Nancy Taylor Rosenberg Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Nancy Taylor Rosenberg was an American author that came to fame when she wrote ‘Mitigating Circumstances’, her debut novel which became a bestseller. Born in 1946 in Dallas, Texas, Rosenberg studied Literature at Gulf Park College, Mississippi, having joined the institution at the age of 16.

Order of Lily Forrester Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Mitigating Circumstances 1993 Description / Buy
2 Buried Evidence 2000 Description / Buy
3 The Cheater 2009 Description / Buy
4 My Lost Daughter 2010 Description / Buy

Order of Carolyn Sullivan Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Sullivan's Law 2004 Description / Buy
2 Sullivan's Justice 2005 Description / Buy
3 Sullivan's Evidence 2006 Description / Buy
4 Revenge of Innocents 2007 Description / Buy

Order of Nancy Taylor Rosenberg Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Interest of Justice 1993 Description / Buy
2 First Offense 1994 Description / Buy
3 California Angel 1995 Description / Buy
4 Trial by Fire 1996 Description / Buy
5 Abuse of Power 1997 Description / Buy
6 Conflict of Interest 1999 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

A fan of books, horses, and fashion, she was also fortunate enough to land a position with Nieman Marcus Department. This was after leaving college. Rosenberg was a model. And while some people envied the opportunity the position gave her to appear in print ads, the author wasn’t happy.

She wanted to pursue a career that would permit her to give something back to the world, which is why she joined the Dallas Police Department (and eventually the new Mexico Police Department) as a police officer.

She also worked for the Ventura Police Department, California as an Investigative Probation Officer. The position in Ventura country was quite informative for Rosenberg because it gave her a glimpse into the criminal mind. She began to understand the kinds of people that committed crimes and the motivations that drove them.

She found that criminals were open with her in ways they weren’t with anyone else because they had already been convicted. They had nothing to hide. As such, they kept very few secrets from her.

After failing to shake her passion for literature, Rosenberg started looking for opportunities to write fiction. She had children to raise at the time and, along with the demands of her work, the author had little in the way of free time.

But she made things work. In 1991, she joined the UCLA Creative Writing Class. She was 44 at the time and unprepared for the scrutiny she would encounter. She has vivid memories of the cruel things her classmates said to her, with some of them encouraging her to find a more secure day job because they did not expect her to succeed as a writer.

Her skills left a lot to be desired at the time. But according to her teacher, Rosenberg refused to surrender to the criticisms that came her way. Rather, she used them to work harder. She was always rewriting and refining her work, and her efforts eventually paid off in 1992 when she published ‘Mitigating Circumstances’, an achievement that was accompanied by hefty financial rewards.

‘Mitigating Circumstances’ drew upon Rosenberg’s personal struggles. Like her protagonist, she was raped as a teenager. She was also a victim of incest. Her grandfather had a ranch where the author and her sister would spend the sweltering summers. It was there that he abused her.

For years, Rosenberg kept the trauma of her past hidden and buried. But after becoming a law enforcement officer, the interviews she held with sexual assault victims brought her pain to the surface.

‘Mitigating Circumstances’ was just one among many books that she wrote in an effort to find the justice that was denied her. She died in 2017.

Nancy Taylor Rosenberg Books into Movies

There were plans to turn ‘Mitigating Circumstances’ into a movie. Jonathan Demme was attached.

Best Nancy Taylor Rosenberg Books

The author’s fans will tell you that she was a philanthropist that dedicated her time and money to an inner-city youth writing program. Some of her best novels include:

Mitigating Circumstances: Lily Forrester’s life was a mess. The Assistant District Attorney’s marriage was failing, and not just because of the attractive man she was struggling to resist. But at least she had her career which was thriving. She had just become the new Chief of the Sex Crimes Division. She also had a 13-year-old daughter that filled her life with joy.

Everything changed when an intruder invaded Lily’s sanctuary and performed an unspeakable act. Now Lily is out for revenge and she won’t stop until her rage is assuaged.

Abuse of Power: Rachel Simmons couldn’t wait to join her small community’s police department. She was excited to give back, to help the hopeless and desperate. She never expected to encounter the trials that eventually came her way.

It started with an incident of police corruption which Rachel was unfortunate enough to witness. She did not hesitate to report it. The consequences followed soon after. Now Rachel is fighting for her life. Several enemies are out to get her and she cannot surrender to them without permitting her loved ones to come to harm.

When Does The Next Nancy Taylor Rosenberg book come out?

Nancy Taylor Rosenberg doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is My Lost Daughter and was released on August, 30th 2010. It is the newest book in the Lily Forrester Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *