Laurence Shames Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

From working as a taxi driver to serving as a shoe shiner, Laurence Shames has done all kind of odd jobs throughout his life. After trying a number of professionals, Shames was unable to distinguish himself in any of them. However, in the year 1976, Shames turned to writing and has never looked back ever since. Currently, Laurence has managed to publish a total of twenty books and hundreds of essays and magazine articles. As a critically acclaimed author, Laurence is best known for the Key West novel. Furthermore, he has also enjoyed other successes as a non-fiction writer and also as a ghostwriter and collaborator. Laurence Shames has authored a total of 4 New York Times bestsellers. All these four books have been featured on four different lists, under four different names. According to a majority of reviewers, this is indeed a record on its own.

Get notified when Laurence Shames releases a new book at

Order of Key West Mysteries Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Florida Straits 1992 Description / Buy
2 Scavenger Reef 1994 Description / Buy
3 Sunburn 1995 Description / Buy
4 Tropical Depression 1996 Description / Buy
5 Virgin Heat 1997 Description / Buy
6 Mangrove Squeeze 1998 Description / Buy
7 Welcome to Paradise 1999 Description / Buy
8 The Naked Detective 2000 Description / Buy
9 Shot on Location 2013 Description / Buy
10 Chickens (Short Story) 2014 Description / Buy
11 Tropical Swap 2014 Description / Buy
12 Key West Luck 2015 Description / Buy
13 One Strange Date 2017 Description / Buy
14 One Big Joke 2017 Description / Buy
15 Nacho Unleashed 2019 Description / Buy
16 The Paradise Gig 2020 Description / Buy
17 Key West Normal 2021 Description / Buy
18 Relative Humidity 2023 Description / Buy
19 Sunset Bluff 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Laurence Shames Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Bad Twin (As: Gary Troup) 2006 Description / Buy
2 The Angels' Share 2012 Description / Buy
3 Money Talks 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Laurence Shames Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Big Time 1986 Description / Buy
2 The Hunger for More 1989 Description / Buy
3 Not Fade Away 2003 Description / Buy
4 Living Large 2006 Description / Buy

Order of Lost Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Endangered Species ( By: Catherine Hapka) 2005 Description / Buy
2 Secret Identity (Short Story) ( By: Catherine Hapka) 2005 Description / Buy
3 Signs of Life ( By: Frank T. Thompson) 2006 Description / Buy
4 Bad Twin ( As: Gary Troup) 2006 Description / Buy

Laurence Shames Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Natural Suspect 2001 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Born in the year 1951, in Newark, New Jersey to parents who were serious chain-smokers who survived through modest means. Laurence Shames had no idea who James Roth, Queen Latifa, Paul Simon or Shaquille O’Neal were or any other cool people who originated from his hometown. In the year, 1972, Laurence graduated from the NYU and was then inducted into Phi B Eta Kappa. In the summer of 1970, while enjoying the beauty of an Italian beach, Laurence Shames

Laurence Shames Awards

Laurence Shames is yet to win any awards. Nonetheless, most his books have performed extremely well. Four of his books have been New York Times Bestsellers, while seven have been considered for a feature film.

Laurence Shames Books into Movies

Due to its immense successes and well-written storyline, Boss of Bosses was adapted years later after its release into a movie. The Boss of Bosses is a classic tale of the rise and fall of an extremely powerful organized crime boss, Paul Castellano. This movie was well received, and majorities of the critics have praised it for its unique storyline and well-developed characters. The Boss of Bosses has a rating of 6.9 out of a possible ten on IMBD.

Best Laurence Shames Books

Not Fade Away is one of the best performing books by Laurence Shames. In this book, the author introduces the reader, to Peter Burton, an individual who was not only born to lead but also destined to teach others by their example by living life to the fullest and also facing death with courage and an uncommon honesty. Driven by ideals that sparked a generation, James became a risk-taker and an over-achieving Everyman. With a surprising humor and unflinching candor, this novel finds solace and meaning in Peter Burton’s confrontation with morality. Peters story addresses the universal fears and hopes and also redefines the heroic tasks of redefining the heroic tasks of looking for clarity in the middle of pain.

The Florida Straits and Tropical depression are also some of the best performing books by Laurence Shames. All these two books are installments in the Key West book series. In the Key West book series, we are introduced to Joey Goldman who travels to the Key West, so that he can become a gangster. The first installment, Florida Straits is an exceedingly hilarious and touching book, which introduced the readers to Bert the Shirt and Don Giovanni, his Chihuahua. Both Don and Bern the Shirt are some of the most unforgettable characters in the book. Joey is the son of a renowned NY Mafioso. Joey has decided to break away from a neighborhood that made him to be what he is. Will Joey make it on his own or will his past come back to haunt him? Only time will tell.

Books Similar to Laurence Shames

If you are an ardent fan of the Key West series, then you are definitely going to love Razor Girl. Razor Girl is an excellent novel to start out a summer vacation. This book is an installment that an author can come up with one of the craziest plots and it will still come out as convincing and thoroughly entertaining. Razor Girl introduces the reader to one Merry Mansfield who is running a unique variation of a rear end collision scam where she becomes distracted while she was engaging in some extremely personal grooming. With that being said, the author has managed to paint some extreme characters some of whom remind us of the people who are currently making headlines. This story depicts the adventures of a fake redneck and reality TV star, his hapless agent and a real redneck fan. The book’s hero is a tarnished ex-cop who is exceedingly lovable despite the cop’s tainted behavior.

When Does The Next Laurence Shames book come out?

Laurence Shames doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Sunset Bluff and was released on February, 2nd 2024. It is the newest book in the Key West Mysteries Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *