Marissa Meyer Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Marisa Meyer is an America writer who was born in Tacoma, Washington. She was admitted to the Pacific Lutheran University, where she was awarded with a degree in Creative Writing. Before she penned down Cinder, Meyer served as a book editor for more than five years and during this time, she penned down a novel under the pseudonym of Alicia Blade.

Get notified when Marissa Meyer releases a new book at

Order of Gilded Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Gilded 2021 Description / Buy
2 Cursed 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Lunar Chronicles Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Cinder 2012 Description / Buy
2 The Queen's Army / L'armée de la reine (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
3 Scarlet 2013 Description / Buy
4 Cress 2014 Description / Buy
5 Fairest 2015 Description / Buy
6 Winter 2015 Description / Buy
7 Stars Above 2016 Description / Buy
8 Cinder's Adventure 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Renegades Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Renegades 2017 Description / Buy
2 Archenemies 2018 Description / Buy
3 Supernova 2019 Description / Buy

Order of Wires and Nerve Graphic Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Wires and Nerve 2017 Description / Buy
2 Gone Rogue 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Marissa Meyer Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Heartless 2016 Description / Buy
2 Instant Karma 2020 Description / Buy
3 With a Little Luck 2024 Description / Buy

Marissa Meyer Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Fierce Reads: Kisses and Curses 2012 Description / Buy
2 A Tyranny of Petticoats 2016 Description / Buy
3 Because You Love to Hate Me 2017 Description / Buy
4 Serendipity: Ten Romantic Tropes, Transformed 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

When talking to The News-Tribune, Meyer noted that writing science fiction assisted her to learn the art of writing, and also gave her the chance to get instantaneous feedback and also learn how to take negative criticism. Marissa Meyer is currently married to one, Jesse Taylor, with whom they adopted two daughters, Delaney and Sloane in the year 2005.

In the year 2013, Meyer was awarded with a 2-book deal from the Feiwel and Friends, for a book series, which was to feature one of the characters from Alice in Wonderland. The first book in this series was slotted to be released in the year 2016.

Marissa is perhaps best known for her popular series, The Lunar Chronicles. This series takes a unique look at fairy tale characters and puts an entirely new spin on them. Characters such as Snow White, Rapunzel, Cinderella and Rapunzel are taken out of their familiar confines and placed into a futuristic, science fiction world.

The books have earned some major praise for the world building that they contain. The world of The Lunar Chronicles features moon colonists, cyborgs and androids in a futuristic world, but still manages to stay true to the ethos of the original stories. The books have been praised for their retelling of the classic stories as it took what were once female protaganists that were passive participants and instead made them strong and assertive.

Her latest series is called Renegades and has been a huge hit thus far with the first book being a #2 New York Times Bestseller. The book is about the world after a civil war that took place between the Anarchists and the Renegades. This is a wholly original work with the characters all being uniquely super powered, similar in some ways to the X-Men. For instance, the character Nova can put people to sleep with skin-to-skin contact. There is a romance angle as well with two people from opposite sides falling for each other. On the surface this book seems black and white (good guys versus bad guys), but as it progresses it gets a bit deeper than that.

Marissa Meyer Awards

Despite the fact that Marissa Meyer has not received any major literary award, her books have been well received.

Marissa Meyer Books into movies

The Lunar Chronicles was to be adapted for screenplay. However, no information has been released so far concerning the project.

Best Marissa Meyer Books

Cinder: This is the first book in the Lunar Chronicles. In this installment, Meyer introduces the reader to Cinder, a young cyborg mechanic. As the book begins Cinder is forced to surrender all her remunerations to her guardian; the lady who had adopted Cinder many years ago, when she was brought home by her husband, who did not take long before he died. From to time, her guardian constantly reminds Cinder that she is not human, thus making Cinder’s own existence a bleak.

When the city’s prince seeks the Cinder’s expertise to repair an android, the storyline begins to get more and more interesting. As expected the price is every girl’s desire, he is honestly nice. With an epidemic threatening the earth’s population, together with exceedingly wicked Lunar Queen in the background, Cinder’s World is ever in danger. With that said, Ms. Meyer is a great storyteller. Irrespective of the fact that the novel is set in future Beijing, the author still manages to fill the story with a whimsical fairy tale environment.

Scarlet: The second book in the Lunar Chronicles. This book begins right where the first book, Cinder had left off. Cinder has just managed to escape from prison with the assistance of an individual that she had met, Thorne. Captain Thorne and Cinder were going to find answers regarding Cinders past. They were also going to find news regarding Emperor Kai and Queen Levana.

As this happens, there is a sixteen-year-old girl, named Scarlet in France with red curly hair and constantly wears a hoodie to hide her face Scarlet is looking for her grandmother, who was missing for more than two weeks. Scarlet’s grandmother had not told her that she was going to be in danger or missing anytime soon. She had also not warned Scarlet of anything. When Scarlet goes to ask for help, no one wants to help her including the police because no one believes that she is telling the truth. A majority of people believed that Scarlet’s grandmother was crazy and also she wanted to take her own life.

Some of the outstanding characters in this book series include Captain Thorne. First and foremost, Captain Thorne is blind and also exceedingly adorable. As a person, he is well rounded and also very smart, as he manages to survive. Cinder is also another great character She will not only impress you but also amaze you the reader.

In every book in the series, she becomes physically and mentally stronger which has made her a strong feminist role model. She also plays a bigger role in a majority of the books in this series. Apart from Cinder, there is also Kai, who not only constantly makes terrible decisions but also acts really immature. Wolf and Sybil are also other outstanding characters in this book series and a couple of fan favorites.

Cess: This is the third book in the Lunar Chronicles. In this installment Captain Thorne and Cinder are on the run. However, they have been joined with Scarlet and Wolf. These characters are planning to overthrow the Queen together with her entire army. However, the hope of these characters lies with Cess, a girl who had been imprisoned on a satellite ever since she was young.

Her only company has been the netscreen. Being exposed to the netscreens at a tender age has made Cess, an exceedingly great hacker. However, she has received orders from the queen to track down Captain Thorne and Cinder. All in all, despite the fact that this characters were not ready to save the world, they happen to be the only hope that the world has.

When Does The Next Marissa Meyer book come out?

Marissa Meyer doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is With a Little Luck and was released on February, 13th 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *