Linda O Johnston Books

Linda O. Johnston is an American author that writes romance and mystery. Born and raised in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and a graduate of Pennsylvania State University where she majored in Journalism and advertisement, Linda was eight when she wrote her first story.

Order of Superstition Mystery Series

# Read Title Published
1 Lost Under a Ladder 2014
2 Knock on Wood 2015
3 Unlucky Charms 2016

Order of Barkery & Biscuits Mystery Series

# Read Title Published
1 Bite the Biscuit 2015
2 To Catch a Treat 2016
3 Bad to the Bone 2017

Order of Kendra Ballantyne, Pet-Sitter Mystery Series

Order of Alpha Force Series

Order of Pet Rescue Mystery Series

Order of Linda O Johnston Standalone Novels


# Read Title Published
1 Awakening the Beast 2009
2 Last Exit to Murder 2013
3 Night of the Shifter 2014
Print: Print PDF

However, writing professionally was not always in the cards. Linda first experimented with the journalism field and she even ran a small newspaper for a while. Then she dipped her hand into advertising before finally getting her degree in law from Duquesne University.

Even though Linda O. Johnston had been writing fiction since she was a child, the author had to give up on the hobby when she started law school. Her work load left little time to indulge passions. But, like any determined author, she found ways of making time, especially after she began working as an attorney.

Linda initially wrote for fun. Then her opinion on her career path began to shift after a couple of her stories were published in Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine. Before long, the author’s short stories evolved into A Glimpse of Forever, a novel about time travel and romance, and Linda O’ Johnston’s first published title.

Linda hasn’t looked back since that point of her life in 1995; she has garnered a reputation for producing noteworthy romance, paranormal romance, and mystery novels. Linda has a particular style. She has always been a romantic, so the fact that all her books have a romantic aspect, regardless of their genre, isn’t unexpected.

The mystery aspects of the author’s novels emanate from a love for solving puzzles which she nurtured as a child; Linda gets a kick out of injecting suspense into even the most romantic stories.

Linda O. Johnston is a lover of pets and many of her books feature animals in some capacity.

Linda O. Johnston Awards

The first award Linda ever won was the Robert L. Fish Memorial Prize. It was given to her in 1988 for a short story she wrote. Since then, the author has attracted her fair share of accolades.

She has been considered for a Rising Star Award and was even a Finalist for the Golden Quill Prize in 1998.

Best Linda O. Johnston Books

Linda is always shaking things up, working within new genres; but she always finds ways of getting back to romance which is where she seems to shine, with some of the best books from the author including:

Sit, Stay, Slay: Kendra Ballantyne lost her job with an L.A. Law firm but she did not allow that keep her down. Instead, she became a freelance pet-sitter. However, Kendra cannot seem to find any solace, not when her clients start to die and it begins to look like someone might be setting her up.

Luckily for Kendra, if she wants to solve this mystery, she is in the right company. Jeff Hubbard isn’t just sexy; he is quite competent as a detective.

The first book in the Kendra Ballantyne series introduces Kendra to readers. Kendra was a high-powered attorney. But then everything went wrong. After being framed for leaking client information, Kendra loses everything. She is forced to sell every luxury item she has in order to contend with her bankruptcy.

If the death of the client in question wasn’t enough, Kendra is now forced to live in a garage, a major step down from her beautiful Hollywood home. Kendra’s life begins to take a turn for the better when she snags a pet sitting job.

Even better, she runs into an attractive private investigator, which is fortunate because she will need all the help she can get when her pet sitting clients begin to die.

This book is mild and doesn’t feature any explicit sex or coarse language.

Beaglemania: Laura Vancouver’s life revolves around animals. As the head of an animal shelter that isn’t in the business of killing its clients, Laura’s life is pretty busy. And she often finds that the human elements pose more of a threat to her than the animals.

Laura falls into hot water when she rescues four puppies from a nasty puppy mill. One of the mill’s employees ends up dead, which is problematic for Laura. Not only did this employee have a history of animal abuse but he was heard threatening Laura. The fact that his body was found near Laura’s shelter means that she must find the killer before she is forced to pay for a crime she did not commit.