Kathleen Bridge Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Author Kathleen Bridge was born in the city of El Paso, Texas, and had a sharp interest in written words when she was quite young. She took in a lot of the local area of where she grew up, which she put back into her writing. It helped to hone her writing style and her voice. During her college years, she worked at the news section of her school, located in East Lansing. After graduating from Michigan State University, she started writing in the state of Michigan. She incorporates her love of antiques, which is something that she has worked with in her past.

Get notified when Kathleen Bridge releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of By the Sea Mysteries Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Death by the Sea 2018 Description / Buy
2 A Killing by the Sea 2018 Description / Buy
3 Murder by the Sea 2019 Description / Buy
4 Evil by the Sea 2020 Description / Buy
5 Buried by the Sea 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Hamptons Home & Garden Mysteries Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Better Homes and Corpses 2015 Description / Buy
2 Hearse and Gardens 2016 Description / Buy
3 Ghostal Living 2017 Description / Buy
4 Manor of Dying 2019 Description / Buy
5 A Design to Die For 2020 Description / Buy
6 A Fatal Feast 2021 Description / Buy
7 The Perfect Staging for Murder 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Her life and career are closely intertwined. She has worked on the By The Sea books which hits close to home for her as she lives in Melbourne, Florida on a barrier island. She also works as an antiques and vintage dealer which helps fill in the world of her cozy mystery series. Her books are often praised for their articulate descriptions of the antiques within her novels that really bring you into the world and create a desire to put down the book and go antiquing.

In addition to writing, she also does some photography. She wrote and did the photography for an antiques reference guide called Lithographed Paper Toys, Books, and Games. She is a member of the Sisters in Crime and Mystery Writers of America and also teaches creative writing in her free time.

Her debut novel was published in the year 2015 when “Better Homes and Corpses” was published. It is the first book in her “Hamptons Home & Garden” series. Her work is from the genre of cozy mystery and suspense and has touches of romance. The “Hamptons” series of books has established her as a top writer in the mystery genre.

Her latest is the By The Sea series which takes place on a barrier island where the sand meets the sea. Sound familiar? The series is set in Melbourne, Florida (sound familiar?) and takes place at The Indialantic by the Sea hotel where guests don’t just come for a visit, they stay for much longer. It’s more of a family than most hotels as it’s filled with loving relatives and eccentric clientele.

Kathleen is very active on social media with a facebook page and a twitter that she keeps updated and interacts with fans.


For those readers looking to get into novels written by Kathleen Bridge, this section will help with that. It will go over the novels “Better Homes and Corpses”, “Hearse and Gardens”, and “Ghostal Living”.

Better Homes and Corpses: This is the first novel in the “Hamptons Home & Garden” series and was released in the year 2015. When not browsing estate sales to further her interior design business (called Cottages by the Sea), Meg goes to visit Jillian Spenser. She lives in a swanky home, located in the East Hampton, and is Meg’s roommate from college. She does not see how the other half lives, though, but does see how they die though. Jillian’s mother (who was also known as being the Queen Mother of the Hamptons) has just been killed. There is a coup under way.

She assists one of her friends when they inventory the estate of the Spensers to give their insurance company. It puts Meg right into the middle of things. Making a list of all the antiques and art loses any luster when Meg finds out that the Spensers have been hanging on to some secrets. These things they were hiding may have given the killer a motive. Meg is close to finding the killer, and this murderer is ready to do anything to take her out of the picture.

Hearse and Gardens: This is the second novel in the “Hamptons Home & Garden” series and was released in the year 2016. Meg hopes to take her mind off of the legal battle that she is wrapped up in over the oceanfront cottage she wants to buy. To do so, she agrees to assist a friend clear out and inventory the furniture of a massive estate belonging to Harrison Falks, an art broker who is wealthy.

There is a skeleton in one of the hidden rooms located in a bungalow. Meg finds the skeleton, making the whole thing take a terrifying turn. It ends up being the remains of Harrison’s own son, who vanished just about twenty years ago. One of Harrison’s paintings, which was done by Warhol, went missing too.

Meg digs into the pop art past of the Hamptons, and gets pulled into some rather sketchy events, not to mention drama while at the estate. She makes herself a potential target of the killer when she makes it clear that she wants to solve the case, no matter what.

Ghostal Living: This is the third novel in the “Hamptons Home & Garden” series and was released in the year 2017. The inaugural ephemera and antique book fair in Sag Harbor is coming up, and Meg Barrett (an interior designer) currently has a lot on her plate as she decorates the rooms of Bibliophile Bed & Breakfast.

It is for Franklin Hollingsworth, who is a wealthy collector of rare books. There is a rumor out there that he has an unpublished manuscript by famous author F. Scott Fitzgerald. Meg believes there is a killer on the loose after the person that was supposed to authenticate the manuscript is found dead at the foot of a cliff.

Rare books quickly go missing from the bed and breakfast and Meg makes a connection between both the dead authenticator and the books that get stolen. As the fair gets closer, she is trying to catch a thief and killer all before another dead body turns up.

When Does The Next Kathleen Bridge book come out?

Kathleen Bridge doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Perfect Staging for Murder and was released on March, 28th 2023. It is the newest book in the Hamptons Home & Garden Mysteries Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *