Michael Walsh Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

A famed and an award-winning American man of letters, Michael Walsh was born in October 1949. Walsh’s place of birth is Jacksonville upon North Carolina. Walsh is a notable polymath; he critiques both media and music, writes screenplays, has worked as a journalist, founder, and is a penman. What’s more, Walsh is a sought-after and globe-trotting speaker, blogger, columnist, and self-proclaimed futurist. Walsh is presently domiciled in New England.

Get notified when Michael Walsh releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Order of Devlin Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Hostile Intent 2009 Description / Buy
2 Early Warning 2010 Description / Buy
3 Shock Warning / Shock Wave 2011 Description / Buy

Order of Michael Walsh Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Exchange Alley 1997 Description / Buy
2 As Time Goes By 1998 Description / Buy
3 And All The Saints 2003 Description / Buy
4 Triangle 2012 Description / Buy
5 The Hatstand 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Michael Walsh Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Carnegie Hall ( With: Richard Schickel) 1987 Description / Buy
2 Who's Afraid of Classical Music? 1989 Description / Buy
3 Andrew Lloyd Webber 1989 Description / Buy
4 Lvov Ghetto Diary (As: David Kahane) 1990 Description / Buy
5 Who's Afraid of Opera? 1994 Description / Buy
6 So When Does the Fat Lady Sing? 2007 Description / Buy
7 Rules for Radical Conservatives (As: David Kahane) 2010 Description / Buy
8 The Devil's Pleasure Palace 2015 Description / Buy

Michael Walsh Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Sherlock Holmes in America 2001 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

For his undergraduate studies, Walsh attended the Rochester-based Eastman School of Music. Walsh started working as a reporter for the New York-based Democrat and Chronicle daily hard on the heels of his graduation, something that heralded his long stint in the media industry; other renowned magazines and dailies that Michael Walsh has since worked for include New York Post, Time magazine and the California-based San Francisco Examiner. Michael Walsh co-authored non-fiction work with the late American historian-cum-filmmaker Richard Schickel.

Basically, Michael Walsh writes fiction and non-fiction books under his legal name. Even then Walsh once wrote using a fictitious character’s name—David Kahane. In general, Walsh’s bibliography is three-pronged: it contains a series of books, several standalone novels, and acclaimed non-fiction books. Walsh has been writing since the late 1980s. In the context of writing novels, Walsh debuted in mid-1997, following the publication of his debut standalone novel entitled Exchange Alley.

Nevertheless, Michael Walsh is renowned for authoring his so far only book series, a trilogy named Devlin series. There are around eight editions of the first book in the Devlin series. The first edition was initially published in 2009, titled Hostile Intent; this book is shelved under the mystery, fiction, and thriller genres.

The major character in Michael Walsh’s book Hostile Intent goes by the cryptonym Devlin. Protagonist is a top-notch undercover agent attached to the National Security Agency wherein he leads a team in an elite unit named Branch 4. Devlin is the most efficient, discreet, and deadly US government operative who is often dispatched to tackle black operations. Devlin works anonymously because of the sensitivity of his clandestine operations.

Why should an official in possession of inside information want to frame Devlin and blow the agent’s cover? This is the cynosure in Hostile Intent, the first book in the serialized Devlin. Devlin, who is compelled to run for his dear life, soon knows why and is up to his eyeballs in problems. Devlin is pulled into the vortex of disastrous plots ranging from terrorism to holding pupils hostage to espionage that transcends America’s borders; wherein its president’s welfare, the lives of the citizenry, and the entire world are at stake in this impressive spy thriller from a multi-award-winning penman.

Michael Walsh Awards

In 2004, Michael Walsh clinched the American Book Award, in the Fiction category, thanks to his 2003 book entitled And All the Saints. In 1980, Walsh bagged the ASCAP-Deems Taylor Award in virtue of commendable criticism of music. The New York-based Art Director’s Club awarded Walsh a design award courtesy of his 2009 book named Futuretainment.

Best Michael Walsh Books

These are the best three books in Michael Walsh’s bibliography. The first, Hostile Intent, has already been described.

And All the Saints: This book chronicles organized crime, especially during the time (and criminal life) of the then New York-based notorious mafia don named Owney Madden and his expansionism.

Futuretainment: This book is more or less a guide that seeks to help marketers, media-oriented organizations, and entertainment companies take advantage of and navigate changes associated with the whirlpools of technologies.

Other Book Series You May Like

Readers who liked books authored by Michael Walsh, especially the notable Devlin trilogy, also liked these series of books. The first is named “Sam Markham” series, penned by Gregory Funaro. This is a duology and features protagonist Sam Markham, a homicide detective attached to the FBI; Markham is sleuthing gory deaths. The third is titled Crime Scene series, authored by Max Allan Collins. The series consists of eighteen books; it is not only associated with a similarly named popular American TV show, but also a media tie-in.

The second is called “Navy Justice” (alternatively named The Navy JAG), penned by Don Brown. This recounts the military life of protagonist Zack Brewer. Just like the previous occupation of Brown, Brewer is a naval officer who serves in a military legal unit called Judge Advocate General’s Corps, truncated JAG.

When Does The Next Michael Walsh book come out?

Michael Walsh doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Devil's Pleasure Palace and was released on June, 9th 2015. It is the newest book in the Michael Walsh Non-Fiction Books.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *