Ken Follett Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Author Ken Follett is Welsh and writes both historical novels and thrillers. His work has sold over a hundred and fifty million copies; many have reached number one on New York Times Bestseller list. Some of his time is spent working to promote writing and literacy. He is the oldest of four children and his parents barred him from watching television or movies, which made him interested in reading from a very early age. His mother also told him stories, which allowed him to create worlds of his own. He would graduate with honours in philosophy from University College in London, and would later become a fellow at the University decades later. He first started out, working as a reporter in his home town, at the local newspaper. Later on, he would work at a publishing house, and he would move up to deputy managing director. He started writing fiction because he said that a car he owned needed to be fixed and he heard of someone being advanced the amount he needed. He married a woman named Mary in 1968, and that same year, their son was born. In 1973, they would have a daughter, and would have five kids and six grandkids. They also have three dogs. When he is not writing or working for various causes, he plays bass guitar in a blues band as well as a folk band.

Get notified when Ken Follett releases a new book at

Order of Apples Carstairs Series as Simon Myles

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Big Black 1974 Description / Buy
2 The Big Needle 1975 Description / Buy
3 The Big Hit 1975 Description / Buy

Order of Piers Roper Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Shakeout 1975 Description / Buy
2 The Bear Raid 1982 Description / Buy

Order of Kingsbridge Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Pillars of the Earth 1989 Description / Buy
2 World Without End 2007 Description / Buy
3 A Column of Fire 2017 Description / Buy
4 The Evening and the Morning 2020 Description / Buy
5 The Armor of Light 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Century Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Fall of Giants 2010 Description / Buy
2 Winter of the World 2012 Description / Buy
3 Edge of Eternity 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Ken Follett Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Amok (As: Bernard L. Ross) 1976 Description / Buy
2 The Modigliani Scandal 1976 Description / Buy
3 The Mystery Hideout 1976 Description / Buy
4 The Power Twins 1976 Description / Buy
5 Paper Money 1977 Description / Buy
6 Capricorn One (As: Bernard L. Ross) 1978 Description / Buy
7 Eye of the Needle / Storm Island 1978 Description / Buy
8 Triple 1979 Description / Buy
9 The Key to Rebecca 1980 Description / Buy
10 The Man from St. Petersburg 1982 Description / Buy
11 Lie Down with Lions 1986 Description / Buy
12 Night Over Water 1991 Description / Buy
13 A Dangerous Fortune 1993 Description / Buy
14 A Place Called Freedom 1995 Description / Buy
15 The Third Twin 1996 Description / Buy
16 The Hammer of Eden 1998 Description / Buy
17 Code to Zero 2000 Description / Buy
18 Jackdaws 2001 Description / Buy
19 Hornet Flight 2002 Description / Buy
20 Whiteout 2004 Description / Buy
21 Never 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Ken Follett Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Heist of the Century / Under the Streets of Nice / The Gentleman of 16 July ( With: Rene L. Maurice) 1978 Description / Buy
2 On Wings of Eagles 1984 Description / Buy
3 Bad Faith (Short Story) 2017 Description / Buy
4 Notre-Dame (Short Story) 2019 Description / Buy

Ken Follett Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Murder On The Railways 2003 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

He has written the “Apples Carstairs” series, “Kingsbridge” series, “Century” Trilogy, and some stand alone novels. “Pillars of the Earth”, that comes from the “Kingbridge” series, is probably his biggest work to date. He has put together a lecture on how suspense is supposed to work as well. His books are available in over thirty languages and available in eighty countries around the world.


“Jackdaws” won the Corine Literature Prize in Bavaria in the year 2003. In 2010, he won Libri Golden Book Award for Best Fiction in Hungary for “Fall of Giants”. “Eye of the Needle” won an Edgar Award for Best Novel in 1979. He was made a Grand Master of the Edgar Awards in 2013. Follett won Que Leer Prize for the best translated book in Spain for “Winter of the World”. In 2010, he was made a Grand Master at Thrillerfest V in New York.


The novel “Eye of the Needle” was made into a pretty big film that starred Donald Sutherland. Follett’s work has also been adapted into some mini-series, this includes six of his novels, that are: “Pillars of the Earth”, “On Wings of Eagles”, “World Without End”, “Lie Down With Lions”, “The Third Twin”, and “The Key to Rebecca”.


This next section will talk about some books by Ken Follett, for those looking to get into his work. It will talk about the novels “Pillars of the Earth”, “The Big Needle”, and “Fall of Giants”.

Pillars of Earth: The first novel in the “Kingsbridge” series that was released in 1989. Set in feudal England during the twelfth century, this novel is about the building of a cathedral. He is able to re-create the atmosphere of the Middle Ages, and a country that has been ravaged by war in great detail. There is Aliena, a noble woman; Tom, builder; Philip, prior of Kingsbridge; Jack, stone artist; and Ellen, who casts a curse. These unschooled masons are able to build the cathedral.

The Big Needle: The first book in the “Apples Carstairs” series that was released in 1974 and was released under the name Simon Myles. Success comes easy for Chad Carstairs, but then evil ruins that and it sends him into the nasty parts (clubs that are full of sleaze, a farmhouse in the middle of nowhere in Wales, and drug ridden neighborhoods) of the world. He is driven by getting revenge. Carstairs risks it all (fortune, life, and future) to get back at a deadly organization, so that he can beat them at their own game and to show the people behind The Big Needle.

Fall of Giants: The first novel in the “Century Trilogy” that was released in 2010. Set in 1911 on Coronation Day of King George V. The Fitzherberts (wealthy coal-miners) are linked to the Williams family (coal mining family); this link is by enmity and by romance. Lady Maud Fitzherbert falls for Walter von Ulrich (a spy at the German Embassy located in London). A young aide to Woodrow Wilson entangles the destiny of the two; so does two orphaned Russians. These Russians plans to come to America does not go well.

When Does The Next Ken Follett book come out?

Ken Follett doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Armor of Light and was released on September, 26th 2023. It is the newest book in the Kingsbridge Series.

1 thought on “Ken Follett”

  1. Great compilation of the most excellent writer ( Ken Follett). His Stories and factual Details are Far beyond the ability of the average Author. His Books are gripping – it is difficult when reading – to put them down !!

    Pleaae let meknow when ‘Never’ is published – Many Thanks – DMS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *