Mary Daheim Books

Mary Daheim, who first put pen to paper aged ten and has been a college teacher and staff reporter for a regional daily, is a septuagenarian American author who is renowned especially for writing the critically acclaimed Bed-and-Breakfast series. Judith McMonigle is the featured protagonist in the “Bed-and-Breakfast” series of books authored by Mary Daheim. The first book portraying character Judith McMonigle was first published in 1992 titled Just Desserts, and this series of books is cataloged in the cozy mystery genre.

Order of Bed-and-Breakfast Mysteries Series

Order of Emma Lord Series

Order of Frasers Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Royal Mile 1983
2 Gosford's Daughter 1988

Order of Mary Daheim Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published
1 Love's Pirate 1983
2 Destiny's Pawn 1984
3 Pride's Captive 1986
4 Passion's Triumph 1988
5 King's Ransom 1990
6 Improbable Eden 1991
7 Gypsy Baron 1992
Print: Print PDF

Judith McMonigle is a proprietor of a business in the hospitality industry. Her board and lodging business, which also provides breakfast to the guests, is known as Hillside Manor. It is situated at a fictitious dead-end called Heraldsgate Hill. The first book in that whodunit series, Just Desserts, commences with the entourage of a tycoon which has come to the Hillside Manor, looking for lodging. On face value, the entourage has gone there for merry-making and prognostication. However, by a stroke of bad luck, the fortune-teller who had been hired, a certain Madame Gushenka, is found dead. One of the guests had an ulterior motive and was involved in the killing which resulted from spiking the fortune-teller’s beverage. The greatly inconvenienced Judith McConigle, in conjunction with her relative, has to take care of that mess. One of the guests wants to hush up the incident at all costs, even if Judith McConigle will die in the haste.

Prompted by the fatal event, Judith McConigle teams up with her former lover who is also a law enforcer. Together, they embark on a mission to hoodwink the murderer to show himself before the coffee serving; McConigle is even prepared to disregard the hushed up family secrets. The book continues in a similar vein which proves Mary Daheim’s writing prowess, and, in 2000, won Daheim the Achievement Award given by the Pacific Northwest Writers Association.

Mary Daheim Awards

Mary Daheim has either won or been nominated for several awards. For example, Daheim’s 1991 book, Just Desserts, was integral in her nomination for the revered Agatha Awards. But it is the Achievement Award which is a feather in Mary Daheim’s cap. This award was proffered to her by the Pacific Northwest Writers Association. What’s more, Mary Daheim, who is an alumna of University of Washington where graduated with a B.A. in Communications, was, in 2008, declared one of the inductees of the institution’s Hall of Fame.

Best Mary Daheim Books

Apart the historical-cum-romantic books which Mary Daheim published and termed as sexually explicit, her books are worthwhile. In fact, a pointer is her series of books featuring in the sales-driving bestseller listings of both USA Today and New York Times. Even then the best books of Mary Daheim are those which have either been rewarded or are much sought-after.

The previously discussed Just Desserts is, automatically, the best in the Bed-and-Breakfast mystery series. Another book worth writing home about is called The Alpine Advocate. This 1992 book, which is the first in the Emma Lord series of books, revolves around protagonist Emma Lord. Lord, who has been an editor before visiting a small neighborhood, has a nose for news. Once there, she gets her big break when the grandchild of a tycoon is murdered. But the interview sessions which she is conducting augur bad for her and, by and by, she is face-to-face with a pistol.

Another exceptional book is Mary Dahiem’s 1991 literary work titled Fowl Prey. This is the second book in the Bed-and-Breakfast series. The plot is all about protagonist Judith McConigle fingering her American guests for the death of a hawker and the victim’s pet. Nevertheless, there are other potential murderers among the lot of lodging celebrities and she, alongside her relative, must determine which is which.

Other Books Series You May Like

Avid readers who enjoyed the book of Mary Dahiem were also impressed by the following books. One of them is Della Cooks Mystery authored by Melinda Wells; this series is centered on a Californian protagonist, Della Carmichael, who is operates a cooking school and is trying to solve a trail of murders. The second book is the Jane Jeffrey series of books penned by Jill Churchill; it features protagonist Jane Jeffrey, a suburbia homemaker-cum-detective. Lastly, is A Mystery with Recipes series authored by Isis Crawford; this whodunit culinary-related book revolves around two New York sisters, Bernadette and Libby Simmons, whose catering tenures are marred by a high-profile murder.