Martin Walker Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Martin Walker is a reporter and mystery author best known for the ‘Bruno, Chief of Police’ books. Born in 1947, Martin built a reputation as a renowned reporter long before he began writing novels.

Get notified when Martin Walker releases a new book at

Order of Bruno, Chief Of Police Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Bruno, Chief of Police / Death in the Dordogne 2008 Description / Buy
2 The Dark Vineyard 2009 Description / Buy
3 Black Diamond 2010 Description / Buy
4 The Crowded Grave 2011 Description / Buy
5 The Devil's Cave 2012 Description / Buy
6 Bruno and the Carol Singers / Bruno and le Pere Noel (Short Story) 2012 Description / Buy
7 The Resistance Man 2013 Description / Buy
8 The Children Return / Children of War / Death Undercover 2014 Description / Buy
9 A Market Tale (Short Story) 2014 Description / Buy
10 The Dying Season / The Patriarch 2015 Description / Buy
11 Fatal Pursuit 2016 Description / Buy
12 The Templars' Last Secret 2017 Description / Buy
13 A Taste for Vengeance 2018 Description / Buy
14 The Chocolate War (Short Story) 2018 Description / Buy
15 The Body in the Castle Well 2019 Description / Buy
16 A Birthday Lunch (Short Story) 2019 Description / Buy
17 Oystercatcher (Short Story) 2020 Description / Buy
18 The Shooting at Chateau Rock 2020 Description / Buy
19 The Coldest Case 2021 Description / Buy
20 Bruno's Challenge and Other Stories of the French Countryside 2022 Description / Buy
21 To Kill a Troubadour 2022 Description / Buy
22 A Chateau Under Siege 2023 Description / Buy
23 A Grave in the Woods 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Martin Walker Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Infiltrator 1978 Description / Buy
2 The Money Soldiers 1980 Description / Buy
3 A Mercenary Calling 1980 Description / Buy
4 The Caves of Perigord 2002 Description / Buy

Order of Martin Walker Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 The National Front 1977 Description / Buy
2 Daily Sketches 1978 Description / Buy
3 Powers of the Press 1983 Description / Buy
4 The Waking Giant: Soviet Union Under Gorbachev 1986 Description / Buy
5 Martin Walker's Russia 1989 Description / Buy
6 The Harper Independent Traveller 1990 Description / Buy
7 The Cold War and the Making of the Modern World 1993 Description / Buy
8 Clinton: The President They Deserve 1996 Description / Buy
9 America Reborn: A Twentieth-Century Narrative in Twenty-Six Lives 2000 Description / Buy
10 Makers of the American Century 2001 Description / Buy
11 The Iraq War 2003 Description / Buy
12 Bruno's Cookbook ( With: Julia Watson) 2023 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

A student of Harrow County School and Balliol College, Martin got his big break when he joined ‘The Guardian’ in 1971. While others might have dismissed him as just another reporter, Martin quickly distinguished himself, rising to the position of Bureau Chief for not only Moscow but the United States.

He also occupied the role of European Editor. The author spent more than two decades with ‘The Guardian’ before he finally moved on. In those years, Martin Walker took home a number of accolades for his efforts, this including being named Britain’s Reporter of the Year in 1987

Martin’s achievements also included producing shows for brands like the BBC. The author had the opportunity to leave his mark on the New York Times, the New Yorker, The Times Literary Supplement and the Washington Post to mention but a few.

Martin was fortunate enough to operate outside the UK and the United Sates, taking his skills to brands like the Moscow Times and Die Zeit of Germany.

Since leaving The Guardian, Martin Walker hasn’t stopped operating within the journalism field. His fans might have noticed him in all the appearances he has made on CNN, the BBC and National Public Radio, not to mention CBS.

It could be argued that the author’s postings and assignments haven’t been quite as high profile since he left The Guardian, but Martin’s work with United Press International is still considerable.

The author’s first attempts at literary publishing came in the form of his nonfiction books like ‘Waking Giant’ and ‘The National Front’. However, since 2008, many of Martin Walker’s fans have come to know him for his series of mystery novels set in France, specifically the Perigord region.

The books follow Bruno, an unconventional law enforcement officer. Bruno was wounded in the Balkans during a peacekeeping mission. As Chief of Police, the fact that Bruno doesn’t carry his official gun tends to single him out.

Best Martin Walker Books

Sometimes it might feel like Martin Walker is two different people because many of his fans as a reporter do not know much about his work as a fiction author, and the reverse is also true, with some of the best books to come from Martin including the following:

Bruno, Chief of Police: Bruno is the Municipal Police officer of a small French Town. However, his service is such that many have come to refer to him as the Chief of Police. Bruno abandoned soldiering some time back. For the policeman, country life and its slow pace is the only way to go.

Bruno is content living in his restored Shepherd’s cottage and dealing with European bureaucrats. Those who do not know Bruno might be surprised to find that he doesn’t carry his gun.

They might be even more stunned to find that he never exercises his power to arrest.

Bruno’s seemingly simple life changes when an elderly man from North African is murdered. If his death wasn’t bad enough, the fact that the man was found with a swastika cut into his chest creates all sorts of complications.

It isn’t long before a young policewoman is sent over from Paris to deal with the case before its political implications lead to further trouble. There is a group in the area that holds hostile opinions about immigrants and Bruno naturally suspects their involvement.

However, further scrutiny of the victim’s past reveals that things might be a little more complicated. The legacy of the Second World War is at play and it seems set to ruin Bruno’s simple, idyllic life.

The Crowded Grave: Bruno is Chief of Police in St. Denis and he is looking forward to eating Lamb Stew and enjoying Pomerol as spring approaches. Unfortunately, murder cares little for Bruno’s plans.

An archaeological team looking for ancient remains stumbles upon a corpse that is clearly fresh. Bruno must solve the case. He must also deal with the new magistrate whose attempts at making a strong impression only complicate Bruno’s work.

There are also the animal rights activists whose attacks are a threat to the peace of the village. If Bruno’s plate wasn’t full enough, he has caught the eye of two ladies who clearly want his affections.

When Does The Next Martin Walker book come out?

The next book by Martin Walker is A Grave in the Woods and will be released on September, 24th 2024. It is the newest book in the Bruno, Chief Of Police Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *