Mary Kay Andrews Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Mary Kay Andrews is the pseudonym of a sexagenarian American author whose birth name is Kathy Hogan Trocheck. Incidentally, the latter name is also the one she used during the formative years of her writing career before she adopted the former name. Mary Kay Andrews, who has been a reporter and is a lecturer, is famed for penning many bestselling mysteries. However, the most notable is the Callahan Garrity Mystery series.

Order of Callahan Garrity Series as Kathy Trocheck

1Every Crooked Nanny 1992Description / Buy
2To Live and Die in Dixie 1993Description / Buy
3Homemade Sin 1994Description / Buy
4Happy Never After 1995Description / Buy
5Heart Trouble 1996Description / Buy
6Strange Brew 1997Description / Buy
7Midnight Clear 1998Description / Buy
8Irish Eyes 2000Description / Buy
9Fatal Fruitcake (Short Story) 2012Description / Buy
10Killer Fudge (Short Story) 2012Description / Buy
11The Family Jewels (Short Story) 2014Description / Buy

Order of Truman Kicklighter Series as Kathy Trocheck

1Lickety-Split 1995Description / Buy
2Crash Course 1997Description / Buy

Order of Weezie & Bebe Mysteries Series

1Savannah Blues 2002Description / Buy
2Savannah Breeze 2006Description / Buy
3Blue Christmas 2006Description / Buy
4Christmas Bliss 2013Description / Buy

Order of Beach Town Series

1Beach Town 2015Description / Buy
2Change of Scene 2016Description / Buy

Order of Mary Kay Andrews Standalone Novels

1Little Bitty Lies 2003Description / Buy
2Hissy Fit 2004Description / Buy
3Deep Dish 2008Description / Buy
4The Fixer Upper 2009Description / Buy
5Summer Rental 2011Description / Buy
6Spring Fever 2012Description / Buy
7Ladies' Night 2013Description / Buy
8Save the Date 2014Description / Buy
9The Weekenders 2016Description / Buy
10The High Tide Club 2018Description / Buy
11Sunset Beach 2019Description / Buy
12Hello, Summer 2020Description / Buy
13The Newcomer 2021Description / Buy
14The Santa Suit 2021Description / Buy

Order of Mary Kay Andrews Non-Fiction Books

1The Beach House Cookbook 2017Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Callahan Garrity is the featured female protagonist in the “Callahan Garrity” series of books authored by Mary Kay Andrews. The first book portraying character Callahan Garrity was published in 1992 titled Every Crooked Nanny (albeit appearing as written by Kathy Hogan Trocheck), and this series of novels is shelved as (cozy) mystery genre.

Callahan Garrity, who is domiciled in Atlanta upon Georgia, is currently operating a house cleaning company and is also a private eye. She was formerly a police agent with an Atlanta-based force in the run-up to operating the aforementioned business.

The first book in the said Mary Kay Andrew’s series, Every Crooked Nanny, starts by showing how the then law enforcer has a new pursuit after quitting the police service. The first notable task which Callahan Garrity undertakes bears on her former career. Hereby, her customer has a teenage nanny; unfortunately for the customer, the nanny has stolen personal effects and other vital possessions then made a bolt for it. Callahan Garrity belatedly realizes that she is deep into the mire of fraud, shady transactions, and illegitimate romantic affairs. The ensuing plot as Garrity seeks to investigate while watching over her shoulder at the same is a stark pointer to the dexterity of Mary Kay Andrews in the context of writing; and made the woman of letters a nominee for The Agatha Awards in 1993.

Mary Kay Andrews Awards

Mary Kay Andrews has been a finalist for various coveted awards thanks to her bountiful writing career which spans more than twenty years. Perhaps the most notable one is The Agatha Awards in the Best Novel category in 1993. In this case, it concerned her 1993 novel titled To Live and Die in Dixie. In 1994, the same novel penned by Mary Kay Andrew culminated in her being a finalist in the context of the Anthony Awards, also in the Best Novel category.

Concerning The Macavity Awards, the author was also among the finalists in 1993 courtesy of her 1992 novel titled Every Crooked Nanny. This was in the Best First Novel category. The novel which Mary Kay Andrews published in 2002 under her pseudonym and titled Savannah Blues, was a finalist in 2003. This involved both The Edgar Awards and Macavity Awards in the Best Mystery Novel and Best Novel categories, respectively.

Best Mary Kay Andrews Books

A considerable number of the books authored by Mary Kay Andrews are bestsellers. Her books, such as Summer Rental and Savannah Breeze, have featured in bestselling listings of the New York Times. Even then the following are the best books penned by Mary Kay Andrews by virtue of being shortlisted for the aforementioned awards.

Arguably, the best book is the one titled To Live and Die in Dixie. To labor the point, it has been a finalist three times (Agatha, Anthony, and Macavity literary awards to put it in apple-pie order). This is the second book in the Callahan Garrity Mystery series. The plot contained therein revolves around Callahan Garrity who has chanced upon the corpse of a youthful lady after being hired by an antique collector.

Another worthwhile book is Savannah Blues; it has been a finalist twice (Edgar and Macavity literary awards). This 2002 book is the first in the Weezie and Bebe Mysteries and concerns Weezie Foley and her former spouse. Her unfaithful husband throws her out of the mansion she renovated. When she attends an auction early and chances upon the corpse of her ex-husband’s new lover, she becomes a person of interest.

Other Book Series You May Like

Voracious readers of books written by Mary Kay Andrews also found the following interesting. The first one is the Charlotte McNally series authored by Hank Phillippi Ryan; this is about a Boston-based and middle-aged investigative journalist in a luring world but fraught with dangers. Another one is Marty Nickerson book series by Rose Connors which more or less chronicles courtroom processes. The third is The Southern Sisters book series penned by Anne George; this is about Birmingham residents and sisters, Mary Alice and Patricia Anne, with contrasting personas.

When Does The Next Mary Kay Andrews book come out?

Mary Kay Andrews doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Santa Suit and was released on September, 28th 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *