Mike Ashley Books

Mike Ashley is often described as an English Bibliographer, anthologist, and author. He has worked as an editor on notable projects like the Mammoth Book series and The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction.

Order of Arthurian Anthologies Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Pendragon Chronicles 1989 Description / Buy
2 The Camelot Chronicles 1992 Description / Buy
3 The Merlin Chronicles 1995 Description / Buy
4 The Chronicles of the Holy Grail 1996 Description / Buy
5 The Chronicles of the Round Table 1999 Description / Buy

Order of The History of the Science Fiction Magazine Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The History of the Science Fiction Magazine 1974 Description / Buy
2 The History of the Science Fiction Magazine, Part 2 1975 Description / Buy
3 The History of the Science Fiction Magazine, Volume 3 1976 Description / Buy
4 The History of the Science Fiction Magazine Part 4 1956-1965 1978 Description / Buy

Order of The Story of the Science-Fiction Magazines Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Time Machines 2001 Description / Buy
2 Transformations 2005 Description / Buy
3 Gateways to Forever 2007 Description / Buy
4 Science Fiction Rebels 2016 Description / Buy

Mike Ashley Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Royal Whodunnits 1999 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

The British author, who was born in 1948, has such wide-ranging tastes that it is almost impossible to pin him down. He has worked in fantasy, science fiction, and even mystery.

His interests seem to lie primarily in fiction magazines and long-forgotten authors. Most people call Mike Ashley a bibliographer because he is always researching and compiling fictional and non-fictional works.

He is also typically associated with his editing work because of all the time he spends curating magazines and anthologies. But Mike has always seen himself as a researcher more than anything else.

And all the roles he occupied over the years as an editor and a bibliographer merely spun out of his love for research.

He definitely enjoys compiling anthologies but research is his first true love. The field allows him to break new ground on a regular basis. He has been known to dabble in full-length biographies but only on rare occasions.

His one true interest has always been research. The reason Mike Ashley has worked in so many fields of fiction and nonfiction is that he considers the world of publishing to be a fascinating place.

There is so much to know, so many genres to explore and study. The author is fascinated by the unknown. Sometimes he finds that fascination tickled by the work he does in science fiction, the genre for which he is best known.

But there are also times when fantasy and the supernatural appeal to him. And he enjoys doing factual research into the origins of storytelling tools and ideas and how they have been explored by different forms of fiction.

This is why the author has never understood people who say they are bored. Mike is always making new discoveries. His anthologies and encyclopedias are always driving him to identify authors, books, and concepts from forgotten decades. And in trying to curate this information in a manner that will educate his readers, Mike Ashley can’t help but make new revelations.

He considers his life to be one of intrigue and excitement because no matter how much he learns about fantasy fiction and science fiction and space and history, there is always so much more to be discovered.

Mike Ashley Awards

Mike Ashley’s Mammoth Encyclopedia won him the Edgar Award in 2003. He also received the Pilgrim Award a year earlier.

Best Mike Ashley Books

The author has sold over a million copies of the dozens of books he has written over the course of his career, with some of the best titles in his bibliography including:

Mammoth Book of New Sherlock Holmes: Sherlock Holmes is the greatest detective in the history of fiction, and this book makes an ambitious attempt to collect and present all the Sherlock Holmes stories written after Sir Arthur Conan Doyle laid his pen down.

The volume is quite extensive, using almost two hundred thousand words to narrate the story of Sherlock Holmes and the cases he encountered in the order that they manifested.

You could call this volume a chronological accounting of the life of Sherlock Holmes. Fans of the detective will recognize and appreciate the style in which the stories in this volume where written.

Some readers might even recognize longer stories which began as teasers that Watson presented in passing in some of the more popular Sherlock Holmes adventures.

Mammoth Book of Comic Fantasy: As with other Mammoth books by Mike Ashley, this one attempts to collect and present a wide variety of comic fantasy stories. Some of the stories in this collection are simply classic reprints.

Others were written specifically for this volume. An attempt is made to provide a balance between new stories and old stories, new writers and old writers.

Despite its name, this book isn’t designed to make its readers laugh out loud. The objective is to reveal the sillier elements of magic and fantasy and to show all the hilariously bad things that can happen in a world that features dragons and wizards.

There are plenty of famous names included in the collection, authors like Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman.

When Does The Next Mike Ashley book come out?

Mike Ashley doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Science Fiction Rebels and was released on July, 1st 2016. It is the newest book in the The Story of the Science-Fiction Magazines Series.