Nancy Atherton Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Nancy Atherton is an American author born in Chicago, Illinois in 1955. Also called Nancy T. Atherton in some places, the author describes herself as a dark-haired American with a beaming smile and an unwrinkled face. She has also been described as an author that is always bounding around like a hyperactive gerbil. Equally entranced with both solitude and socialization, Nancy Atherton grew up in a large and gregarious family that shaped her personality and interests.

Get notified when Nancy Atherton releases a new book at

Order of Aunt Dimity Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Aunt Dimity's Death 1992 Description / Buy
2 Aunt Dimity and the Duke 1994 Description / Buy
3 Aunt Dimity's Good Deed 1996 Description / Buy
4 Aunt Dimity Digs In 1998 Description / Buy
5 Aunt Dimity's Christmas 1999 Description / Buy
6 Aunt Dimity Beats the Devil 2000 Description / Buy
7 Aunt Dimity: Detective 2001 Description / Buy
8 Aunt Dimity Takes a Holiday 2003 Description / Buy
9 Aunt Dimity: Snowbound 2004 Description / Buy
10 Aunt Dimity and the Next of Kin 2005 Description / Buy
11 Aunt Dimity and the Deep Blue Sea 2006 Description / Buy
12 Aunt Dimity Goes West 2007 Description / Buy
13 Aunt Dimity: Vampire Hunter 2008 Description / Buy
14 Aunt Dimity Slays the Dragon 2009 Description / Buy
15 Aunt Dimity Down Under 2010 Description / Buy
16 Aunt Dimity and the Family Tree 2010 Description / Buy
17 Aunt Dimity and the Village Witch 2012 Description / Buy
18 Aunt Dimity and the Lost Prince 2013 Description / Buy
19 Aunt Dimity and the Wishing Well 2014 Description / Buy
20 Aunt Dimity and the Summer King 2015 Description / Buy
21 Aunt Dimity and the Buried Treasure 2016 Description / Buy
22 Aunt Dimity and the Widow's Curse 2017 Description / Buy
23 Aunt Dimity and the King's Ransom 2018 Description / Buy
24 Aunt Dimity and the Heart of Gold 2019 Description / Buy
25 Aunt Dimity and the Enchanted Cottage 2022 Description / Buy

Nancy Atherton Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Malice Domestic 5 1996 Description / Buy
2 Naked Came the Farmer 1998 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

As an author, Nancy Atherton writes mysteries; some people have described her as a cozy mystery writer, though it would be more accurate to categorize her under the paranormal mystery arena. The difficulty regarding her categorization doesn’t emanate from the fact that she has written in such a wide range of genres.

In fact, most of Nancy’s efforts have been largely focused on writing the Aunt Dimity Series, for which Nancy has generated many novels; following the adventures of Lori Shepherd and her growing family as she encounters and solves mysteries, its because of the supernatural elements that she injects into her work that people cannot decide whether Nancy Atherton is a cozy mystery writer or paranormal mystery author.

Nancy Atherton Awards

While she has written numerous books in the Aunt Dimity series since 1992, Nancy Atherton hasn’t garnered any notable formal awards for her efforts. That doesn’t mean that her work hasn’t been recognized.

The first book in the Aunt Dimity series (Aunt Dimity’s Death) was Voted One of the Century’s 100 Favorite Mysteries by the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association.

She was also nominated for the Dilys Award by the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association for Aunt Dimity and the Duke’, her 1994 book.

Best Nancy Atherton Books

Nancy Atherton is primarily renowned for her Aunt Dimity series, and among the numerous volumes she has released in the series, the following best manifest her style and approach as an author:

Aunt Dimity’s Death: Lori Shepherd was down on her luck before Aunt Dimity came into the picture. The presence of the personality in Lori’s life was an unexpected surprise especially since she was certain that Aunt Dimity was just a pretend character in her mother’s bedtime stories.

Then the Dickensian law firm Willis & Willis offered to Lori the possibility of a large inheritance, but only if she could discover the secret hidden in the letters between her mother and Dimity.

There is a reason this was voted into the list of one hundred favorite mysteries of the century. The novel is easy to read. And it can appeal to everyone, from adults to children.

While seemingly a cozy mystery, most people will agree that this is more of a ghost story, one that happens to have elements of mystery and romance. Individuals that typically shun cozy mysteries have attested to finding this book engaging specifically because it has elements of romance and the paranormal.

The novel takes readers on a trip to the past; the story is sweet and near perfect in the way it is written. People have gone so far as to compare it to L.M. Montgomery or Jane Austen. The main character is an intriguing and highly engaging individual.

Additionally, the supporting cast is fun and appealing, not to mention the charming English location. Even readers that have accused the story of being predictable will admit that they had a lot of fun reading the book.

Aunt Dimity and the Duke: Emma Porter is a passionate amateur gardener. Fat, forty and frumpy, Emma is none too pleased when her longtime lover dumpers her for someone younger. Emma runs away, escaping to a summer-long driving tour of England’s glorious gardens.

A coincidence contrived by Dimity brings her all the way to Penford Hall. There she meets a Duke looking for a missing lantern endowed with amazing powers.

In accepting the Duke’s invitation to stay and restore a once glorious chapel garden to its former beauty, Emma is thrust into a dark and dangerous mystery that will require the timely assistance of Aunt Dimity’s ghost to resolve.

Aunt Dimity and the Duke proves that Nancy Atherton’s success with Aunt Dimity’s Death was no fluke. The book continues to break mystery writing norms and trends by eliminating the whodunit element and instead delving into the drama of disparate people looking to discover one another in a difficult and unpredictable world.

When Does The Next Nancy Atherton book come out?

Nancy Atherton doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Aunt Dimity and the Enchanted Cottage and was released on March, 3rd 2022. It is the newest book in the Aunt Dimity Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *