear, and one of Lucy’s jams besides her and the local town sheriff points fingers to Lucy as the main suspect. Frightened, Lucy starts to converse with Nettie’s neighbors but the more she gets to know the local townspeople, the more she discovers that she is not the only one who had grudge with Nettie. Will she be able to clear her name or will her dream life become a nightmare in such a short span?

The first book in the series is a brilliant read. Lucy is such a wonderful heroine- she is in her late 30’s gave up her city life to buy her grandmother’s farm. She is doing the whole homesteading thing now, selling egg and milk, planting crops, creating jam from berries she harvests from her property. Lucy is considered the main suspect in this murder mystery because she had an issue with Nettie because Nettie had retained the mineral right and had decided to drill for oil on Lucy’s property.

Other beautiful aspects of this book are the town’s people; they are charming and believable. The murder victim is the type of person, who had got everyone hating her. The main story weaves in a variety of situations that occur in real life. For example, the Café owner Quinn has an abusive ex-husband, the kind of man who will not take no for an answer and several homesteaders and farmers suffer true tragedies with loss of animals and continuous equipment failure.

Mother’s Day Out: For Margie Peterson, a house wife, life is pretty easy, she has got a prominent husband working as an attorney who is always busy working, and a caring mother in law who relentlessly keeps on giving her novels to read. Suddenly, Margie lands a job at a local Private Investigation firm, and soon her life is turned upside down.

By the ends of her first day at work, she has totaled her minivan, accidentally participated in a drag queen contest and submitted a picture of a naked man to the school newspaper. When she finds a dead man in a gay bar, she decides it be time for her to investigate, and finds out that the last call that the dead man made was to her own house. Determined to find the truth about her husband, who she later discovers that has lied to her about knowing the executive of a shipping company, Maggie sets out to discover the truth in what becomes a more dramatic case than she ever anticipated.

When Does The Next Karen MacInerney book come out?

The next book by Karen MacInerney is Fatal Fiction and will be released on June, 30th 2024. It is the newest book in the Snug Harbor Mysteries Series.


1 thought on “Karen MacInerney”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *