Peter May Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Peter May is a Scottish crime writer, television screenwriter, novelist. He was born on December 20, 1951, in Glasgow. From a tender age, he always wanted to become a writer. However, he opted to pick a career in journalism since it was an easy way to make money through writing. At the tender age of 19 years, May made his very first serious attempt at writing a book. After completing the final draft, he sent the book to Philip Ziegler of Collins, who replied with a very encouraging rejection letter. At 21 years, he was not only named the Young Journalist of the year in Scotland, but he also won the Fraser Award. He, later on, went on to write for the Glasgow Evening Times and The Scotsman.

Get notified when Peter May releases a new book at

Order of The China Thrillers Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Firemaker 1999 Description / Buy
2 The Fourth Sacrifice 2000 Description / Buy
3 The Killing Room 2000 Description / Buy
4 Snakehead 2002 Description / Buy
5 The Runner 2003 Description / Buy
6 Chinese Whispers 2004 Description / Buy
7 The Ghost Marriage (Short Story) 2010 Description / Buy

Order of The Enzo Files Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 Extraordinary People / Dry Bones 2006 Description / Buy
2 The Critic / A Vintage Corpse 2007 Description / Buy
3 Blacklight Blue 2008 Description / Buy
4 Freeze Frame 2010 Description / Buy
5 Blowback 2010 Description / Buy
6 Cast Iron 2017 Description / Buy
7 The Night Gate 2021 Description / Buy

Order of Lewis Trilogy Series

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Blackhouse 2009 Description / Buy
2 The Lewis Man 2011 Description / Buy
3 The Chessmen 2012 Description / Buy
4 The Black Loch 2024 Description / Buy

Order of Peter May Standalone Novels

# Read Title Published Details
1 The Reporter 1978 Description / Buy
2 Fallen Hero 1979 Description / Buy
3 The Man with No Face / Hidden Faces 1981 Description / Buy
4 The Noble Path 1992 Description / Buy
5 Virtually Dead 2010 Description / Buy
6 Entry Island 2013 Description / Buy
7 Runaway 2015 Description / Buy
8 Coffin Road 2016 Description / Buy
9 I'll Keep You Safe 2018 Description / Buy
10 A Silent Death 2020 Description / Buy
11 Lockdown 2020 Description / Buy
12 A Winter Grave 2023 Description / Buy

Order of Peter May Non-Fiction Books

# Read Title Published Details
1 Hebrides 2013 Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

At the age of 26 years, Peter May’s The Novel was published, his very first novel. Peter May was approached with an offer to adapt the book as a TV series for BBC. In the year 1978, May left journalism and became a full-time writer. The Reporter became a prime time television series known as The Standard in the year 1978. Peter May, later on, created another successive television series for the BBC known as the Squadron. The squadron is a television drama series, which involves a rapid RAF swift deployment Squadron. During the 15 years that followed, David May managed to earn more than 1,000 television credits. He developed and wrote several major drama series for the Independent Television Network and the BBC.

After he quit TV, May began working on a six novel series known as the China Thrillers. While researching on the books, Peter May had to make yearly trips to China and also develop a network of contacts including homicide detectives and forensic pathologists. He also managed to gain access to forensic science and homicide sections of Shanghai and Beijing police forces. He has also created a methodological study of the forensic pathology systems and Chinese police force.

Peter May Awards

He is also the recipient of numerous writing awards in America and Europe. Her novel Blackhouse won the United States Barry Awards for the Crime Novel of the Year and also the National Theatre awards in France. Another novel by the author, The Lewis Man won the Le Télégramme’s Prix des Lecteurs award by the French Newspaper. In the year 2014, the novel Entry Island won the Crime Novel Award during the Denton’s Scottish Awards. Apart from winning numerous awards, Peter May’s novels have managed to sell more than2 million copies throughout the UK and worldwide.

Peter May Books into Movies

Peter May is one of the most decorated scriptwriters. He has more than 1,000 television credits. He has worked for hand in hand with BBC and the Independent Television Network on some of their best performing series.

Peter May Best Books

Blackhouse: In the novel the Blackhouse, the author introduces the reader to Fin who is a detective who is based in Edinburgh. He returns to Lewis Island a place where he was brought up because of certain similarities with a murder case that he had been working on. A man had been found dead, with his bowels being out in the open. As he conducts the investigation, he discovers that the killing was done by his childhood nemesis and bully. Furthermore, his investigation makes him brush shoulders with different people and also makes him deal with some painful memories from childhood that he had already left behind. Some of these painful memories include his failures from his first love, who currently is married to one of his best friend. Due to the death of his parents at a very early age, Fin has no family ties. However, he finds out that his spirit is inspired by a life that he had decided to leave behind long ago.

With that said, the storyline is an effective vehicle that the author uses to portray the paradoxically stark and rich life of this exceedingly isolated and remote community, together with the beauty of its meadows, bogs, and rocky coasts. The Lewis Man is also another great addition to the Lewis book series. The protagonist, Fin makes a return in the Isle of Lewis, where he was born and brought-up. After living his former life in Edinburgh, including his career and wife, Fin is more than determined on repairing his previous relationship and also restore the cottage that his parents used to live in. Fin’s plans are suddenly when a corpse is discovered from a Lewis peat Swamp. The only clue that he finds is the DNA left behind which matches to that of a local farmer.

When Does The Next Peter May book come out?

The next book by Peter May is The Black Loch and will be released on September, 12th 2024. It is the newest book in the Lewis Trilogy Series.

1 thought on “Peter May”

  1. So, this is the author of the Blackhouse series? I am interested in checking out some of these other books. The Blackhouse trilogy is my all time favorite and if you haven’t read it, you should because it is amazing!

    It hooked me from the first page and when I got to the last page I immediately purchased the other two books in the series. The characters feel very real with no romanticizing which serves the plot’s realism. Funny how that works, huh? This is a dark story with a serious plot, but one that sticks with you and keeps you wanting more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *