Peter Grainger Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Peter Grainger is the bestselling author who writes mystery genre. He admits that he has always been a reader and got into crime novels through television series such as Frost and Morse. Grainger independently published three books on Amazon Kindle before starting a novel crime project of his own.

Get notified when Peter Grainger releases a new book at

Order of DC Smith Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 An Accidental Death 2013 Description / Buy
2 But For The Grace 2014 Description / Buy
3 Luck and Judgement 2015 Description / Buy
4 Persons of Interest 2015 Description / Buy
5 In This Bright Future 2016 Description / Buy
6 The Rags of Time 2016 Description / Buy
7 Time and Tide 2017 Description / Buy
8 A Private Investigation 2018 Description / Buy
9 The Truth 2021 Description / Buy
10 The Camera Man 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Kings Lake Investigation Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Songbird 2019 Description / Buy
2 On Eden Street 2020 Description / Buy
3 Roxanne 2020 Description / Buy
4 Missing Pieces 2021 Description / Buy
5 Another Girl 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Willows and Lane Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Lane 2017 Description / Buy
2 One-Way Tickets 2018 Description / Buy
3 Arcadia 2022 Description / Buy

Order of Peter Grainger Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 Afon (As: Robert Partridge) 2012 Description / Buy
2 The Rink (As: Robert Partridge) 2012 Description / Buy
3 Asher (As: Robert Partridge) 2013 Description / Buy

Order of Peter Grainger Collections as Robert Partridge

# Read Title Published Details
1 Paris and Other Love Stories (Short Story) (As: Robert Partridge) 2014 Description / Buy

Order of Robert Partridge Collections as Robert Partridge

# Read Title Published Details
1 Paris and Other Love Stories (Short Story) 2014 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

Grainger is popularly known for writing D.C Smith series which debuted into the market in 2013 when An Accidental Death was published. The second novel in the series is But for the Grace which was released in 2014.


These are three best books written by Peter Grainger, An Accidental Death, Luck and Judgment, and Persons of Interest.

An Accidental Death: An Accidental Death is the first novel in DC Smith series. The book opens up with the accidental drowning of 6th form student in Norfolk countryside. Just, as usual, the case passes across the desk of Sergeant Smith who has just returned to work after the investigation into another case that caused tensions between officers King Lake Police headquarters. As a former DCI, Smith could have been retired by now, and it is also evident that most of his superior wish that he would so anytime soon.

The last trainee to work under him is the child of a member of his previous team, and together they start investigating Wayne Fletcher case. As their investigations continue, it becomes evidently clear that there are other people involved in this case- and some are determined to ensure that the truth does not surface at all cost.

At last, Smith decides to investigate alone and steps outside the safety box to find out the truth. He understands that his own life is still at risk but is yet to figure out that the life of his young assistant could also be in danger too.

The first series installment is a quirky and an interesting detective story. The protagonist, DC Smith, is a guy of many hidden talents and most of which are unknown to his colleagues. He is not scared of making use of his unorthodox methods to achieve positive results. The investigation into the accidental death leads to a greater and fascinating mystery. This story is also filled with interesting cast and a good character development. The plot develops pretty well, slowly revealing hints along the way.

Luck and Judgment: After a worker vanishes from a North Sea gas platform, only two possible explanations are available- first, it was a suicide, or it was just an accident. However, it does not take Detective Smith and his team long to find out the victim James Bell lived a double life back onshore in Kings Lake, one complicated life that would have made him one deadly enemy. Before the case can be investigated, Smith must his new team working together, and once it is done, they start investigating the relationship between the companies the personnel that bring ashore, gas and oil. They find themselves caught in a side of life that exists beneath the Lakes “inlets” and “outlets.”

The third series installment is an excellent police procedural- the narrative follows Smith team as it goes through all the work concerning the case at hand. In this novel, the author allows the readers to have a glimpse of into Smith complex life and also a taste of his team members in between the bits of the investigations. This book is not about car chases, or violent battles or even gun battles, but instead, it is more about things can get out of hand with some unexpected results. The series also gives a glimpse of how an intelligent and brave police officer can bring justice to a victim and families that are a collateral damage.

Persons of Interest: During one peaceful and quiet Saturday afternoon, DC Smith mobile phone rings. It is not bizarre that the call came from the central police department, what is unusual about the call is that he is the subject matter of the investigation rather than participating in one. What could be the relationship between a prisoner’s death in the foreign country, the disappearance of two teenagers and a high profile case in Kings Lake?

As usual, DC Smith and his team begin to piece together the threats, and it soon becomes apparent that they are dealing with some of the violent people that they have never encountered. Will DC Smith and his team finally solve the mystery surrounding the three cases or will they be caught in the underbelly of this monstrous case?

When Does The Next Peter Grainger book come out?

Peter Grainger doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is Another Girl and was released on September, 30th 2023. It is the newest book in the Kings Lake Investigation Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *