Liza Marklund Books

Liza Marklund is a Swedish crime writer and a journalist born on September 9th, 1962 in Pitea, Norrbotten. Her books many of which feature a fictional character named Annika Bengtzon have been translated into over thirty languages. She is a columnist of the Expressen, a Swedish tabloid and the co-owner of Sweden 3rd largest publishing house, Piratforlaget.

Order of Annika Bengtzon Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Bomber 1998 Description / Buy
2 Studio Sex 1999 Description / Buy
3 Vanished 2000 Description / Buy
4 Prime Time 2001 Description / Buy
5 Red Wolf 2003 Description / Buy
6 Last Will 2006 Description / Buy
7 Lifetime 2007 Description / Buy
8 The Long Shadow 2008 Description / Buy
9 Borderline 2011 Description / Buy
10 Without a Trace 2013 Description / Buy
11 The Final Word 2017 Description / Buy

Order of Liza Marklund Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Postcard Killers 2010 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Her twelfth book, The Postcard Killers, written alongside American bestseller novelist James Patterson was published in 2010 in the United States. In two months time, the novel was number one on the New York bestselling list making Marklund the second Swedish writer ever to reach the number one spot. The author currently lives in Spain with her beloved husband, Mikael.

Since the author’s debut into the publication world in 1995, she has written one nonfiction novel, eight crime novels, and co-authored documentary books. Her popular book series include The Maria Eriksson series and The Annika Bengtzon series.

The Maria Eriksson series is based on a true story and follows the story of a woman who is assaulted by her lover and subsequently forced into hiding. The Annika Bengtzon series follows the story of a crime reporter named Annika based in Stockholm Sweden. She is always faced with conflicts between balancing her career and motherhood. The series consists of eleven novels.


Marklund won the Poloni Prize in 1998 for the Best Swedish Crime Novel by a female writer, and later the same year won The Debutant Prize for the Best First Novel of the Year Category. She was listed artist of the year by the Swedish Trade Union SKT in 1999 and 2007 was award RixFM’s Swedish Literary Prize.

The author’s novels have been #1 bestsellers in all Nordic countries, and in 2002 and 2003 two of her novels were listed as international bestsellers by Publishing Trends, an online magazine.


Two books based on Annika Bengtzon series have been adapted into films. Colin Nutley directed Paradise and The Bomber. The two movies featured Helena Bergstrom who played the role of Annika in both films.

Yellow Bird, a television and film Production Company bought the rights to adapt six Annika novels in 2009. In these six movies, Malin Crepin plays the role of the Annika Bengtzon.


These are two best books by Liza Marklund, Red Wolf, and Studio Sex

Red Wolf: This is the fifth novel in Annika Bengtzon series. In this story, a journalist is brutally killed in the frozen landscape of Swedish town. Annika Bengtzon is a Stockholm based reporter and had planned to interview the murdered journalist regarding a long ago attack against a neglected air base, and she now suspects that the journalist death is related to the assault. Against the strict orders of her superiors, she starts investigating what led to the journalist demise and soon discovers a series of horrifying murders. She understands that all the crimes are connected, and at the same time she suspects that her husband might be hiding something and nothing can thwart the loneliness that has befallen into her life.

Behind everything that has happened in this small Swedish town, lurks a mysterious figure of the Red Wolf, a serial killer. In the end, Annika must find out the truth not only about the ongoing series of murders but also what exactly is ruining her own family.

Studio Sex: In Studio Sex, we find Annika working as a summer intern at Kvallspressen. He is tasked with screening crank phone calls hoping to get valid news break, but instead, she receives an unknown tip about the body of a young girl in a public park. It is clear that the girl had been raped and then killed, and in response, Annika writes a strong story that earns her honor from her superiors.

As the novel plot, the focus is shifted from the dead girl lover to an important person in the government who keeps owns a secret apartment proximal to the park.

As Annika investigates, she discovers that the government official is linked to the case of a missing archive that could ultimately shake what the foundation of the ruling Social Democrats. She also wants to relocate far away from her hometown to Stockholm, and the coverage of this case could be her one time shot.

Investigating on this case, Annika must face up the politicians as well as the pornography business, and her two sides of personality will be ultimately be put to the test.

When Does The Next Liza Marklund book come out?

Liza Marklund doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Final Word and was released on October, 17th 2017. It is the newest book in the Annika Bengtzon Series.