Kim Stanley Robinson Books

Author Kim Stanley Robinson’s work has been labeled as literary science fiction. In the mid seventies, he got a B.A. In literature from the University of California-San Diego and the year after, earned an M.A. In English from Boston University. He also has a PhD in English, for which he wrote his doctoral thesis on the novels of Philip K. Dick (that later was published in hardback book form) after a professor recommended Dick’s work to him. Besides writing fiction, he has sold books and taught composition and other classes at the college level. With his wife, Lisa (who is an environmental chemist), he has two sons; the couple got married in 1982. He has lived in various places throughout his life, these places include: Washington, D.C., Switzerland, and California. Robinson says that he enjoys backpacking through the Sierras. Robinson was born in Waukegan, Illinois in late March of 1952.

Order of Kim Stanley Robinson Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Novels Of Philip K. Dick 1984 Description / Buy
2 Future Primitive 1994 Description / Buy
3 Green Planets 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Kim Stanley Robinson Short Story Collections

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Planet on the Table 1986 Description / Buy
2 Escape From Kathmandu 1989 Description / Buy
3 Remaking History 1991 Description / Buy
4 Remaking History and Other Stories 1991 Description / Buy
5 Down and Out in the Year 2000 1992 Description / Buy
6 The Best of Kim Stanley Robinson 2001 Description / Buy
7 Vinland the Dream and Other Stories 2002 Description / Buy
8 I'm With the Bears 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Kim Stanley Robinson Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Icehenge 1984 Description / Buy
2 The Memory of Whiteness 1985 Description / Buy
3 The Blind Geometer (Short Story) 1986 Description / Buy
4 A Short, Sharp Shock 1990 Description / Buy
5 Antarctica 1997 Description / Buy
6 The Years of Rice and Salt 2002 Description / Buy
7 Galileo's Dream 2009 Description / Buy
8 The Lucky Strike (Short Story) 2009 Description / Buy
9 2312 2012 Description / Buy
10 Shaman 2013 Description / Buy
11 Aurora 2015 Description / Buy
12 Oral Argument (Short Story) 2015 Description / Buy
13 Drowned Worlds 2016 Description / Buy
14 New York 2140 2017 Description / Buy
15 Red Moon 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Mars Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Red Mars 1993 Description / Buy
2 Green Mars 1994 Description / Buy
3 Blue Mars 1996 Description / Buy
4 The Martians 1999 Description / Buy

Order of Nebula Awards Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Nebula Award Stories 2 / Two (By: Brian W. Aldiss) 1966 Description / Buy
2 Nebula Award Stories 1973 Description / Buy
3 Nebula Winners Fifteen (By: Frank Herbert) 1981 Description / Buy
4 Nebula Awards Showcase 2013 (By: Catherine Asaro) 2013 Description / Buy
5 Nebula Awards Showcase 2016 2016 Description / Buy
6 Nebula Awards Showcase 2017 (By: Julie E. Czerneda) 2017 Description / Buy

Order of Science in the Capital Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Forty Signs of Rain 2004 Description / Buy
2 Fifty Degrees Below 2005 Description / Buy
3 Sixty Days and Counting 2007 Description / Buy
4 Green Earth 2015 Description / Buy

Order of Three Californias Triptych Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Wild Shore 1984 Description / Buy
2 The Gold Coast 1988 Description / Buy
3 Pacific Edge 1990 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Kim Stanley Robinson is probably best known for writing the “Mars” trilogy that he has been given awards for. He has written other novel series (“Three Californias” and “Science in the Capital”) and other stand alone novels and short stories and non fiction. Robinson explores the effects of over developing the planet and his characters often times try to preserve and make better the environment around them. His work also shows scientists as regular people doing regular things (not as action heroes), but also as the protagonists.


Kim Stanley Robinson has won many awards for his various stories and novels that he has written. He has won the Locus, John W. Campbell Award, Hugo for best novel, Nebula for Best Novel, and the World Fantasy Award. He has won each of these multiple times as well as others as well. Time has named him “Hero of the Environment” for the way he looks to future and his views.


For those of you who would like to get into Kim Stanley Robinson’s work, this section will help with that. It will talk about the novels: “Red Mars”, “Forty Signs of Rain”, and “Icehenge”.

Red Mars: The first novel in the “Mars” trilogy that was released in the year 1993. Sandstorms sweep the landscape and have for many moons. This is life on Mars for humans. Humans have been trying to make the planet more habitable. A group of one hundred, in the year 2026, are about to do just that. John, Frank, Arkady, and Maya lead a mission of terraforming. For some the planet is something they are passionate about, but others are only interested in what they can take. For others there is a chance to bring to life a biomedical miracle. Something that could change all that we know about life and death.

Forty Signs of Rain: The first novel in the “Science in the Capital” series that was released in the year 2004. The Arctic ice pack has lost half of its thickness in about fifty years. After that, it started breaking, and things start getting hotter and hotter. Charlie Quibler (who is a Senate environmental staffer) takes care of his son and has to work with the headache that is global warming. He must get people to skeptical about the whole thing to do anything about the problem to act before it is too late. That is, before the whole world is a swamp. His wife (Anna) has a more rational approach, she works at the National Science Foundation. There is a technology to solve the growing problem, but there is a fight going on to control the machinery.

Icehenge: This novel is a stand alone work and was released in the year 1984. This novel explores some of the same things that the “Mars” trilogy does, although this novel was published a decade earlier than those novels. It is broken up into three parts and cover three different time periods. Part one is an engineer’s diary who gets caught up in a political revolution in 2248 on Mars. In part two, an archaeologist finds the diary three centuries later, and someone finds an odd monument on Pluto’s north pole. In the third part, the great grandson of the archaeologist who found the diary tries to figure out whether or not the monument and the engineer’s diary were left by a wealthy recluse who lives in the orbit of Saturn.

When Does The Next Kim Stanley Robinson book come out?

Kim Stanley Robinson doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Red Moon and was released on October, 23rd 2018.