Marcia Willett Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Marcia Willett was a British author of Romance and General Fiction. Born in 1945, she was a late bloomer, becoming a novelist at age fifty. Willett described herself as a born storyteller. She enjoyed sharing her stories with other people.

Her goal was to entertain audiences by taking them to parallel worlds in which relatable characters pursued familiar lives. However, young Willett had no intention of becoming a published writer. The youngest of five children, she was obsessed with ballet.

Get notified when Marcia Willett releases a new book at

Order of Chadwick Family Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Looking Forward 1998 Description / Buy
2 Holding on 1999 Description / Buy
3 Winning Through 2000 Description / Buy
4 The Prodigal Wife 2009 Description / Buy

Order of Marcia Willett Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Those Who Serve / First Friends 1995 Description / Buy
2 A Friend of the Family / Thea's Parrot 1995 Description / Buy
3 The Courtyard 1995 Description / Buy
4 The Dipper 1996 Description / Buy
5 Amy Wingate's Journal 1996 Description / Buy
6 Hattie's Mill 1997 Description / Buy
7 Starting Over 1997 Description / Buy
8 Second Time Around 1998 Description / Buy
9 A Week in Winter 2001 Description / Buy
10 A Summer in the Country 2002 Description / Buy
11 Forgotten Laughter 2002 Description / Buy
12 The Children's Hour 2003 Description / Buy
13 The Birdcage 2004 Description / Buy
14 The Golden Cup 2005 Description / Buy
15 Memories Of The Storm 2005 Description / Buy
16 Echoes of the Dance 2006 Description / Buy
17 The Way We Were 2008 Description / Buy
18 The Summer House 2010 Description / Buy
19 Christmas in Cornwall / The Christmas Angel 2011 Description / Buy
20 The Sea Garden 2012 Description / Buy
21 Postcards from the Past 2013 Description / Buy
22 Indian Summer 2014 Description / Buy
23 Summer On The River 2015 Description / Buy
24 The Songbird 2016 Description / Buy
25 Seven Days in Summer 2017 Description / Buy
26 Homecomings 2018 Description / Buy
27 Reflections 2019 Description / Buy
28 Facing the Music 2019 Description / Buy
29 The Quick and the Dead 2019 Description / Buy
30 Sisters Under the Skin 2019 Description / Buy
31 Starry, Starry Night 2021 Description / Buy
32 The Garden House 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Marcia Willett Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 Christmas at the Keep 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Unfortunately, her plans of becoming a ballerina went out the window when she exceeded the field’s classical proportions. But even then, she was more interested in reading than writing. A financial crisis eventually changed her tune, compelling her to give writing a shot.

She also credits Rodney, her husband, and a writer. He kept urging her to experiment with publishing, but Willett would always dismiss the idea. After a while, the author realized that she would never know peace until she satisfied Rodney’s curiosity by putting a few words on paper.

Before she knew it, those few words became several chapters, which, in turn, morphed into a full-fledged book. Willett never looked back. Once she began writing, she couldn’t stop. Her books are not only beautifully written but they challenge her readers by tackling issues and themes that plague ordinary people.

A native of Somerset, she spent a significant portion of her life in Devon, whose beauty inspired many of the settings in her books. She spoke about walking the moors and being surprised by the many characters waiting to leap from her head onto the page.

She never planned her stories beforehand, at least not in vivid detail. Instead, her characters would reveal themselves and tell her their stories over time. In fact, she wouldn’t even choose the setting of each novel.

Her characters would show her where they wanted their stories to take place, and she was more than happy to oblige.

She penned her books on a laptop in a cozy study filled with paintings and books. She would surround herself with pictures of the landscapes she was writing about to better immerse herself in the story.

By the time she died, the author had published 31 novels. ‘Christmas at the Keep’ was her final short novel. She was sick with cancer when she finished it. It came out posthumously.

When Willett died, her friends and associates had nothing but good things to say about her. For instance, her Transworld editor (Francesca Best) praised her perceptive approach to storytelling.

She also highlighted the author’s warmth, kindness, and generosity. The Marcia Willett she knew had a twinkle in her eye whenever they interacted. Francesca was grateful that her publishing house had published so many Marcia Willett books over the years.

Dinah Wiener was her literary agent. Willett was more than just a client. She was Dinah’s bestfriend. The literary agent was glad she had the opportunity to represent Willett for thirty incredible years.

Marcia Willett Awards

Willett’s accolades include the Magnum Award.

Best Marcia Willet Books

Besides the 31 novels she released under her real name, the author used a pseudonym (Willa Marsh) to publish four books. Willett’s best novels include:

A Week in Winter: Maudie loved Moorgate. She had done what she could to keep the enchanting country house in the family. But the widow had reached her limit. She couldn’t afford a second home. When she finally placed the ancient house on the market, she was surprised by the number of buyers it attracted.

The most notable included her stepdaughter, who clashed with Maudie on everything. Rob Abbot was equally fascinating. After lovingly restoring every inch of the property, the contractor had developed an embarrassing attachment to Moorgate.

Then there was Melissa Clayton, a sad woman hoping to find everything she wanted in the old country house.

The Garden House: El was fresh out of university and completely unsure about her future. She couldn’t figure out what to do with the rest of her life. When her father died, she moved into his home and tried to come to terms with the grief. But at least she had Will, her childhood friend.

Jules’ relationship with Martin was a secret. As such, when he died, she was left to grieve alone.

When Does The Next Marcia Willett book come out?

Marcia Willett doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Christmas at the Keep and was released on October, 20th 2022. It is the newest book in the Marcia Willett Short Stories/Novellas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *