Mason Cross Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Mason Cross is an author from Glasgow that writes thrillers. He’s quick to tell everyone who asks that Mason Cross is not his real name. Although, he truly lives in Glasgow with his wife and children.

Get notified when Mason Cross releases a new book at

Order of Carter Blake Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Killing Season 2014 Description / Buy
2 The Samaritan 2015 Description / Buy
3 The Time to Kill / Winterlong 2016 Description / Buy
4 Don't Look For Me 2017 Description / Buy
5 Presumed Dead 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Mason Cross Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 What She Saw Last Night (As: M.J. Cross) 2019 Description / Buy
2 Hunted (As: Alex Knight) 2020 Description / Buy
3 Darkness Falls (As: Alex Knight) 2022 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Cross is a massive fan of action thrillers. He loves the works of authors like Michael Connelly and Lee Child. Cross also appreciates action stars like Jason Bourne and James Bond. He gravitates toward fast-paced stories that compel him to keep turning the pages.

Cross endeavors to recreate this style in his books. The author was inspired to create the Carter Blake character after coming up with the opening line of the first book. In that opening line, the character reveals that ‘Carter Blake’ isn’t his name.

The line had a powerful impact on Cross because it created a mystery. He wanted to know who this man was and what made him tick. Writing came easily to the author. It is the one activity he’s been doing for as long as he can remember.

He took every opportunity to write at school. Once they got a computer at home, he started experimenting with ‘Choose Your Own Adventure Stories.’ Cross was an ambitious child. He would print out the stories and sell them to his classmates.

Cross had a university lecturer who told him he would become a writer. The memory stayed with him because the lecturer was particularly intimidating. He also stated the prediction like it was a fact.

Eventually, the author decided to put his skills to the test. He wanted to see if he could write a novel to completion. Even though Cross had finished many short stories, novels were his primary objective.

So he introduced Carter Blake and saddled him with a mysterious past to create opportunities for further exploration down the line. Cross kept Carter away from fixed jobs. This allowed the author to throw the hero into unique scenarios with different settings and an ever-changing cast of supporting characters.

This structure allowed Cross to toy with distinct styles of storytelling. For instance, some books in the Carter Blake series are action thrillers. Others are police procedurals. You also have chase thrillers.

This approach allows Cross to keep the stories fresh. The Glasgow author prefers to set his books in the US because he loves American thrillers.

Cross doesn’t travel as extensively as people think. He agrees that writers should travel whenever possible. They should expose themselves to new people and places to spark the creative process. However, even when he writes about places he’s never visited, the author can find whatever he needs online.

Additionally, his stories are not realistic, so the research isn’t as back-breaking. However, Cross tries to make the characters as grounded as possible. Otherwise, readers may struggle to suspend their disbelief.

Mason Cross Awards

Cross has received ‘Quick Reads Get Britain Reading’ and ‘Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year’ Award nominations.

Best Mason Cross Books

The author makes frequent appearances at book festivals, including the Edinburgh International Book Festival, Bute Noir, and North Lanarkshire Encounters. Cross’s best books include:

The Killing Season: Caleb Wardell was free. The infamous sniper escaped incarceration mere weeks before his execution. Caleb was no stranger to Carter Blake.

Carter was the one man the FBI trusted to find Caleb. The specialist was determined to stop the sniper’s seemingly random killing spree. He was aided in his efforts by Elaine Banner, a talented single mother, and agent with soaring ambitions.

But before they could get their man, Carter and Elaine were sidelined. Now, Carter must break all the rules and defy the FBI to do the right thing.

The Samaritan: Someone killed and mutilated a young woman in the Santa Monica mountains. Unfortunately, this was nothing new. The so-called Samaritan was on the loose, a killer that targeted young women whose cars had broken down.

Detective Jessica Allen knew the Samaritan would kill again because the police had no leads. When Carter Blake suddenly appeared and volunteered his skills to the police, Allen was suspicious, and for a good reason.

Carter fit the profile. Any savvy detective would have identified him as the Samaritan. But Allen wasn’t sure. The Samaritan was still killing, and she couldn’t afford to reject Carter’s offer if it meant saving innocent lives.

When Does The Next Mason Cross book come out?

Mason Cross doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Presumed Dead and was released on April, 19th 2018. It is the newest book in the Carter Blake Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *