Patrick Rothfuss Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Patrick Rothfuss is an award-winning bestselling author who writes fantasy novels. Rothfuss is best known for the Kingkiller Chronicle.

The author was born in 1973 in Madison, Wisconsin. He attended DeForest Area High School and the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point. He also acquired a Master’s Degree in Arts and English (Washington State University).

Get notified when Patrick Rothfuss releases a new book at

Order of Kingkiller Chronicle Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Name of the Wind 2007 Description / Buy
2 The Wise Man's Fear 2011 Description / Buy
3 The Slow Regard of Silent Things 2014 Description / Buy
4 The Narrow Road Between Desires 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Kingkiller Chronicle Short Stories/Novellas

# Read Title Published Details
1 How Old Holly Came to Be 2013 Description / Buy
2 The Lightning Tree 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Adventures Of Princess & Mr. Whiffle Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Thing Beneath the Bed (Short Story) 2010 Description / Buy
2 The Dark of Deep Below (Short Story) 2013 Description / Buy
3 The Princess and Mr. Whiffle Coloring Book (Short Story) 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Patrick Rothfuss Graphic Novels with Jim Zub, Wizards of the Coast

# Read Title Published Details
1 Rick and Morty vs. Dungeons & Dragons (Short Story) 2019 Description / Buy
2 Rick and Morty vs. Dungeons & Dragons Complete Adventures ( With: Jim Zub, Troy Little) 2022 Description / Buy

Patrick Rothfuss Anthologies

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Year's Best Science Fiction & Fantasy, 2009 2008 Description / Buy
2 Unfettered 2013 Description / Buy
3 Rogues 2014 Description / Buy
4 The Year's Best Science Fiction & Fantasy Novellas 2015 2015 Description / Buy
5 The Secret Loves of Geeks 2018 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Rothfuss credits his parents for depriving him of cable television and, instead, encouraging him to read. He remembers putting their lessons to good use by penning terrible short stories and poems.

They served their purpose by showing him what not to do. Life at Stevens Point was more chaotic than Rothfuss expected, mostly because he struggled to identify a fitting career path. Initially, he pursued chemical engineering.

But it did not take him long to realize how boring it was. So he spent nearly a decade switching majors, taking semesters off, and generally enjoying his experience as a college student. Eventually, he graduated with an English major.

By then, Rothfus had already revealed ‘The Book,’ to his friends. Later on, the author would split the volume into three books, the first of which would become ‘The Name of the Wind.’ But at the start, it was a single novel with a complex story that Rothfus was struggling to perfect.

His big break came when he extracted a chapter from the book, turned it into a short story, and submitted it to the Writers of the Future Competition.

While winning the contest was a big deal, it wasn’t enough to open the publishing doors for Rothfuss. In fact, numerous publishers had already rejected the book.

It took a series of unexpected events to change the trajectory of his career. First, winning the competition earned him an opportunity to attend several workshops in California. One afternoon workshop was led by Kevin Anderson.

That evening, Rothfuss was walking through the hotel’s lobby when he saw Anderson holding a graphic novel. They spent several minutes talking about comic books, and at the end, Anderson asked Rothfuss if he wanted to get a beer.

Even though the author does not drink, he agreed. They spent hours talking about books at the bar. Like many aspiring writers, Rothfuss was tempted to grovel at Anderson’s feet and to ask the professional to read his book.

However, he also understood that many established authors were weary of newbies who hounded them for publishing opportunities. So he decided to play it cool, casually mentioning that he’d written a trilogy, but fighting the urge to annoy Anderson with uncouth requests.

When they parted ways, the last thing Rothfuss expected to find back home in Wisconsin was an email from Anderson. Besides reading his book and loving it, Anderson connected the author to his agent.

Rothfuss couldn’t believe his luck. He emailed the manuscript to Matt, Anderson’s agent, taking his first steps towards a successful publishing career.

Patrick Rothfuss Awards

Rothfuss has won Quill and Gemmell Awards.

Best Patrick Rothfuss Books

The author runs the Worldbuilders charity. The organization’s achievements include raising more than ten million dollars for Heifer International. Rothfuss’s best books include:

The Name of the Wind: Kvothe was destined for misery, or so some assumed when they first met him. After all, he was little more than a feral orphan doing his best to survive in a crime-ridden city. His time with a troupe of traveling players hadn’t prepared him for the harsh realities of life.

Fortunately, Kvothe had an unbreakable will. He was determined to rise above his station to become the kingdom’s most notorious wizard. That meant entering a legendary magic school and learning everything he could about the arcane arts.

The Wiseman’s Fear: Kvothe had survived more than most, having escaped a tragic childhood to make a name for himself at a renowned magic school. So he was more than ready to face the consequences when his rivalry with a powerful foe forced the wizard out of university.

Although, no one warned him that seeking his fortune abroad would pit him against everything from dastardly nobles to ruthless assassins.

But again, Kvothe was a force of nature and he was determined to solve the mystery behind his parents’ death, even if it meant tangling with Gods and monsters.

When Does The Next Patrick Rothfuss book come out?

Patrick Rothfuss doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is The Narrow Road Between Desires and was released on November, 14th 2023. It is the newest book in the Kingkiller Chronicle Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *