Kathy Herman Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Kathy Herman is a Christian author that writes inspirational suspense novels. Kathy was always interested in writing. She excelled at every essay test she came across. But the notion of writing a book never occurred to her.

Get notified when Kathy Herman releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Baxter Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Tested by Fire 2001 Description / Buy
2 The Day of Reckoning 2002 Description / Buy
3 Vital Signs 2002 Description / Buy
4 High Stakes 2003 Description / Buy
5 A Fine Line 2003 Description / Buy

Order of Seaport Suspense Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Shred of Evidence 2005 Description / Buy
2 Eye of the Beholder 2005 Description / Buy
3 All Things Hidden 2006 Description / Buy
4 Not By Chance 2006 Description / Buy

Order of Phantom Hollow Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Ever Present Danger 2007 Description / Buy
2 Never Look Back 2007 Description / Buy
3 The Grand Scheme 2008 Description / Buy

Order of Sophie Trace Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Real Enemy 2009 Description / Buy
2 The Last Word 2009 Description / Buy
3 The Right Call 2010 Description / Buy

Order of Secrets of Roux River Bayou Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 False Pretenses 2011 Description / Buy
2 Dangerous Mercy 2011 Description / Buy
3 Relentless Pursuit 2012 Description / Buy

Order of Ozark Mountain Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Not by Sight 2013 Description / Buy
2 Only by Death 2018 Description / Buy
3 A Treacherous Mix 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Kathy Herman Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Poor Mrs. Rigsby 2004 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

If she ever wrote fiction, it would be a children’s book, or so she assumed. Kathy ignored her publishing dreams until she turned fifty and joint problems forced her to retire from the family retail store.

Now that she had some free time on her hands, the author decided to write the children’s book she had fantasized about for so many years. Kathy was lucky. She had spent the last eleven years selling children’s books.

She had an intimate understanding of the field. At no point did Kathy doubt her ability to pen the children’s book. But then she sat down to write and quickly realized that she had overestimated her abilities.

Her laptop screen remained blank for the next two weeks. Kathy was at a loss. Her imagination had betrayed her, and she succumbed to depression. Fortunately, she had a caring husband who pushed her to abandon the children’s book.

He told her to write anything else that came to mind. Kathy did just that. She wrote a random scene where a detective sat on a park bench and watched the lake, waiting for something to surface.

The scene excited Kathy because of the mystery it introduced. She couldn’t figure out what the man was waiting to see. That excitement drove the author to write the prologue of her first novel (Tested by Fire).

But Kathy did not stop there. She kept writing until ‘Test by Fire’ was finished. The staff at her husband’s bookstore loved the manuscript, but the author wasn’t convinced. Her husband’s employees liked her. They were her friends. Could she trust their opinion?

To overcome her doubt and to prove that ‘Tested by Fire’ wasn’t a fluke, the author wrote a second novel. Her husband’s employees had the same reaction. They loved it. So, Kathy wrote a third book.

By that stage in her burgeoning career, neither the author nor her husband could ignore her gift. After writing three novels in eight months, she clearly had what it took to pursue a publishing career.

Paul, Kathy’s husband, took the lead. He left a message on the voice mail of Multnomah Publishers’ president. To their surprise, Don Jacobson, the president, called back and scheduled an interview between the couple and his publishing board.

By the time Kathy landed her first contract, she was filled to the brim with ideas for new novels. She couldn’t wait to write stories that would challenge and inspire her readers.

Kathy Herman Awards

Kathy is a recipient of the Silver Poet Award (World of Poetry).

Best Kathy Herman Books

Initially, the author did most of her writing during the day in the nook of her kitchen. However, when her husband died, she moved to a Christian retirement community. Now, she works at night and sleeps in the early morning. Kathy’s best books include:

False Pretenses: Zoe was happy. She had a great husband and a thriving business. People would drive from Lafayette to eat at brasserie Zoe B’s. Her life in Louisiana couldn’t have been better.

But everything she had built was about to go up in flames. Someone was sending her anonymous letters that robbed Zoe of her peace. She couldn’t ignore them because Zoe had a terrible secret.

If it ever came to light, she would lose everything, not just her business but her marriage.

The Real Enemy: The town of Sophie Trace is reeling. Seven people vanished, and Brill Jessup has little in the way of tangible clues. Her community is quick to blame so-called Red Shadows, the spirits of ancient Cherokees that colonialists ejected from the land.

Jessup is not convinced. The enemy is human, a flesh and blood individual perpetrating the abductions for reasons Jessup cannot fathom. As the department’s first female chief, she’s determined to catch them.

But Jessup’s personal life is in turmoil. She moved to the small town with her husband to save their marriage. She hoped that a fresh start would make her husband’s infidelity less painful. But Jessup still has a ways to go before she can forgive her husband.

When Does The Next Kathy Herman book come out?

Kathy Herman doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is A Treacherous Mix and was released on August, 1st 2018. It is the newest book in the Ozark Mountain Trilogy Series.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *