Martin Limón Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Martin Limon is a former United Military officer who dedicated more than 20 years of his life for the service of his country. Out of the twenty years, he spent in the army, Limon was posted for more than ten years in Korea, a country where he got to learn more about the locals and their cultures. Currently, Limon resides in Seattle together with his wife and his family. Martin Limon is widely known for the novels, Jade Lady Burning, Budha’s Money and Slicky Boys. Limon’s very first novel was titled Jade Lady Burning was published by the renowned Soho Press in the year 1992. In the same year, the New York Times selected the novel as the most notable book of the year.

Get notified when Martin Limón releases a new book at

Order of George Sueño and Ernie Bascom Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Jade Lady Burning 1992 Description / Buy
2 Slicky Boys 1997 Description / Buy
3 Buddha's Money 1998 Description / Buy
4 The Door to Bitterness 2005 Description / Buy
5 The Wandering Ghost 2007 Description / Buy
6 G.I. Bones 2009 Description / Buy
7 Mr. Kill 2011 Description / Buy
8 The Joy Brigade 2012 Description / Buy
9 Nightmare Range 2013 Description / Buy
10 The Iron Sickle 2014 Description / Buy
11 The Ville Rat 2015 Description / Buy
12 Ping-Pong Heart 2016 Description / Buy
13 The Nine-Tailed Fox 2018 Description / Buy
14 The Line 2018 Description / Buy
15 GI Confidential 2019 Description / Buy
16 War Women 2022 Description / Buy

Order of George Sueño and Ernie Bascom Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Dragon’s Tail (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy

Order of East Riding Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Tales from the East Riding 2006 Description / Buy
2 More Tales from the East Riding (Short Story) 2008 Description / Buy

Martin Limón Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Usual Santas 2016 Description / Buy
2 Private Investigations: Mystery Writers on the Secrets, Riddles, and Wonders in Their Lives 2020 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Martin Limon Awards

Irrespective of the fact that Martin Limon has not yet been awarded any major literary award, his work and efforts have still been recognized. In the year 1992, his novel, Jade Lady Burning was selected by the New York Times, as the most notable book of the year.

Martin Limon Book into Movies

None of the books by the author has been nominated for screenplay.

Best Martin Limon Books

Sargent Sueno and Bascom: This is one of the best performing series by the author, Martin Limon. In this series, the author introduces the reader to the protagonists, Earnie Bascom and George Suenos. One of the best performing books in the Sargent Sueno and Bascom book series is Jade Lady Burning, which also happens to be one of the best books to be written by the author. This installment begins as George and Earnie, two of the best United States Army Criminal Investigation Division officers are assigned to a combined investigation with the local Korean Police Unit. The investigation team was formed to look into the killing of an exceedingly young prostitute and the torching of her apartment.

Once the investigation kicks off, several individuals are grilled about the killing. However, out of all the suspects who were questioned, one individual caught the attention of the two detectives. The individual was not only the last person to be seen with the prostitute, but he was also a member of the United States Army, which complicated the investigation in the process. The officer immediately becomes the number one suspect and is arrested. Despite the fact that everything pointed in the direction of the army officer, they were still asked to look into other possibilities. With that said, this installment is from the perspective of George Sueno, an exceedingly interesting character. The two characters are not only determined to do what is right, but they were also willing to go against their military superiors to ensure that justice was served.

As they were conducting their investigation, they did spend most of their times drinking alcohol and engaging with the local prostitutes. The narrative provided by the author is not only enticing but also intimate. The two protagonists do not possess attractive personalities, but the author has still managed to get the readers onboard and also root for these two characters especially through Sueno’s callous self-awareness. Furthermore, there is also cynicism and black humor, which in turns makes the book a light read.

Sticky Boys: This is the second installment in the highly addictive book series, Sergeants Sueno, and Bascom book series. George Sueno is exceedingly grateful to the army because he not only has a real life but also he has a job to do and money coming in. Just like in the previous installment, George and Ernie still work for the Army, perform important duties and most of all dress up in suits instead of the army uniform. This is something that George had never dreamed of, considering the fact that he grew up on the Eastern Side of Los Angeles. After completing their day to day work, these two characters spend most of their free time in Itaewon, a dingy side of the town, which is full of business women and local bars. One day, they met up with one of the local girls who needed assistance. Upon assisting the girl, a CID officer is killed in the process. Thus, the two are forced to find the killer before they are accused of leading the officer to his death.

A section of the investigation reveals that the killing was connected to the widespread American enclaves’ thievery. With that said, the author, Martin Limon takes the reader to an exceedingly fascinating, complex and fun side of Korea. The author makes use of a little bit of history of the local people to make the readers appreciate the exceedingly different and oriental culture of the Korean people. Overall, this is a well written book, that not only gets the pace right but also culture of the Korean people.

When Does The Next Martin Limón book come out?

Martin Limón doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is War Women and was released on October, 18th 2022. It is the newest book in the George Sueño and Ernie Bascom Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *