Maggie Hartley Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Maggie Hartley has a heart for lost causes. She has spent her life looking after children civilized adults rejected because they were simply unadoptable. While others look away because of the disturbing behavior they’ve observed, Hartley welcomes these children with open arms.

Get notified when Maggie Hartley releases a new book at

Order of Maggie Hartley Foster Carer Story Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Is It My Fault Mummy? 1970 Description / Buy
2 Tiny Prisoners 2016 Description / Buy
3 The Ghost Girl 2016 Description / Buy
4 A Family For Christmas (Short Story) 2016 Description / Buy
5 Too Young to be a Mum 2017 Description / Buy
6 Who Will Love Me Now? 2017 Description / Buy
7 Too Little Too Late (Short Story) 2017 Description / Buy
8 Battered, Broken, Healed 2018 Description / Buy
9 Sold To Be A Wife 2018 Description / Buy
10 Too Scared To Cry 2018 Description / Buy
11 Denied a Mummy 2018 Description / Buy
12 A Desperate Cry for Help (Short Story) 2019 Description / Buy
13 Daddy's Little Soldier 2019 Description / Buy
14 Please Don't Take My Sisters 2019 Description / Buy
15 Not To Blame (Short Story) 2020 Description / Buy
16 Groomed to be a Bride 2021 Description / Buy
17 Exploited 2021 Description / Buy
18 A Sister's Shame 2021 Description / Buy
19 Behind Closed Doors 2022 Description / Buy
20 Please Give My Baby Back 2022 Description / Buy
21 Where's My Mummy 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

She knows the extreme trauma her charges have experienced. The author understands the overwhelming obstacles they must overcome to attain a semblance of happiness.

Hartley is more than willing to carry the responsibility of aiding them in their struggles. She has also contributed her services to refugees, young mothers with newborn babies, and victims of sexual abuse.

Best Maggie Hartley Books

The author has fostered hundreds of children over two decades. Hartley’s best books include:

Tiny Prisoners: Evie and Elliot came from a violent and abusive home. Neglected for most of their young lives, the children rarely saw the world outside. As such, they lacked the basic skills most children their age had mastered.

When the children landed on her doorstep, Hartley knew she had her work cut out for her. The siblings were clearly enthralled by fear. Everything terrified them, including the doorbell.

And when the panic set in, it would take hours for Hartley to calm them down. But she persevered and gradually unlocked their secrets, extracting the heart-breaking trials that damaged them.

Now, Hartley is determined to give them the warmth and dedication they never had.

‘Tiny Prisoners’ comes from the Maggie Hartley Foster Carer collection of stories. The stars of the show are two neglected kids that need a warm meal and a place to stay.

Elliot went into foster care because his mother was a poor parent. The boy was always at home, alone, looking after himself. Having rejected his birth parents, Maggie was the first person to make him feel safe.

Evie was just as tortured. The first two years of her young life had been hell. But Maggie wormed her way into the girl’s life and showed her what it meant to be loved.

For her part, Maggie isn’t necessarily shocked by the state of the siblings because she has seen her fair share of mistreated children. But giving Evie and Elliot the care they need won’t be easy because she has to start by establishing trust with them.

The task is easier said than done. Their parents mistreated them. They have no reason to open their hearts to adults like Maggie. But Maggie is more patient than most people and has no intention of giving up.

She is determined to show her new charges that the world isn’t quite as terrifying as they’ve been made to believe. The book explores Evie and Elliot’s story through the eyes of the foster carer.

It breaks the prejudices people have towards foster homes by showing readers what Maggie sees, hears, and feels. The foster carer succeeds because she has Evie and Elliot’s best interests at heart.

The Ghost Girl: Kayleigh was barely a person when she entered Maggie’s care. The girl was frail, and Maggie could tell that her experiences had scarred the 10-year-old. She wouldn’t reveal her story to Maggie no matter how firmly the woman prodded.

The girl was determined to keep her demons to herself. Fortunately, Maggie had fostered too many troubled children. Kayleigh was a challenge but hardly the impossible case everyone thought she was.
The key was love and patience, of which Maggie had plenty. Eventually, Kayleigh revealed the cruelty she suffered at the hands of the people who raised her.

The girl’s parents had abandoned her. The aunt that took her in was cruel and uncompromising, leaving Kayleigh to starve while she indulged in all the luxuries the world had to offer.

Now, Kayleigh has Maggie in her corner. The foster carer will pull the girl out of her shell, giving her the voice she needs to bring justice to those who harmed her.

‘The Ghost Girl’ is another tale in the Maggie Hartley Foster Carer collection. The book shows that foster homes are not always the torture chambers people think they are.

Maggie proves that some foster parents are kind souls doing their best to raise the tortured children placed in their care. Ruth, the girl at the heart of this book, pushes the boundaries. But Maggie stands her ground and refuses to give up on her.

When Does The Next Maggie Hartley book come out?

Maggie Hartley doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Where's My Mummy and was released on February, 16th 2023. It is the newest book in the Maggie Hartley Foster Carer Story Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *