Larry McMurtry Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Larry McMurtry is an American author that writes Westerns. Born in 1936 in Archer City, Texas, Larry’s father was a rancher. A former student of the University of North Texas, the author spent several years at his grandfather’s ranch.

Order of Thalia, Texas Series

1Horseman, Pass By / Hud 1961Description / Buy
2Leaving Cheyenne 1962Description / Buy
3Thalia 2017Description / Buy

Order of Last Picture Show Series

1The Last Picture Show 1966Description / Buy
2Texasville 1987Description / Buy
3Duane's Depressed 1999Description / Buy
4When the Light Goes 2007Description / Buy
5Rhino Ranch 2009Description / Buy

Order of Houston Series

1Moving On 1970Description / Buy
2All My Friends Are Going to Be Strangers 1972Description / Buy
3Terms of Endearment 1975Description / Buy
4Somebody's Darling 1978Description / Buy
5Some Can Whistle 1989Description / Buy
6The Evening Star 1992Description / Buy

Order of Desert Rose Series

1The Desert Rose 1983Description / Buy
2The Late Child 1995Description / Buy

Order of Lonesome Dove Series

1Lonesome Dove 1985Description / Buy
2Streets of Laredo 1993Description / Buy
3Dead Man's Walk 1995Description / Buy
4Comanche Moon 1997Description / Buy

Chronological Order of Lonesome Dove Series

1Dead Man's Walk1995Description / Buy
2Comanche Moon1997Description / Buy
3Lonesome Dove1985Description / Buy
4Streets of Laredo1993Description / Buy

Order of Berrybender Narratives Series

1Sin Killer 2002Description / Buy
2The Wandering Hill 2003Description / Buy
3By Sorrow's River 2003Description / Buy
4Folly and Glory 2004Description / Buy

Order of Larry McMurtry Standalone Novels

1Cadillac Jack 1982Description / Buy
2Anything for Billy 1988Description / Buy
3Buffalo Girls 1990Description / Buy
4Pretty Boy Floyd ( With: Diana Ossana) 1994Description / Buy
5Zeke and Ned ( With: Diana Ossana) 1997Description / Buy
6Boone's Lick 2000Description / Buy
7Loop Group 2004Description / Buy
8Telegraph Days 2006Description / Buy
9The Last Kind Words Saloon 2014Description / Buy

Order of Larry McMurtry Short Story Collections

1Brokeback Mountain: Story to Screenplay ( With: Annie Proulx, Diana Ossana) 2005Description / Buy

Order of Larry McMurtry Non-Fiction Books

1In a Narrow Grave: Essays on Texas 1968Description / Buy
2Film Flam: Essays on Hollywood 1987Description / Buy
3Crazy Horse (Short Story) 1999Description / Buy
4Walter Benjamin at the Dairy Queen 1999Description / Buy
5Roads: A Millennial Journey Along America's Great Interstate Highways 2000Description / Buy
6Paradise 2001Description / Buy
7Sacagawea's Nickname: Essays on the American West 2001Description / Buy
8Oh What a Slaughter: Massacres in the American West, 1846-1890 2005Description / Buy
9The Colonel and Little Missie 2006Description / Buy
10Books: A Memoir 2008Description / Buy
11Literary Life: A Second Memoir 2009Description / Buy
12Hollywood: A Third Memoir 2010Description / Buy
13Custer 2012Description / Buy
14Missouri River 2015Description / Buy

Larry McMurtry Anthologies

1 Still Wild2000Description / Buy
2 Lone Star Literature2003Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The home had no books. However, Larry was hardly bored. His extended family was never far. At night, they would congregate and tell stories. Some years later, Robert Hilburn, a cousin that was going off to fight in WWII, left several dozen books at the house.

The author read them until they were in tatters. His education included stints at Stanford University and Rice University. He made several friends at Stanford, with some of the most prominent including Ken Kesey and Malcolm Cowley.

Besides teaching at Rice University, a position he took up in 1963, Larry also managed a series of bookstores. The author opened the first one in 1970 with the help of two partners. He eventually installed a branch in Archer City. Despite garnering a lot of attention and eventually becoming one of the country’s largest used bookstores, Larry McMurtry was initially tempted to close the Archer City Branch in the mid-2000s because he simply could not compete with the online book market.

However, the public responded to his plight so strongly that he eventually decided to keep the store open. Years later, the author was left with little choice but to downsize. His collection of books was quite significant at the time. After realizing that it would become a burden to his heirs, he auctioned it off.

Despite the prominence he gained as a bookstore owner, it is for his fiction that Larry McMurtry is known. The author began his writing journey when he joined Stanford’s Wallace Stegner writing program.

Stegner, who was already renowned for his western novels, took note of Larry’s talents, encouraging him to explore the Modern West. The author opened his bookstores because he wasn’t confident that he could make enough money as a writer.

However, that did not stop him from pursuing his love for the activity. Larry’s books stood out because he took a more realistic approach to the Old West. While his predecessors were known for approaching the setting with a romantic lens informed by myths and legends, Larry’s stories were quite brutal. He did not shy away from the harsh realities of life in the Old West. This earned him numerous admirers.

On a personal front, Larry McMurtry has been married twice. His first wife was Jo Scott. They had a son. The marriage ended in divorce. Larry eventually married Norma Faye, Ken Kessey’s widow.

Larry McMurtry Awards

Larry won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 1986. He was also nominated for a PEN/Faulkner Award.

Larry McMurtry Books into Movies

Several novels from the author’s bibliography have received movie adaptations including ‘Horseman, Pass By’, ‘Leaving Cheyenne’, ‘Terms of Endearment’, and ‘Texasville’, to mention but a few. ‘Lonesome Dove’, ‘Buffalo Girls’, ‘Streets of Laredo’, and ‘Dead Man’s Walk’ became TV miniseries.

Best Larry McMurtry Books

Larry has been commended for his ability to write female characters. Some of the author’s best novels include:

Lonesome Dove: Lonesome Dove is one of Larry McMurtry’s most popular novels. It is set in the final years of the Old West, following a number of retired Texas Rangers that must drive cattle from one state to another. The third novel in the series (chronologically) but the first one published, Lonesome Dove won Larry his Pulitzer Prize. The novel eventually became a miniseries featuring Tommy Lee Jones.

Larry was surprisingly unhappy with the success of Lonesome Dove. He wanted the novel to destroy the public’s romanticized perception of the Old West. However, he believes that the book, and its adaptations, did the opposite.

Terms of Endearment: Terms of Endearment tells the story of Aurora and her daughter Emma. Aurora is almost fifty. But she still has several suitors and she takes great pleasure in all the attention they throw at her. All that changes when Emma reveals that she is pregnant.

This is a problem for Aurora. She is about to become a grandmother and she is not convinced that her suitors will look at her the same way once they learn the news.

When Does The Next Larry McMurtry book come out?

Larry McMurtry doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Moving On and was released on October, 2nd 2018. It is the newest book in the Houston Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *