Lee Hollis Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Lee Hollis is a pseudonym that Rick Coop and Holly Simason use whenever they collaborate. Though, Rick has used the pen name to write a few additional mystery series without the direct involvement of his sister.

Get notified when Lee Hollis releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Hayley Powell Food and Cocktails Mysteries Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Death of a Kitchen Diva 2012 Description / Buy
2 Death of a Country Fried Redneck 2012 Description / Buy
3 Death of a Coupon Clipper 2013 Description / Buy
4 Death of a Chocoholic 2014 Description / Buy
5 Death of a Christmas Caterer 2014 Description / Buy
6 Death of a Cupcake Queen 2015 Description / Buy
7 Death of a Bacon Heiress 2016 Description / Buy
8 Death of a Pumpkin Carver 2016 Description / Buy
9 Death of a Lobster Lover 2017 Description / Buy
10 Death of a Cookbook Author 2018 Description / Buy
11 Death of a Wedding Cake Baker 2019 Description / Buy
12 Death of a Blueberry Tart 2020 Description / Buy
13 Death of a Wicked Witch 2020 Description / Buy
14 Death of an Italian Chef 2021 Description / Buy
15 Halloween Party Murder ( With: Leslie Meier, Barbara Ross) 2021 Description / Buy
16 Death of an Ice Cream Scooper 2022 Description / Buy
17 Death by Haunted House 2022 Description / Buy
18 Death by Yule Log 2022 Description / Buy
19 Death of a Christmas Carol (Short Story) 2022 Description / Buy
20 Death of a Clam Digger 2023 Description / Buy
21 Death of a Halloween Party Monster (Short Story) 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Desert Flowers Mysteries Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Poppy Harmon Investigates 2018 Description / Buy
2 Poppy Harmon and the Hung Jury 2019 Description / Buy
3 Poppy Harmon and the Pillow Talk Killer 2021 Description / Buy
4 Poppy Harmon and the Backstabbing Bachelor 2022 Description / Buy
5 Poppy Harmon and the Shooting Star 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Maya and Sandra Mysteries Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Murder at the PTA 2019 Description / Buy
2 Murder at the Bake Sale 2021 Description / Buy
3 Murder on the Class Trip 2022 Description / Buy

Lee Hollis Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Haunted House Murder 2019 Description / Buy
2 Christmas Card Murder 2020 Description / Buy
3 Irish Coffee Murder 2023 Description / Buy
4 Christmas Mittens Murder 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Both Rick and Holly had written separately before they joined forces. Rick’s career began in television. After graduating from Tisch School of the Arts in New York, Rick was just 24 years old when he was recruited to write for The Golden Girls.

The popular sitcom did wonders for Rick’s career. It was the sort of life-changing opportunity that was rare among writers in his age bracket. Rick, who came from Bar Harbor in Maine, spent his childhood dreaming about succeeding in Hollywood.

He couldn’t believe that his dreams had come true so quickly. Following his stint on The Golden Girls, Rick contributed his talents to various shows, including ‘Flying Blind’ on Fox and ‘Wings’ on NBC.

Some of his biggest accomplishments include the work he did on ‘The Brady Bunch Movie’ TV Remake, and ‘My Girl’, a comedy-drama that featured Macauley Culkin, not to mention ‘Barbershop’ with Ice Cube and the Knight Rider revival.

The work he did in Children’s Entertainment was just as prolific. His resume includes writing credits for ‘Scooby Doo and the Witch’s Ghost’ and ‘Teen Titans’.

When he finally decided to write fiction, Rick initially worked alone. Having accomplished his objective of working in Hollywood, the screenwriter set his sights on another dream that had consumed his childhood.

In 2001, he sat down to write his first mystery novel. The book followed the exploits of Jarrod, a former child star that spent his days solving murder mysteries in Hollywood. The title was such a hit that Rick wrote two sequels one of which received a Lambda Literary Award nomination.

Rick was still churning out mystery novels when Holly, his sister, won an award. Holly was a columnist for a local newspaper in Bar Harbor. She wrote about food and cocktails. When news of Holly’s award in 2010 reached Rick, he reached out to Holly and sold her on the idea of a collaborative effort that would use his experience with mystery novels and her food expertise to produce fiction.

By 2012, the pair had released their first ‘Hayley Powell Food and Cocktails’ series under the Lee Hollis pen name. It wasn’t the last.

Best Lee Hollis Books

Lee Hollis, the pseudonym, combines Rick and Holly’s middle names. The best books written by the pair under the pen name include:

Death of a Kitchen Diva: To visitors, Bar Harbor in Maine looks like any other idyllic coastal town. However, looks can be deceiving, as Hayley Powell will soon learn. Hayley was just an office manager at the Island Times. She had a way with food.

That much was clear. Her friends couldn’t get enough of her potluck. But as far as Hayley was concerned, at the end of the day, she was just an office manager. As such, she could not understand why her boss had given her the paper’s food column.

She was tempted to turn the offer down. After all, she wasn’t a writer. But Hayley’s roof was leaking and she was barely making ends meet. So she took the job in the hopes that the extra income would turn things around.

The last complication Hayley expected to encounter was a murder mystery. But that is exactly what she got when Karen Appelbaum died. Karen was a food writer and Hayley’s rival. That wouldn’t have mattered if Karen hadn’t died after eating Hayley’s clam chowder.

Now, all eyes are on Hayley. They think she killed Karen. If she wants to salvage her reputation, the columnist must find the real killer. Fortunately, she has plenty of help.

Death of a Country Fried Redneck: Like most people, Hayley loved Wade Springer. However, when the country star came to town, their paths shouldn’t have crossed. She had too much on her plate, not just her columns but the rigors that came with raising a teenage daughter.

Hayley did not expect Wade to try and ultimately love her home cooking, and neither did she expect him to invite her to dinner. Things were going well. But then someone killed Mickey Pritchett. They threw him in Wade’s tour bus and then torched it. Hayley thought she was done solving mysteries but she can’t ignore this one.

When Does The Next Lee Hollis book come out?

The next book by Lee Hollis is Christmas Mittens Murder and will be released on October, 25th 2023.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *