Patrick O’Brian Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

A multi-award-winning English scribbler who has since died, Patrick O’Brian’s place of birth was Chalfont St Peter village upon Buckinghamshire in the UK. O’Brian was born in December 1914. Did you know that the penman’s birth name was Richard Patrick Russ? A deed poll enabled O’Brian to legally change his name in mid-1945, ostensibly to distance himself from his Second World War controversial occupations. O’Brian passed away in January 2000 in his mid-eighties. Patrick O’Brian’s occupation ranged from writing novel-length books and short stories, to undertaking translation projects. In matters books, O’Brian’s niche ranged from literature and fiction, to biographies and memoirs, to historical fiction books.

Order of Aubrey/Maturin Series

1Master and Commander 1969Description / Buy
2Post Captain 1972Description / Buy
3H.M.S. Surprise 1973Description / Buy
4The Mauritius Command 1977Description / Buy
5Desolation Island 1977Description / Buy
6The Fortune of War 1978Description / Buy
7The Surgeon's Mate 1980Description / Buy
8The Ionian Mission 1981Description / Buy
9Treason's Harbour 1983Description / Buy
10The Far Side of the World 1984Description / Buy
11The Reverse of the Medal 1986Description / Buy
12The Letter of Marque 1988Description / Buy
13The Thirteen-Gun Salute 1989Description / Buy
14The Nutmeg of Consolation 1991Description / Buy
15The Truelove / Clarissa Oakes 1992Description / Buy
16The Wine-Dark Sea 1993Description / Buy
17The Commodore 1994Description / Buy
18The Yellow Admiral 1996Description / Buy
19The Hundred Days 1998Description / Buy
20Blue at the Mizzen 1999Description / Buy
2121: The Final Unfinished Voyage of Jack Aubrey (Short Story) 2004Description / Buy

Order of Patrick O'Brian Standalone Novels

1Caesar (Short Story) 1930Description / Buy
2Hussein 1938Description / Buy
3Testimonies 1952Description / Buy
4The Catalans 1953Description / Buy
5The Road to Samarcand 1954Description / Buy
6The Golden Ocean 1956Description / Buy
7The Unknown Shore 1959Description / Buy
8Richard Temple 1962Description / Buy

Order of Patrick O'Brian Short Story Collections

1The Chian Wine 1974Description / Buy
2The Rendezvous and Other Stories 1994Description / Buy
3Collected Short Stories 1995Description / Buy
4No Pirates Nowadays and Other Stories: Three Nautical Tales 2014Description / Buy
5Beasts Royal: Twelve Tales of Adventure (Short Story) 2015Description / Buy
6The Uncertain Land and Other Poems 2019Description / Buy

Order of Patrick O'Brian Non-Fiction Books

1Men-of-War (Short Story) 1974Description / Buy
2Picasso 1976Description / Buy
3Joseph Banks 1987Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Patrick O’Brian published his first literary work while still young. O’Brian’s debut novel, titled Caesar, was published in his teenage. The penman started writing on a serious note in mid-1940s. Even then his scope was limited to translating French content and was not famous till his penned his acclaimed series. In 1967, Patrick O’Brian started penning his most notable novel series. O’Brian’s big break came in his fifties, hot on the heels of the discovery of his series by a US publishing house.

Mentioning the name Patrick O’Brian conjures up the 21-book Aubrey and Maturin series. Even then there is a duology in his bibliography. There are about 104 editions of O’Brian’s first book in the serialized Aubrey and Maturin. The first edition was initially published in 1969, entitled Master and Commander; and this book is shelved under the fiction (especially historical fiction and naval fiction) and adventure genres.

The featured protagonists in Patrick O’Brian’s 1969 book Master and Commander are Jack Aubrey and Stephen Maturin. Though fictitious characters serving in the Royal Navy in different capacities, both Aubrey and Maturin are aboard the then actual brig-sloop named HMS Sophie. On the one hand, Aubrey is a naval officer initially holding the rank of a captain but is promoted progressively until he becomes a rear-admiral. Aubrey is a courageous and brainy sailor. On the other hand, Maturin is an adept ship’s surgeon who doubles up as a spy and natural scientist; Maturin, who is of Irish descent, is daring, passionate, and perplexing.

Patrick O’Brian’s renowned Aubrey and Maturin series is set in the backdrop of the famed Napoleonic Wars that occurred between 1803 and 1815. Incidentally, the said wars are synonymous with military genius Napoleon Bonaparte. Aubrey and Maturin were looking forward to a duel but they buried the hatchet hard on the heels of Aubrey’s promotion to the position of a ship’s captain and who realized that he needed particularly Maturin’s surgical knowledge. Thus heralds Aubrey and Maturin’s friendship and professional working relationship that transcends naval battles in this award-nominated book.

Patrick O’Brian Awards

Patrick O’Brian has won many literary prizes. In 1970, O’Brian was nominated for the Man Booker Prize, thanks to his book Master and Commander. In 1995, O’Brian clinched the Heywood Hill Literary prize courtesy of his literary works. In 1997, the Dublin-based Trinity College Dublin proffered O’Brian with a honorary doctorate.

Patrick O’Brian Books into Movies

The first book in Patrick O’Brian’s series was adapted into a film. In the 2003 film named Master and Commander, the starring actors are Englishman Russell Crowe and New Zealand filmmaker Paul Bettany who portray Captain Jack Aubrey and surgeon Stephen Maturin, respectively.

Best Patrick O’Brian Books

These are the best books in Patrick O’Brian’s bibliography. The first is Master and Commander.

Post Captain: This is the second novel in the Aubrey and Maturin book series. Published in 1972, this book recounts the (mis)fortunes of the duo following the Treaty of Amiens after which peace prevails.

H.M.S. Surprise: This is the third installment in O’Brian’s serialized Aubrey and Maturin. Published in 1973, it features a financially unstable Jack Aubrey who is now commanding a ship named HMS Surprise in an expedition in the Indian Ocean. Aubrey sees a Napoleon fleet as his gateway to regaining his wealth.

Other Book Series You May Like

Readers who liked Patrick O’Brian’s series also liked these literary series. Just like O’Brian’s series, Dewey Lambdin’s 23-book “Alan Lewrie” series recounts the naval expeditions of protagonist Alan Lewrie. Sean Thomas Russell’s tetralogy, “Charles Hayden” series, features protagonist Charles Hayden, a Royal Navy captain. The “Lymond Chronicles” series, a sextet authored by Dorothy Dunnett, recounts the approval-seeking military exploits of a dishonored Sixteenth century Scottish polymath named Francis Crawford of Lymond.

When Does The Next Patrick O'Brian book come out?

Patrick O'Brian doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Uncertain Land and Other Poems and was released on March, 21st 2019. It is the newest book in the Patrick O'Brian Short Story Collections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *