Phil Rickman Books

Description /Buy link takes you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Author Phil Rickman was born in Lancashire in the northern part of England, and would go on to work as a journalist. Rickman has spent most of his adult life in the Border country and in Wales. He won awards as a television reporter and for his work on the radio. The first book that he ever had published is a book called “Candlenight”, which came out in the year 1991. The novel was discovered by a novelist and fiction editor named Alice Thomas Ellis and additional stand alone ghost stories followed after that. Rickman and his wife Carol met while working as journalists at the same newspaper and live close to Hay-on-Wye with a bunch of animals. She edits while he writes. While writing, Rickman does research into different subjects like religion, supernatural, and folklore; Rickman says that if he cannot believe a certain thing that it will not make its way into the novel that he is working on. Early on in his career, his work was labeled in the horror genre, something that he does not like or even agree with. He also does a program on English radio about books called “Phil the Shelf”.

Order of Merrily Watkins Series

1The Wine of Angels 1998Description / Buy
2Midwinter of the Spirit 1999Description / Buy
3A Crown of Lights 2001Description / Buy
4The Cure of Souls 2001Description / Buy
5The Lamp of the Wicked 2003Description / Buy
6The Prayer of the Night Shepherd 2004Description / Buy
7The Smile of a Ghost 2005Description / Buy
8The Remains of an Altar 2006Description / Buy
9The Fabric of Sin 2007Description / Buy
10To Dream of the Dead 2008Description / Buy
11The Secrets of Pain 2011Description / Buy
12The Magus of Hay 2013Description / Buy
13The House of Susan Lulham 2014Description / Buy
14Friends of the Dusk 2015Description / Buy
15All of a Winter's Night 2017Description / Buy
16For the Hell of It 2019Description / Buy

Order of Merrily Watkins Companion Series

1Merrily's Border 2009Description / Buy

Order of Grayle Underhill & Bobby Maiden Series

1The Cold Calling 1996Description / Buy
2Mean Spirit 2001Description / Buy
3Night After Night 2014Description / Buy

Order of John Dee Papers Series

1The Bones of Avalon 2010Description / Buy
2The Heresy of Dr Dee 2012Description / Buy

Order of Marco Series

1Marco's Pendulum 2006Description / Buy
2Marco and the Blade of Night 2007Description / Buy

Order of Phil Rickman Standalone Novels

1Candlenight 1991Description / Buy
2Curfew / Crybbe 1993Description / Buy
3December 1994Description / Buy
4The Man in the Moss 1994Description / Buy
5The Chalice 1997Description / Buy
Print: Print PDF

He has written the “Merrily Watkins” mystery series, the “Marco” series, and the “John Dee papers”. He has also written two that are for kids under the pen name of Thom Madley. Rickman has also written some stand alone novels. His other pen name includes Will Kingdom. The novels are considered to be both mystery and supernatural novels. There have been some music adaptations of his novels that he has helped write a lot of the music for.


“Midwinter of the Spirit”, the second novel in the “Merrily Watkins” series, was made into a three part series for television.


For those readers who would like to get into Phil Rickman’s work, this section will help you get started. It will talk about “The Wine of Angels”, “The Bones of Avalon”, and “Candlenight”.

The Wine of Angels: The first novel in the “Merrily Watkins” series that was released in the year 1998. Merrily Watkins is now a single mother (with a teenage daughter) after her husband died and decides to become a Vicar (or a Priest in Charge). Reverend Merrily Watkins wanted an average parish, not one that was picture perfect or a haunted huge one. She also did not want to get into a local dispute about a controversial play that involved an odd seventeenth century clergyman who was accused of witchcraft. In the town of Ledwardine, a town that is made up of secrets and cider, and murder is an age old tradition. The last is something that both Merrily and her daughter Jane find out together.

The Bones of Avalon: The first book in the “John Dee Papers” series that came out in the year 2010. Renaissance man John Dee wants to help Queen Elizabeth Tudor avoid the curse of the Tudors. She has only been on the throne for about a year in 1560. John Dee, her astrologer, chose the date of her coronation to; at the young age of 32, he is already making a big name for himself for being an expert in hidden arts and at math. The new puritanical protestant and Roman Catholics both despise her and Dee is under suspicion due to the fact that the line between sorcery and science that is indistinct at this period in history. His mission to bring back King Arthur’s bones from Glastonbury Abbey that was given to him by Sir William Cecil (the Queen’s chief minister) will make it even murkier. He is aided on the mission with a former student named Robert Dudley, who may just be the Queen’s lover in secret. Dee is the forgotten hero of these times.

Candlenight: This is the first novel that Phil Rickman ever had published and came out in the year 1991 and is a stand alone novel. Giles Freeman, who is a journalist, and his wife Claire are thrilled when they are given a cottage far from the city. Claire has actually inherited it from someone she knew. They believe, even though the town is not keen to welcome them in, they eventually will be liked and accepted by everyone. The Freemans have fallen under a very ancient Celtic curse and will find out the true definition of being an outsider.

When Does The Next Phil Rickman book come out?

Phil Rickman doesn't seem to have an upcoming book. Their newest book is For the Hell of It and was released on January, 3rd 2019. It is the newest book in the Merrily Watkins Series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *