Michael Koryta Books

Michael Koryta is a polymath. Why, he has been a private eye, journalist, screenwriter, and lectured journalism classes! Contextually, he is a tricenarian American writer. He has written acclaimed series and revered standalone novels. He is notable for writing especially The Lincoln Perry literary series.

Order of Lincoln Perry Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Tonight I Said Goodbye 2004 Description / Buy
2 Sorrow's Anthem 2006 Description / Buy
3 A Welcome Grave 2007 Description / Buy
4 The Silent Hour 2009 Description / Buy

Order of Markus Novak Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Last Words 2015 Description / Buy
2 Rise the Dark 2016 Description / Buy
3 The Last Honest Horse Thief 2018 Description / Buy

Order of Michael Koryta Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Envy the Night 2008 Description / Buy
2 So Cold the River 2010 Description / Buy
3 The Cypress House 2011 Description / Buy
4 The Ridge 2011 Description / Buy
5 The Prophet 2012 Description / Buy
6 Those Who Wish Me Dead 2014 Description / Buy
7 How It Happened 2018 Description / Buy
8 I'm Still Here 2019 Description / Buy
9 If She Wakes 2019 Description / Buy
10 The Chill ( As: Scott Carson) 2020 Description / Buy

Order of Michael Koryta Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Apex Predator (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy
2 Short Story (Short Story) ( With: Karin Slaughter) 2017 Description / Buy

Michael Koryta Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Seize the Night 2015 Description / Buy
2 Detours 2016 Description / Buy
3 MatchUp 2017 Description / Buy
4 Hark! the Herald Angels Scream 2018 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Lincoln Perry, a Cleveland-based private detective, is the featured protagonist in the “Lincoln Perry” series of books authored by Michael Koryta. The earliest book portraying character Lincoln Perry was initially published in 2004 titled Tonight I Said Goodbye, and this series of novels is archived under contemporary crime fiction genre.

Lincoln Perry, a youth adult, is a sleuth and a former policeman. After he is done with his stint as a cop, Perry teams up with Joe Pritchard. Pritchard, who is a retiree, is also a former cop but smarter than Perry. The duo is now operating an investigative agency.

The first book in this page-turner whodunit series, Tonight I Said Goodbye, starts by revisiting a seemingly suicide incident involving Wayne Weston, a Cleveland-resident and private eye. Bizarrely, both the spouse and baby of the deceased cannot be accounted for hard on the heels of the suspicious death. Prompted by Weston’s parent, Perry and Pritchard embark on a sleuthing mission. The duo realizes that they is more than meets the eye shortly thereafter. They not only have scant background information but also rub shoulders with Russian mafia in virtue of a gambling connection.

Helpful tips, assistance from authoritative sources and their relentless sleuthing notwithstanding, an unpredictable murder is a fly in the ointment. His crafting of the series is masterly and an out-and-out proof of his aptitude for writing, and, subsequently, won Michael Koryta The St. Martin’s Press/PWA award in the Best First PI Novel category.

Michael Koryta Awards

Since the time Michael Koryta put pen to paper in his early twenties, nominations and rewards have come in his train. In 2003, Koryta’s 2004 book, Tonight I Said Goodbye, was awarded by The St. Martin’s Press in conjunction with The Private Eye Writers of America (the PWA), in their Best First PI Novel category. In 2005, the debut was also among the nominees for the Edgar Awards in the Best First Novel (authored by Americans) category.

Michael Koryta, who is an alumnus of Indiana University, received the desirable Outstanding Young Alumni Award from the institution. In the years 2008 and 2010, his 2007 novel titled A Welcome Grave and the 2009 novel titled The Silent Hour were nominated for the Shamus Awards, respectively. Both books were in the Best PI Hardcover Novel categories. The 2008 novel called Envy the Night was among the finalists for the Barry Awards (2009) in the Best Novel category. Koryta’s 2011 book, The Cypress House, has also been nominated for the Goodreads Choice Awards’ Best Horror group.

Envy the Night won the Los Angeles Times Book Awards in the Mystery-cum-Thriller group. Read on other nominations. The Ridge was a favorite for both The International Thriller Writers Awards’ Best Hardcover Novel group and Macavity Awards in the Best Mystery section. The Cypress House was another favorite for the Gold Dagger Award (2011). Those Who Wish Me Dead, published in 2014, clinched the Barry Award (2015) in the Best Thriller category.

Michael Koryta Movies

Incidentally, there is no film adaptation in the market at the moment. However, plans are in the advanced stage–contractual agreements are over– of adapting nine books authored by Michael Koryta for the silver screen. The Lincoln Perry series of books has been earmarked for film adaptation. Other standalone books are the The Ridge (published in 2011), The Prophet (produced in 2012), the 2011 book titled So Called the River, and award-winning Those Who Wish Me Dead. The latter is being worked on by 20th Century Fox.

Best Michael Koryta Books

Many books authored by Michael Koryta have featured in notable bestseller listings. But the best of his books are those which have been runners-up or clinched awards. Tonight I Said Goodbye is a worthy read. The Ridge ticks all the boxes. This book is set in Blade Ridge upon Kentucky where, ironically, the person who built a lighthouse has died suspiciously, evoking a worrying local tale. A Welcome Grave, which is the third in the Lincoln Perry series, is a book worth your time. Hereby, Lincoln Perry’s archenemy, Jefferson, is killed; the investigators have closed in on Perry because he is a person of interest.

Other Book You May Like

Consistent readers of the literary work published by Michael Koryta also looked out for the following. The first is White Devil authored by Justin Evans; this paranormal book concerns a teenage American, who has an ill-fated life, schooling in a British school. Another worthwhile book is called Spiral by Paul McEun; this thriller is about a researcher-cum-laureate whose suspicious death seemingly resulted from being sacrificed at the altar of quest for battle supremacy. The Painted Darkness penned by Brian James Freeman is yet another one; this supernatural novel is about a painter whose childhood is marred by an indescribable phenomenon which inspired his drawing pursuit.

When Does The Next Michael Koryta book come out?

Michael Koryta doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is If She Wakes and was released on May, 14th 2019.