Lemony Snicket Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

It might come as a surprise for some people to learn that Lemony Snicket is an author. After all, most people associate that name with Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events. And because the person of Lemony Snicket acts as the narrator of the events of those books, it is easy to see how some people might have assumed that he was merely a character in the books.

Order of Series Of Unfortunate Events Series

1The Bad Beginning 1999Description / Buy
2The Reptile Room 1999Description / Buy
3The Wide Window 2000Description / Buy
4The Miserable Mill 2000Description / Buy
5The Austere Academy 2000Description / Buy
6The Ersatz Elevator 2001Description / Buy
7The Vile Village 2001Description / Buy
8The Hostile Hospital 2001Description / Buy
9The Carnivorous Carnival 2002Description / Buy
10The Slippery Slope 2003Description / Buy
11The Grim Grotto 2004Description / Buy
12The Penultimate Peril 2005Description / Buy
13The End 2006Description / Buy

Order of Series Of Unfortunate Events Companion Books

1Lemony Snicket: The Unauthorized Autobiography 2002Description / Buy
2The Blank Book 2004Description / Buy
3Behind the Scenes with Count Olaf (Short Story) 2004Description / Buy
4The Notorious Notations 2006Description / Buy
5The Beatrice Letters (Short Story) 2006Description / Buy
6Horseradish 2007Description / Buy

Order of All the Wrong Questions Series

1Who Could That Be at This Hour? 2012Description / Buy
2When Did You See Her Last? 2013Description / Buy
3Shouldn't You Be in School? 2014Description / Buy
4Why Is This Night Different from All Other Nights? 2015Description / Buy

Order of All The Wrong Questions Collections

1File Under: 13 Suspicious Incidents 2014Description / Buy

Order of Lemony Snicket Standalone Novels

1The Composer Is Dead (Short Story) 2009Description / Buy
2Poison for Breakfast 2021Description / Buy

Order of Lemony Snicket Picture Books

1Baby in the Manger (Short Story) 2007Description / Buy
2The Latke Who Couldn't Stop Screaming (Short Story) 2007Description / Buy
3The Lump of Coal (Short Story) 2008Description / Buy
413 Words (Short Story) 2010Description / Buy
5The Dark (Short Story) 2013Description / Buy
629 Myths on the Swinster Pharmacy (Short Story) 2014Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

However, Lemony Snicket is more than a character. He is the author of A Series of Unfortunate Events; though, it is worth noting that Lemony Snicket is actually a pseudonym for Daniel Handler.

Differentiating between Lemony Snicket the author and Lemony Snicket the character is actually quite the complicated task. After all, there are even biographies of the character of Lemon Snicket online, books that delve into his time with V.F.D, his arson and murder charges, not to mention a relationship with a woman named Beatrice.

Daniel Handler, the person behind Lemony Snicket, was born 1970. A student of Wesleyan University in Connecticut, Handler began his career as an administrative assistant before heading to New York City to review manuscripts for a literary agent.

The author’s first attempts at writing didn’t impress him and he eventually chose to discard the first novel he ever wrote. He was more confident in his second writing attempt some years later, going so far as to submit his manuscript to publishers. Upon receiving multiple rejections, Daniel Handler started a club that attracted other great writers who had also been rejected by publishers.

Daniel had created the Lemony Snicket persona years earlier during his interactions with a right wing organization. After years spent railing against the books for young readers that publishers kept pushing out, many of them revolving around sports or fantasy realms, Daniel Handler was challenged to try his hand at writing the sort of books he thought young people would appreciate.

Daniel accepted the challenge and resurrected the Lemony Snicket pseudonym to write the Unfortunate Events books. Daniel took pleasure in immersing readers into his pseudonym, going so far as to attend conferences as Lemony Snicket’s representative and creating a fictional Daniel Handler character to write a Lemony Snicket autobiography.

The Lemony Snicket Books always contain black and adult humor.

Lemony Snicket Awards

As Lemony Snicket, Daniel Handler has had the pleasure of taking a number of accolades home for his literary efforts, the most notable being Kid’s Choice Awards for Favorite Book and a Quill Award.

Lemony Snicket Books into Movies/TV

Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events was turned into a movie starring Jude Law as Lemony Snicket in 2004. In 2017, the property was revived and turned into a television show of the same name by Netflix, starring Neil Patrick Harris.

Best Lemony Snicket Books

Daniel Handler’s determination to confuse readers about his identity has done little to debilitate the popularity of the Lemony Snicket books, with the best books in the author’s bibliography including:

The Reptile Room: The Baudelaire Children have faced adversity before. However, the challenges awaiting them here are of a wholly different nature. From curious reptiles to giddy uncles, there is more to the picture being painted than meets the eye. Now more than ever, the Baudelaire children must strengthen their bonds in order to face this next batch of unpleasantness.

The second book in the Unfortunate Events series follows the formula set by the first. The Baudelaire Orphans are thrust into a new adventure where they keep catching glimpses of hope only for things to fall apart.

Like most of these books, the novel starts out pretty well. The children finally enter the embrace of an uncle who seems determined to give them all the love and care they deserve. And then, slowly but surely, the unfortunate events begin to pile up.

The Austere Academy: The Baudelaire children might be the most intelligent and resourceful Orphans in the world. But their intelligence will do little to prepare them for the horrors waiting from them in school.

From strict punishments to difficult exams and snapping crabs, the hapless youngsters just can’t seem to catch a break.

The fifth book in the Unfortunate Events series finds the Baudelaire Children heading off to boarding school. While there, the kids make friends and seem set to embark on an exciting and positive adventure of learning. But, as always, Count Olaf is just around the corner, waiting to ruin their fun.

When Does The Next Lemony Snicket book come out?

Lemony Snicket doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Poison for Breakfast and was released on August, 31st 2021.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *