Nick Oldham Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Nick Oldham is an English author and a former police officer that writes Mystery and Thriller novels. He was born in 1956 in Belthorn, Lancashire. After attending college, Oldham spent a year in a bank before finally becoming a police officer in the Lancashire Constabulary. Oldham was just 19 at the time.

Get notified when Nick Oldham releases a new book at

Order of Henry Christie Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 A Time For Justice 1996 Description / Buy
2 Nightmare City 1997 Description / Buy
3 One Dead Witness 1998 Description / Buy
4 The Last Big Job 1999 Description / Buy
5 Backlash 2001 Description / Buy
6 Substantial Threat 2002 Description / Buy
7 Dead Heat 2004 Description / Buy
8 Big City Jacks 2005 Description / Buy
9 Psycho Alley 2006 Description / Buy
10 Critical Threat 2007 Description / Buy
11 Screen of Deceit 2008 Description / Buy
12 Crunch Time 2009 Description / Buy
13 The Nothing Job 2009 Description / Buy
14 Seizure 2010 Description / Buy
15 Hidden Witness 2011 Description / Buy
16 Facing Justice 2011 Description / Buy
17 Instinct 2012 Description / Buy
18 Fighting for the Dead 2012 Description / Buy
19 Bad Tidings 2013 Description / Buy
20 Judgement Call 2014 Description / Buy
21 Low Profile 2014 Description / Buy
22 Edge 2015 Description / Buy
23 Unforgiving 2015 Description / Buy
24 Bad Blood 2017 Description / Buy
25 Bad Cops 2018 Description / Buy
26 Wildfire 2020 Description / Buy
27 Bad Timing 2020 Description / Buy
28 Scarred 2021 Description / Buy
29 Transfusion 2022 Description / Buy
30 Demolition 2022 Description / Buy
31 Death Ride  2023 Description / Buy

Order of Steve Flynn Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Onslaught 2016 Description / Buy
2 Ambush 2016 Description / Buy
3 Headhunter 2017 Description / Buy

Order of Nick Oldham Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Vendetta 2013 Description / Buy
2 We Still Kill the Old Way 2014 Description / Buy

Nick Oldham Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 Sherlock Holmes's School for Detection 2017 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

He eventually wrote the ‘Henry Christie’ novels which are crime procedurals that follow a Lancashire Constabulary police officer that starts as a detective sergeant before slowly climbing the ranks as he tackles the various criminal elements in his community.

Nick Oldham was still a police officer when he wrote the first Henry Christie novel in 1996. It received decent reviews, with critics praising the story for its flawed by engaging character and gritty realism.

The reception excited Oldham who went on to write several novels in the series, many of which were published by ‘Seven House’. The fact that Henry Christie’s adventures were set around Blackpool wasn’t a coincidence.

During his days as a police officer, Oldham spent a lot of time in Blackpool. Even though it was associated with frequent murders, it also attracted over ten million tourists every year, with the numbers surging in the summer. For Oldham, there was no better setting for his characters to explore the seedy workings of the criminal mind.

The author prefers to use real locations rather than creating fictional settings. This adds a sense of realism to his stories. Readers with personal and geographic connections to these settings are fascinated by his work and they appreciate the amount of research he does to make the locations as real as possible.

Though, the writer won’t hesitate to tweak his settings, changing certain aspects if it fits the story. Some of Oldham’s novels take place in fictional settings. However, he still goes out of his way to make these places as realistic as possible.

He takes great pleasure in interacting with readers who cannot help but implore him to show them these fictional settings on a map because he has done such an amazing job of describing them that his audience is convinced that they are real locations.

Though, of all the places he has written about, Blackpool is still his favorite. He has fond memories of the town and he is fascinated by the fact that so much of the crime happens in areas where families congregate to have fun.

It took him a while to realize that these ordinary individuals had no idea that they were surrounded by shady people that were hellbent on perpetrating all sorts of criminal activities under the noses of the police.

Best Nick Oldham Books

Oldham has been praised for writing exciting, engaging page-turners. Some of this best work includes:

A Time for Justice: Carl Hinksman knows what he has to do. Two Preston businessmen will die by his hand. He intends to do the deed on a busy motorway. His weapon of choice is a bomb. Carl wanted to eliminate both targets at once.

But complications arose. First of all, their car got stuck in traffic. Secondly, once the time came to execute the plan, only one target was inside. The bomb went off all the same and the carnage was incredible. But Carl is on the run now. With every police officer in the country on the lookout for him, it won’t be easy for Carl to stay ahead.

Jimmy Vickers is a dangerous man. As an interrogation specialist, his time with the military in Afghanistan furnished him with a special set of skills. But the people that killed his family did not know this.

It all began with George, his father. Some kids tried to rob him. George fought back. He wasn’t out for blood. George was just defending himself. And once he struck one particular thief, it was with the intention of knocking him out or possibly even breaking his jaw. He never meant to kill the kid.

But that is exactly what happened. In revenge, his friends invaded George’s house. They went too far, not only beating him but tying him up, raping his wife, and setting the couple on fire. Now, unlike George, Jimmy is out for blood.

He is hunting the gang that killed his parents, one member, at a time, and he won’t stop until his desire for vengeance is satisfied. Meanwhile, the police and his regiment are working tooth and nail to stop him.

When Does The Next Nick Oldham book come out?

Nick Oldham doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Death Ride  and was released on March, 7th 2023. It is the newest book in the Henry Christie Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *