Meg Cabot Books

Meggin Patricia Cabot is an American paranormal fiction and romance writer for adults and teens, who has penned down several books under her real names and pen names. However, currently, she writes exclusively using her real names. Cabot has penned down more than fifty books with The Princess Diaries being one of the most popular series by the author. Meg Cabot was born in Indiana. After graduating from the Indiana University, the author then relocated to New York City, with the hope of becoming a professional illustrator. However, it did not take long before she had to quit her job and began to work as a deputy manager at University freshmen dormitory. In the year 1993, Meg Cabot got married to poet and financial writer, Benjamin D. Egnatz.

Order of The Princess Diaries Series

Order of The Princess Diaries Companion Series

Order of Insatiable Series

# Read Title Published
1 Insatiable 2010
2 Overbite 2011

Order of Avalon High: Coronation Series

# Read Title Published
1 Avalon High 2005
2 The Merlin Prophecy 2007
3 Homecoming 2008
4 Hunter's Moon 2009

Order of Airhead Series

# Read Title Published
1 Airhead 2008
2 Being Nikki 2009
3 Runaway 2010

Order of Allie Finkle's Rules for Girls Series

Order of Boy Series

# Read Title Published
1 The Boy Next Door 2002
2 Boy Meets Girl 2004
3 Every Boy's Got One 2004
4 The Boy Is Back 2016

Order of From the Notebooks of a Middle School Princess Series

Order of All-American Girl Series

# Read Title Published
1 All-American Girl 2002
2 Ready or Not 2005

Order of Heather Wells Series

Order of The Mediator Series

# Read Title Published
1 Shadowland 2000
2 Ninth Key 2001
3 Reunion 2001
4 Darkest Hour 2001
5 Haunted 2003
6 Twilight 2005
7 Proposal 2016
8 Remembrance 2016

Order of 1-800-Where-R-You Series

# Read Title Published
1 When Lightning Strikes 2001
2 Code Name Cassandra 2001
3 Safe House 2002
4 Sanctuary 2002
5 Missing You 2006

Order of Queen of Babble Series

Order of Abandon Series

# Read Title Published
1 Abandon 2011
2 Underworld 2012
3 Awaken 2013

Order of Meg Cabot Standalone Novels


Print: Print PDF

After residing in New York, Indiana, and France, Cabot now spends most of her time in Key West, Bloomington and New York. One of the most notable series by the author is The Princess Diaries, which has been published in more than 40 countries. The very first book in this series was published in the year 2000. This book not only spent more than 37 weeks on the best sellers list but it was also sold to more than 37 countries.

Meg Cabot Awards

Meg Cabot is the recipient of several awards including the American Library Association Award, New York Public Library Books, Tennessee Volunteer State Awards, Evergreen Young Adult Award, Book Sense Pick, CBC Young Adult Choice and several others.

Meg Cabot Books into Movies

Due to the immense success of Princes Diaries, Disney had to adapt the book series into two feature films, under the same name.

Best Meg Cabot Books

The Princess Diaries: Princess Dairies is one of the best performing series by Meg Cabot. In the first installment in this book series, the author introduces the reader to Mia Thermopolis, who resides in Manhattan together with Helen, her mother who is a professional artist. Mia attends Albert Einstein High school, a private school and during the summers, she spends with her father in France. Mia knows that they are exceedingly rich; however she only believes that her father is just one of the local politicians. At her school, Mia is unpopular, while her friend Lily has her television show which she uses to expose the racism that is rampant among the Chinese deli owners who had been issuing out discounts to the Chinese students in her school. Mia is in love with the school’s most popular kid, Josh, who has no idea of who Mia is or even if they attend the same school.

For Mia, life has always been exceedingly difficult, however, when her dad informs her that he is Genovia’s crown prince, and because he has been battling with testicular cancer, Mia is the automatic heir to his throne. Mia is not happy with the sudden news; however, she decides to compromise with her dad. She decides that she will be attending school as usual, but during the summers, she was going to be the princess of Genovia. Mia was not expecting her grandmother to travel all the way to New York so that she could give her lessons about royalty. However, when she arrived in New York, her grandmother leaked the story about Mia to the press. As a character, Mia is quite engaging. Her personality and her voice always come through all her diary entries. She is exceedingly funny, though many at times she does not mean to.

She also can be insightful without even realizing it and reveals much more than what she intends to. She also allows the reader to get to know who she is and also see clearly, the way she does. However, her only downfall is that she is blinded by her own passions, interests, and opinions. This book has been cleverly written. Mia’s grandmother is quite scary. She not only wears a purple turban but she also smokes most of the time. The grandmother’s favorite drink is the cocktail. She comes out as a person who is not only cruel but also exceedingly harsh. She intimidates Philipe, her son and anyone who may try to cross her path. However, she would have to watch out for Mia, since she is slowly developing, maturing and transforming. This is an excellent read that will definitely keep you entertained.