Laurell K Hamilton Books

Laurell K. Hamilton is an American author born in 1963. Hamilton, who grew up in Sims, Indiana with her grandmother, studied English and biology at Indiana Wesleyan University.

Order of Merry Gentry Series

Order of Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Series

# Read Title Published
1 Guilty Pleasures 1993
2 The Laughing Corpse 1994
3 Circus of the Damned 1995
4 The Lunatic Cafe 1996
5 Bloody Bones 1996
6 The Killing Dance 1997
7 Burnt Offerings 1998
8 Blue Moon 1998
9 Obsidian Butterfly 2000
10 Narcissus in Chains 2001
11 Cerulean Sins 2003
12 Incubus Dreams 2004
13 Micah 2006
14 Danse Macabre 2006
15 The Harlequin 2007
16 Blood Noir 2007
17 Skin Trade 2009
18 Flirt 2009
19 Bullet 2010
20 Hit List 2011
21 Beauty (Short Story) 2012
22 Kiss the Dead 2012
23 Affliction 2013
24 Dancing (Short Story) 2013
25 Jason 2014
26 Dead Ice 2015
27 Crimson Death 2016
28 Wounded (Short Story) 2016

Order of World of the Lupi Series

# Read Title Published
1 Cravings 2004

Order of Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Graphic Novels Series

# Read Title Published
1 The First Death 2007
2 Guilty Pleasures 2009
3 The Laughing Corpse 2011

Order of Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter: Circus of the Damned Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Charmer 2011
2 The Ingenue 2011
3 The Scoundrel 2012

Order of Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Collections Series

# Read Title Published
1 Strange Candy 2006

Order of Laurell K Hamilton Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 Nightshade 1992
2 Nightseer 1992
3 Death of a Darklord 1995

Order of Laurell K Hamilton Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published
1 Ardeur 2010


# Read Title Published
1 Cravings 2004
2 Bite 2004
3 Never After 2009
Print: Print PDF

It was during her time at the university, which was called Marion College at the time, that she met her husband. They were soon married and presently have one daughter. The New York Times Bestseller writes fantasy and romance. Best known for the Anita Blake: Vampire hunter series, Hamilton has written numerous novels, short stories, and even comic books.

Hamilton’s protagonists start out at the bottom of their respective series before eventually ascending and slowly gaining power as they face the legendary creatures that inhabit their realms.

Hamilton has been commended for impacting the urban fantasy genre like few other authors, inspiring the likes of Allison Moulton to change their style and approach to storytelling.

Laurell K. Hamilton Awards

Hamilton has been praised for her work by parties from almost every circle of the literary arena, and while she hasn’t won nearly as many accolades as some other authors in the fantasy genre, here efforts haven’t gone unnoticed.

She has been nominated for a Sapphire Award on a number of occasions, winning one of them (for Bloody Bones) in the process. She has also been nominated for the Locus Award, this along with the James Tiptree Jr. Memorial Award.

Along with taking home a Paranormal Excellence Award for Romantic Literature in 2000, Hamilton seems to write stories and characters that appeal to the tastes of most types of readers.

Laurell K. Hamilton Books into Movies

IFC Cable Network announced in 2009 that it would produce its first theater-length movie by adapting Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter. IFC was planning to work hand in hand with Lionsgate to produce the TV movie.

Glen Morgan was attached to the project alongside Courtney Solomon. However, Hamilton announced soon after that the project had been canceled. Since then, there has been no word about resuscitating the project.

Best Laurell K. Hamilton Books

Hamilton has succeeded as an author because her books seem to appeal to everyone, with some of the best books she has produced including the following:

Circus of the Damned: There is an undead turf war on the horizon and Anita has been dragged into it. It all begins when a rogue master vampire comes to town. Jean-Claude, the City’s Master Vampire is a little distracted, determined to make Anita his.

However, Jean-Claude’s foes have something else in mind. Anita is more worried about the possibility of Richard Zeeman, a stunningly handsome teacher being caught in the crossfire of her life’s battles.

This book, the third in the Anita Blake series, opens with a pack of vampires going on a murder spree, and Anita is caught up in their games, with some of them determined to kill her while others would love nothing better than to own her.

Anita is distracted by the presence of an incredibly handsome teacher. However, Richard isn’t all that he seems. As with previous books, Hamilton tries to reduce the relevance of the romance and the sex, instead focusing on all the danger that surrounds Anita and the fact that everyone wants to kill her.

Anita continues to be the least likely vampire hunter in town, more interested in her Nike shoes than doing her job. Hamilton places an irritating amount of focus on issues of clothing and gun descriptions.

Obsidian Butterfly: Anita Blake is back and she’s in real trouble. The ancient evil she is about to face doesn’t frighten her nearly as much as the man she owes a favor to, a man that is as dangerous as they come.

This book, the ninth in the Anita Blake series, isn’t nearly as well written as the first. Hamilton spends too much time describing sex scenes and not enough time developing the actual plot.

The interesting dynamic between Anita and one of her more engaging foes isn’t present, with Richard being reduced to something sad and unappealing. There is also an infuriating lack of danger that ruins the stakes of the book.

Laurell K. Hamilton has made it clear on a number of occasions that she absolutely loves her characters and the idea of killing them has never crossed her mind. As such, despite all the danger that comes Anita’s way, the fact that her safety and that of her friends is secured lowers the quality of this book.