Nicola Upson Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Nicola Upson is a British author popularly known for An Expert in Murder series among other novels featuring Josephine Tey, a detective as the main character. She was born in Suffolk England and has always had a passion for reading and writing books, a passion that triggered her to enroll for English studies at Downing College.

Get notified when Nicola Upson releases a new book at

Order of Josephine Tey Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 An Expert in Murder 2008 Description / Buy
2 Angel with Two Faces 2009 Description / Buy
3 Two for Sorrow 2010 Description / Buy
4 Fear in the Sunlight 2012 Description / Buy
5 The Death of Lucy Kyte 2013 Description / Buy
6 London Rain 2015 Description / Buy
7 Nine Lessons 2017 Description / Buy
8 Sorry for the Dead 2019 Description / Buy
9 The Secrets of Winter / Dead of Winter 2020 Description / Buy
10 Dear Little Corpses 2022 Description / Buy
11 Shot With Crimson 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Nicola Upson Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Stanley and Elsie 2019 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

At Downing campus, she became one of the best students and went ahead to pursue her lifetime career as a writer. The author has worked as a freelance journalist and also in theaters; she is the author of two non-fiction writing and a recipient of Escalator Award awarded by Arts Council England.

Nicola Upson made her entry into the publishing world, after the publication of An Expert in Murder in 2008, the first novel in a series of books featuring Josephine Tey, a police detective as the main character. Upson lives with her husband in Cambridge but spends most of her time in Cornwall apparently the setting of her second book, Angel with Two Faces. The third book in Josephine Tey series is Two for Sorrow while the third is Fear in the Sunlight.


These are three best books by Nicola Upson.

The Death of Lucy Kyte: When Josephine Tey surprisingly inherits Red Barn Cottage from her distant godmother, the will clearly indicate that she must claim the house in the Suffolk countryside personally. However, she is not the only benefactor since a lady named Lucy Kyte is also listed as a benefactor in Hester’s will.

Sorting through her godmother’s belongings, her attention is drawn by a shocking death committed in the cottage compound 100 years ago. This old crime is known as the Red Barn Murder and appears to haunt the compact village and its occupants as well.

Is the threat real, or is this just a superstition? Could the hidden truth be related to the unknown Lucy Kyte, the one woman that no one admits knowing?

With the stakes high, Josephine must investigate the historical tragedy, so as to avoid the present danger it presents and prevent a deadly series of events from happening.

Josephine Tey was a real person, a playwright, and a novelist even though featured as a fictional character in the novels by Nicola Upson. However, in this novel, the story is entirely fictional but contains some historical context and real life facts.

The story is progressively creepy, and it relates to a crime committed years ago in East Anglia that includes some gruesome details that are historically accurate.

London Rain: This is the sixth installment in Josephine Tey series by Nicola Upson. It is 1937, after the resignation of King Edward VIII and the entire city is ready to welcome to power King George. One of the featured activities for the festivities is an adaptation of Queen of Scot and Josephine Tey the original playwright has been invited for the rehearsals.

However, while on stage another drama unfolds as the lead actress in the play has been sleeping with Anthony Beresford, Britain’s most renowned newsman. Beresford is shot dead while in his broadcasting booth during the climax of the coronation ceremony.

Detective Archie Penrose has this murder case wrapped up but not for long as a second related crime is reported and this time it falls into the hands of Josephine to uncover the chain of betrayal, jealousy, and deeply buried secrets.

Fear in the Sunlight: It is the summer of 1936, and her friends join Josephine Tey for a holiday vacation in the village of Portmeirion for the celebration of her 40th birthday. Couple Alfred Hitchcock and Alma Reveille are also present to sign a deal to adapt Josephine book A Shilling for Candles into a movie and on his sleeves, Hitchcock has some tricks to keep the everyone entertained as well as reveal their darkest fears.

However, things take a complete turn when one of Hollywood famous actress is murdered in cemetery proximal to the village. The next day, as suspicion and fear rage through the small village, Chief Inspector Penrose is quite unsatisfied with the way the murder case is resolved. After a few years, another death occurs, one that is linked to the Hitchcock film, one that sends the chief inspector Penrose to the original crime scene to uncover the whole truth.

If you love murder mystery novels, then Nicola Upson novels should quench your reading thirst.

When Does The Next Nicola Upson book come out?

Nicola Upson doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Shot With Crimson and was released on November, 7th 2023. It is the newest book in the Josephine Tey Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *