Lisa Wingate Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Lisa Wingate is an American author that wants to use her stories to add more positivity to the world. The dozens of novels she has written have become international bestsellers. Writing came naturally to the author.

Get notified when Lisa Wingate releases a new book at

Order of Tending Roses Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Tending Roses 2001 Description / Buy
2 Good Hope Road 2003 Description / Buy
3 The Language of Sycamores 2005 Description / Buy
4 Drenched in Light 2006 Description / Buy
5 A Thousand Voices 2007 Description / Buy

Order of Texas Hill Country Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Texas Cooking 2003 Description / Buy
2 Lone Star Cafe 2004 Description / Buy
3 Over the Moon at the Big Lizard Diner 2005 Description / Buy

Order of Blue Sky Hill Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Month of Summer 2008 Description / Buy
2 The Summer Kitchen 2009 Description / Buy
3 Beyond Summer 2010 Description / Buy
4 Dandelion Summer 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Daily, Texas Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Talk of the Town 2008 Description / Buy
2 Word Gets Around 2009 Description / Buy
3 Never Say Never 2010 Description / Buy

Order of Moses Lake Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Larkspur Cove 2010 Description / Buy
2 Blue Moon Bay 2012 Description / Buy
3 Firefly Island 2013 Description / Buy
4 Wildwood Creek 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Carolina Chronicles Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Sea Glass Sisters 2013 Description / Buy
2 The Prayer Box 2013 Description / Buy
3 The Tidewater Sisters (Short Story) 2014 Description / Buy
4 The Story Keeper 2014 Description / Buy
5 The Sandcastle Sister (Short Story) 2015 Description / Buy
6 The Sea Keeper's Daughters 2015 Description / Buy
7 Sisters 2016 Description / Buy

Order of Outer Banks Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Sandy's Seashell Shop Christmas (Short Story) 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Lisa Wingate Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Before We Were Yours 2017 Description / Buy
2 The Book of Lost Friends 2020 Description / Buy
3 Shelterwood 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Lisa Wingate Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Before and After ( With: Judy Christie) 2019 Description / Buy

Lisa Wingate Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 When You Pass Through Waters: Words of Hope and Healing from Your Favorite Authors 2015 Description / Buy
2 Stories from Suffragette City 2020 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Her obsession with the written word began before she even started school. However, she hadn’t necessarily decided to pursue publishing as a career. All that changed when she joined Peasley School, Northboro. Lisa was in first grade when she caught the eye of a teacher.

The woman, called Mrs. Krackhardt, was so impressed with Lisa’s abilities as a writer that she left a comment on her report card saying that she expected to see Lisa’s name in magazines in the future.

But that was not all. The teacher went a step further and started reading Lisa’s stories out loud during class. First of all, the experience gave the author the encouragement she needed to believe in her gift as a writer. Secondly, she took note of the impact that her stories had on her classmates.

She also found that she enjoyed the idea of penning stories for an audience to consume. So she started pursuing writing with greater fervor. Her dream of attaining publishing success did not become an immediate reality. In fact, she initially placed her publishing dreams on the sidelines to focus on the other aspects of her life, which included finishing college, marrying the man she loved, and giving birth to children.

She worked as a journalist. Along with the time she spent as a technical writer, Lisa Wingate had plenty of opportunities to refine her craft before she finally sat down to write her first novel. Her marriage played a significant role in her decision to pursue publishing later on.

Her husband came from a large southern family. They loved to tell stories. Lisa remembers the day her grandmother came to stay with them. Her baby was still small. The pair eventually decided to plant a bed of flowers in front of the house.

On one random occasion, Lisa’s grandmother was sitting in a chair and holding Lisa’s sleeping baby when she started telling the author a story about her life, one that intertwined with the older woman’s flowerbeds.

The tale stayed with Lisa. She used it as inspiration for ‘Tending roses’, a novel that came out in 2001. It was not the only novel that was inspired by Lisa’s real life. In fact, every story the author writes can be traced back to one or more events that she either experienced, witnessed, or heard about.

However, Lisa doesn’t always know what she will write. To the author, writing is a journey. Even when a real-life event inspires an idea, she doesn’t know how that idea will unfold or where it will go. The only thing she knows for a fact is that her stories will end on a happy note. Lisa has no interest in adding to the suffering of the world by giving her readers stories filled with bitterness and sadness.

Lisa Wingate Awards

Lisa has won Carol and Goodreads Choice Awards.

Best Lisa Wingate Books

Before setting her sights on publishing, the author wanted to become an Olympic gymnast. But the notion of doing backflips on a balancing beam was too much for her. Lisa’s best novels include:

Before We Were Yours: Avery Stafford’s life was perfect. She came from a privileged home. She was about to marry her handsome fiance at a lavish wedding. Her future was bright. But then she went back home to deal with a health crisis and everything changed. Avery opened a door that revealed a truth she was not prepared to learn.

‘Before We Were yours’ is based on a real scandal in which an adoption agency in Memphis stole and sold poor children to rich families.

The Book of Lost Friends: Lavinia, Jane, and Hannie were unusual companions. Lavinia was the heir to a plantation that had lost its worth. Jane was her illegitimate Creole half-sister whereas Hannie was Lavinia’s former slave.

Lavinia and Jane were on a journey to resolve a financial issue. But for Hannie, the stakes were higher. She was taken from her family at a young age. But now that slavery is over, she cannot help but wonder whether her family is still out there, looking for her.

When Does The Next Lisa Wingate book come out?

The next book by Lisa Wingate is Shelterwood and will be released on June, 4th 2024.

2 thoughts on “Lisa Wingate”

  1. Love this author. My copy of “Texas Cooking” references a next book named “Crossroads” Don’t see it anywhere. Does it exist?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *